We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Portuguese Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Portuguese Style Hotel”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at the Pousada de Coloane with friends for three nights. We wanted to stay somewhere out of the city and Coloane was perfect - it only took 20 mins to get to the city anyway. Our room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated with rustic furniture and colourful wall tiles. Our standard/superior room had a seaview and jacuzzi which was a lovely surprise. The pool and rooftop patio restaurant served delicious food and drinks. Efficient buses ran from outside the hotel to all over Macau - a great bonus and money saver! The only thing about the hotel that could be improved would be to put a proper shower into the bathroom - the jacuzzi had a hand held sower jet but this was hard to use. We have booked to stay there again already - it's a lovely place!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nzkiwicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    81
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
43
98
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

For those who want a relaxing, classical place to stay in Macao, far from the casinos and chaos of Macao, this is the place for you. Having recently gone through a renovation(which some we talked to seemed like a step backwards), the colonial hotel has beatiful, classical rooms with big and ornate wooden beds, as well as a jacuzzi in each bathroom. The pool was a definite highlight and an unexpected bonus, as the beach nearby is very unremarkable, while the restaurant is also great, but not all that cheap. The only smudge was the big sunday buffet that we were looking forward to, that we were then told we couldn't attend as the whole restaurant would be taken up by a visiting party from the mainland, which makes sense as it was a Sunday. All in all a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

For us this is the best hotel, far from casinos, sea view, very helpful staff, delicious food, I cannot say something bad about this place, everything is good, maybe the price of the food ? little bit expensive, but sooo goood.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabachoGuangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We came here for the experience, and for not wishing to pay the usual, exhorbitant room rates common to hotels in central Macau. The hotel is well located on a hillside overlooking a narrow sandy beach. It is close to all public transport services, taxis were not a problem. This is not a place to stay at if youve come to Macau for shopping or gambling though, if you did, and had lost all your savings then, you might find solace in the peace and quet of this place. Quite frankly, the rooms are a dingy mess. The bed was reasonably comfy though the pillows were like foam sponges. All pieces of furniture had stains on it, many of the fixtures were either not working, or just 'tacked' together. The wardrobe almost fell apart as I tried to open / close the doors.The bathroom was typically chinese - mould and fungus on the bath and wash basin edges, the mats had not been lifted and cleaned, bathroom accessories had been used previously, and were not fresh. We filled the jaccuzi with water, and immersed ourselves to relax. Switching on the pump made us gasp at the awful, putrid smell of filthy water coming out of the nozzles. Breakfast was a non event on an otherwise beautiful terrasse. Continental breakfast consisted of 1 pat of sealed butter, 2 pats of sealed jam - strawberry and orange marmalade, a cup of regurgitated brown liquid resembling coffee, and a synthetic tasting glass of orange juice. Eat lunch or dinner here? No thanks! The beach was reasonably clean within the demarcated area though outside, there was a lot of garbage in evidence. The water was not too clean either - we went for a short dip but, changed our rminds when apple cores, fish skeletons, and polystyrene lumps decided to join us....should have gone on a package tour somewhere else instead. Neither the hotel price nor the conditions in or around the hotel are justifiable...we didnt complain...it didnt make any sense, the staff were just too obligingly friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globetrotter5981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Don't tell anyone. Seriously, this is a well kept secret. If you want o "do" Macau with all the Casinos and the old stuff - ruinas de sao paulo etc - don't go here. But if you want to get away from it all, the Pousada De Coloane is magic. Stuck down at Van Neoc (?) beach or somewhere on the southernmost tip of Macau it's great. And cheap. Rooms are large with a 2-seater spa-bath included. I've been living in HK for most of the last decade and this is my escape rom the madness. We go there and listen to the silence. You can hear the waves gently breaking on the shore, birdsong is almost annoying. And there's nothing to do!! No shops. No casinos. "Nuffin"! But walk along the beachfront - all of 100m - and find La Gondola restaurant. HK$80 for a large wood-fired pizza and HK$15 for Superbok beer. Brilliant.
I'll concede that the rooms could be cleaner - they're fine but not spotless. (Please check location!). And the hotel breakfast is average. But, hey what do you want. This is an oasis amid the madness.
Love this place. Go easy on the Portugese plonk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiddleAgeAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel several times, I considered it a nice getaway from the hustle of a big city (I live in Hong Kong). First time, I loved the European style (not standard "Chinese hotel" type rooms), peace and quiet (far from the casino and shopping scene), European cuisine at the restaurant. Second time I came, it was mainly for the pool - to spend a lazy Sunday morning sunbathing by the pool, again away from crowds.

This last time I came for the same, and it was such a disappointment! Firstly, the hotel went downhill, it is in need of renovation (it's been for a while). Everything - everything is old and the feeling is that noone cares. In the bathroom, the adapter at the hair dryer was not working, and they didn't even check before putting the guest in there. The aircon was excessively noisy (old style, all the noise is made inside the room), and it was not properly adjusted - I had to turn the temperature up to 30C not to freeze. The pool was filled with junk in the morning, the cleaner did not come until 9:00 and he spent total 45 min on lazing around with the cleaning equipment. Worst of all, there are roadworks in progress near the hotel, they started drilling at 9 am, you can't sit anywhere outside without being disturbed by the noise.

Overall, my impression this time was that the owner disappeared and noone cares about the hotel any more - there are a couple of employees at the reception and they are hardly seen or heard walking around checking on things. I will not come back any more. Pity! It was a nice getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olgahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The best part is its away from the suuper busy town centres in Macau and yet its well connected by buses. The hotel is just a stone's throw from the beach and roof top restaurant overlooks the serene beach. The pictures here can depict only 1/4th of the actual beauty that lies therein. One can do water sports and much more in one of the less crowded beaches of Macau here. The staff is genuinely hospitable, rooms are gr8 with all amenities one can desire and the food / wine tastes gr8 too.
certainly worth visiting again and again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank growingwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
5.4 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
687 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
5.3 mi away
The Rocks Hotel
The Rocks Hotel
#36 of 95 in Macau
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#30 of 95 in Macau
1,317 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Praia de Cheoc Van, Coloane Island, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unspoiled Location Surrounded by Mountains Embraced by the Forest Overlooking the Sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Coloane
Hotel Pousada De Coloane Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing