We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial getaway in the mess that is Macao”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed September 2, 2011

For those who want a relaxing, classical place to stay in Macao, far from the casinos and chaos of Macao, this is the place for you. Having recently gone through a renovation(which some we talked to seemed like a step backwards), the colonial hotel has beatiful, classical rooms with big and ornate wooden beds, as well as a jacuzzi in each bathroom. The pool was a definite highlight and an unexpected bonus, as the beach nearby is very unremarkable, while the restaurant is also great, but not all that cheap. The only smudge was the big sunday buffet that we were looking forward to, that we were then told we couldn't attend as the whole restaurant would be taken up by a visiting party from the mainland, which makes sense as it was a Sunday. All in all a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony overlooking the sea.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 228 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

For us this is the best hotel, far from casinos, sea view, very helpful staff, delicious food, I cannot say something bad about this place, everything is good, maybe the price of the food ? little bit expensive, but sooo goood.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabachoGuangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We came here for the experience, and for not wishing to pay the usual, exhorbitant room rates common to hotels in central Macau. The hotel is well located on a hillside overlooking a narrow sandy beach. It is close to all public transport services, taxis were not a problem. This is not a place to stay at if youve come to Macau for shopping or gambling though, if you did, and had lost all your savings then, you might find solace in the peace and quet of this place. Quite frankly, the rooms are a dingy mess. The bed was reasonably comfy though the pillows were like foam sponges. All pieces of furniture had stains on it, many of the fixtures were either not working, or just 'tacked' together. The wardrobe almost fell apart as I tried to open / close the doors.The bathroom was typically chinese - mould and fungus on the bath and wash basin edges, the mats had not been lifted and cleaned, bathroom accessories had been used previously, and were not fresh. We filled the jaccuzi with water, and immersed ourselves to relax. Switching on the pump made us gasp at the awful, putrid smell of filthy water coming out of the nozzles. Breakfast was a non event on an otherwise beautiful terrasse. Continental breakfast consisted of 1 pat of sealed butter, 2 pats of sealed jam - strawberry and orange marmalade, a cup of regurgitated brown liquid resembling coffee, and a synthetic tasting glass of orange juice. Eat lunch or dinner here? No thanks! The beach was reasonably clean within the demarcated area though outside, there was a lot of garbage in evidence. The water was not too clean either - we went for a short dip but, changed our rminds when apple cores, fish skeletons, and polystyrene lumps decided to join us....should have gone on a package tour somewhere else instead. Neither the hotel price nor the conditions in or around the hotel are justifiable...we didnt complain...it didnt make any sense, the staff were just too obligingly friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank globetrotter5981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Don't tell anyone. Seriously, this is a well kept secret. If you want o "do" Macau with all the Casinos and the old stuff - ruinas de sao paulo etc - don't go here. But if you want to get away from it all, the Pousada De Coloane is magic. Stuck down at Van Neoc (?) beach or somewhere on the southernmost tip of Macau it's great. And cheap. Rooms are large with a 2-seater spa-bath included. I've been living in HK for most of the last decade and this is my escape rom the madness. We go there and listen to the silence. You can hear the waves gently breaking on the shore, birdsong is almost annoying. And there's nothing to do!! No shops. No casinos. "Nuffin"! But walk along the beachfront - all of 100m - and find La Gondola restaurant. HK$80 for a large wood-fired pizza and HK$15 for Superbok beer. Brilliant.
I'll concede that the rooms could be cleaner - they're fine but not spotless. (Please check location!). And the hotel breakfast is average. But, hey what do you want. This is an oasis amid the madness.
Love this place. Go easy on the Portugese plonk.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MiddleAgeAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel several times, I considered it a nice getaway from the hustle of a big city (I live in Hong Kong). First time, I loved the European style (not standard "Chinese hotel" type rooms), peace and quiet (far from the casino and shopping scene), European cuisine at the restaurant. Second time I came, it was mainly for the pool - to spend a lazy Sunday morning sunbathing by the pool, again away from crowds.

This last time I came for the same, and it was such a disappointment! Firstly, the hotel went downhill, it is in need of renovation (it's been for a while). Everything - everything is old and the feeling is that noone cares. In the bathroom, the adapter at the hair dryer was not working, and they didn't even check before putting the guest in there. The aircon was excessively noisy (old style, all the noise is made inside the room), and it was not properly adjusted - I had to turn the temperature up to 30C not to freeze. The pool was filled with junk in the morning, the cleaner did not come until 9:00 and he spent total 45 min on lazing around with the cleaning equipment. Worst of all, there are roadworks in progress near the hotel, they started drilling at 9 am, you can't sit anywhere outside without being disturbed by the noise.

Overall, my impression this time was that the owner disappeared and noone cares about the hotel any more - there are a couple of employees at the reception and they are hardly seen or heard walking around checking on things. I will not come back any more. Pity! It was a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olgahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The best part is its away from the suuper busy town centres in Macau and yet its well connected by buses. The hotel is just a stone's throw from the beach and roof top restaurant overlooks the serene beach. The pictures here can depict only 1/4th of the actual beauty that lies therein. One can do water sports and much more in one of the less crowded beaches of Macau here. The staff is genuinely hospitable, rooms are gr8 with all amenities one can desire and the food / wine tastes gr8 too.
certainly worth visiting again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank growingwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

1. Great location (if you don't want to hang out in Macau proper) - you can walk to black beach in about 10 minutes, and to coloane town in about 15-20 minutes. The walk to town is in part on a busy road, but the traffic isn't crazy in this area of Macau and we didn't have any problems walking into town and back at night after dinner. Bring a flashlight, though, to alert trafic that you are on the road. It is also very close to entrance of the hiking trails.

2. Romantic. I was a bit concerned because the pictures I had seen looked a bit cheesy, and I had also read about how much this is a "family hotel". But it's a wonderful setting. you can hear the waves from your room, and you are surrounded by trees, and so with the waves you hear birds. So quiet. Huge two-person bathtub was a nice touch.

3. Decor. The hotel has got an old school feel to it, which is charming. Admitedly, it could use some touch up, but really this place is a wonderful get-away from HK for the weeekend. It's fairly basic, but in a good way.

3. Didn't eat here, but I heard the food is good. If you aren't into the large breakfast, there is a small cafe on the beach that was surprisingly tasty.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank wherearewenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
5.4 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
703 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
3.0 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#49 of 94 in Macau
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 94 in Macau
1,334 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Rocks Hotel
The Rocks Hotel
#37 of 94 in Macau
126 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#38 of 94 in Macau
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Praia de Cheoc Van, Coloane Island, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $88 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unspoiled Location Surrounded by Mountains Embraced by the Forest Overlooking the Sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Coloane
Hotel Pousada De Coloane Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing