We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel Worth the Hunt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've been to HK several times but this was my first time in Macau. As you may know, if Singapore is expensive, if HK is expensive, expect that Macau is relatively more expensive in terms of accommodation. Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel is one of the few more affordable hotels in Macau. Rua de Felicidade is not a very common place known by taxi drivers so be prepared to show a map with some Chinese translation. I was lucky enough to have captured a screen shot of the street's map using my phone's GPS, otherwise, the driver would not have known. Since the street to the hotel was small, the cab dropped us off on the main road and we were on our own looking for it like we were in a maze. We spoke to several people including a street vendor (who spoke very good English; I was so impressed) and some Filipinos but they couldn't point us out to the location. By luck, we passed by the right alley and saw the sign. Ole Tai Sam Un is a small but new and very clean hotel. It is centrally located since you can walk to the Senate square and the ruins of St. Paul. The room was just right for two people and the bathroom was impressive; it had modern and beautiful fixtures! They had free wi-fi too. Staff were friendly and we could leave our bags during check-out. I'd give this hotel a go but expect some treasure hunting game before you can see this secret gem. Suggest you arrive during the day especially if you don't have the appetite for risk and patience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ramon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 237 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

LOCATION: The OLE Tai Sum Un (also known as OLE Auspicioso) is located at Rua da Caldeira in Macau. If you arrive via the HK-Macau Ferry, either take Bus No.3 or a Taxi from the Ferry Terminal. The Hotel is not visible from the main road, when you reach Travessa do Matadouro, just turn in and take the 1st right turn into Rua da Caldeira. After passing the famous “Choi Heong Yuen” Bakery, you will find the OLE Hotel on right side of the lane.

OLE Tai Sum Un is conveniently situated within walking distance to the major heritage sights: Largo do Senado; São Domingos; Ruinas de São Paulo; Fortaleza do Monte (which houses the Macau Museum); Theatro Dom Pedro; São Augustinho are all accessible on foot. Other attractions further afield can be easily reached by taxi which is relatively cheap in Macau.

ROOM: We stayed in a Standard Double Room on the 4th floor. The air-conditioned room was cramped & spartanly furnished with the following: a small double bed; tiny bedside table with iPod docking station; wall-mounted flatscreen TV; small desk with stool by the window. Beside the bed is a compact wardrobe, within which you can find hangers & bedroom slippers. Complimentary bottled water and coffee- & tea-making facilities were also provided.

The room was so small & cramped that we could barely move around, the foot of the bed was just inches away from the bathroom door... There was clearly insufficient space to unpack luggage so try to travel light if you intend to stay here. The Standard Room might be more suitable for a single occupant as it proved to be a tight squeeze for 2...

BED: The bed had clean sheets, blanket & pillows but seemed much smaller than a standard double...

BATHROOM: The bathroom was relatively clean but compact with semi-frosted glass wall & door which compromised users' privacy. It was furnished with a small wash basin with mirror above; toilet & shower stall. Dispensers for liquid soap & shampoo were installed in the shower stall. Adequate clean towels & a small selection of amenities were provided: hand soap; toothbrushes; shaving kit; shower cap; etc. Hairdryer was stored outside, in the small cupboard below the coffee- & tea-making facilities.

F&B: Room rate was not inclusive of daily breakfast but was available at extra charges. There is a congee stall right across the lane from the Hotel. Around the vicinity are several local cafes & food stalls that mostly serve congee & noodles for Breakfast. Western-style Breakfast is available at McDonald's & Starbucks (both situated at Largo do Senado).

A side note: the flagship store of "Choi Heong Yuen" Bakery is right round the corner so you may wish to pop in to get their famous Almond Cookies & Phoenix Egg Rolls.

SERVICE: Room Reservation, Check-In & Check-Out all proceeded as per normal. The Reception staff can converse in English & Mandarin but seemed rather cold & aloof towards guests. Most staff are from Mainland China & hence, don't speak Cantonese like the Macanese locals. When we approached them with queries or requests for assistance, they were not very obliging nor helpful...

FACILITIES: Being a no-frills budget hotel, OLE Tai Sum Un did not seem to have any other facilities on site besides the Breakfast Room adjacent to its Lobby. If any other facilities were in fact available, we were not informed of this by the staff.

In SUMMARY: Not exactly an inviting property where you could enjoy a comfortable stay but if all you need is a clean room to spend the night, OLE Tai Sum Un Hotel would suffice ~ provided you could put up with the dismissive, haughty attitude of its staff...

Room Tip: Standard Rooms are very small & cramped. If comfort is a concern, you may wish to upgrade to De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LeChat_EnVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This small hotel is very conviently located close to the old historical part of Macau. The streets in this part of the city are narrow, most of them one way. It may be difficult to get a taxi to this destination but a short walk around the corner and on the main street public transportation and taxis are available. Macau taxi drivers are not very friendly, nor are they very helpful with luggage! That is unfortunate.
The hotel room was comfortable , clean but small. My room was better suited to one person than for 2 unless you are traveling with very little luggage. There is no safe nor fridge in the room. Breakfast is not included. There is a kettle and 2 tea bags provided.
The reception staff was friendly and spoke English.

Room Tip: Room 105 is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judithtbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you want to find a room in Macau not too expensive during weekends, this is the choice. Location is good. Easy access to food, sight seeing. But Macau anyway is a small city. If you are sensitive to smell, bring a room spray with you here. The bathroom will need it.
You may find delicious local food just opposite the hotel. We tried the congee, dessert, all very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ilse_dong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel, we pay more to get Deluxe Twin as no more room available. Dun expect too much on the so call deluxe, the room isn't big as shown in the picture. This hotel is quite hard to find, although it seems central. We had hard time to find the hotel as people are not sure and pointed us to the wrong direction. After we settled down, it was an hour later, and we found actually the place where we stopped is actually quite near to the hotel. From Ferry Terminal, there actually quite a lot of bus like bus 3, 10A etc.

The location is central and quite near to the tourist attraction and souvenir places. The room was quite clean and new. However, the 2nd and 3rd night, I dun know what happen, there is weird smell at the level we stay, like gas leaking and the smell was quite terrible and I got bad running nose after that. Other than that, it was pretty fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmethystAme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent a night at Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel, this is really a budget hotel, they do not have free shuttle ride from the ferry station, you need to ride a bus or taxi to get there. When we went to Macau, we spent an hour trying to figure out how to get to this hotel. No one can tell us which bus to ride, we tried to ride a taxi but most of the locals do not speak English. Even though we showed them the address printed on the voucher they cannot figure out the location of the hotel. We tried calling the hotel but the phone booths around weren’t working. We took a chance by again riding a taxi and after paying HKD60, the driver dropped us off at the wrong hotel. We walked another 30 minutes to get to this hotel. It was hard to find because it is inside a very small street. We also found out that the name of the hotel given to us is different to the name on the façade. I recognized somehow that it was the same hotel on the pictures. When we checked in, we have been told that they charged our credit card already, which is surprising because we opt for cash payment upon checking, it was a bit disappointing for us because it was different from the agreement. The room is really small but it was obvious that the hotel is new. The TV is on the wrong side, the bed is pushed to the wall. Very little room but it is clean, especially the small bathroom. The good thing about this hotel is that when you walk out of the street you can see a lot of stores that sells delicacies for around HKD25 to 50. It is also walking distance to the bus stop and if you like walking you can go to Macau’s famous landmark, The Ruins of St. Paul’s, this landmark is also surrounded by museums and different kinds of store for shopping and eating. We find the hotel expensive for the amenities provided. If you are travelling light this hotel is recommended but if you have big luggage and group of people this might not suit you. This is not also suitable for people travelling with kids. We’ll probably try other hotels when we go back to Macau.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank wavemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Please get the add translated into English when you arrv at the Ferry Station in Macau so the cabbie knows where to take you.The hotel is new, teeny tiny rooms, close to the Senada Square, and 5 min away from the Famous Dragon Portuguese Rest ,the rooms are new, very clean and tidy.No one to help u with your luggage, no one to call a taxi as well, in case u have to lug your luggage around

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haboba13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#42 of 94 in Macau
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hou Kong Hotel
Hou Kong Hotel
#64 of 94 in Macau
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sintra
Hotel Sintra
#35 of 94 in Macau
784 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#32 of 94 in Macau
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel

Address: No.43-45 Rua de Felicidade, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $65 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing