We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing balconies in a relaxed setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing balconies in a relaxed setting”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is our second time to the Westin Macau because we enjoyed it so much the first time. We enjoy Macau for the weather, the culture, the shows and the food, but are not big into gambling so this hotel that is located in Coloane right on the China Sea is a perfect get away. The rooms are spacious and many have huge balconies looking out over the ocean. Parts (hall carpets, exterior painting) of the hotel are a bit run down, but the views and fantastic staff more than make up for this.
To get to the hotel, take the shuttle bus which runs every 30 minutes from the ferry terminal and stops in Taipa and on the Cotai Strip (Macau’s Vegas Strip). Also a great way to get around Macau is to use the shuttle buses offered by the many casinos. You can take the Westin shuttle to the ferry port and from there you can get to most places in Macau.
At the Westin, they offer buffet dinners every Friday and Saturday night that are amazing with a pick your own barbeque station, a sushi station, an Indian food stations with the best Naan bread cooked while you wait in a their tandoor and so on. It is lots of food, but is very well presented and a good deal. We also enjoyed the Panorama Café regular menu and highly recommend the Nasi Goreng.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms with their large balconies are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for writing this valuable feedback. I am pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us at The Westin Resort Macau.

Thanks for highlighting our balcony attached to each guest room, friendly associates and tasteful food. Your compliment motives us to continuously strive and exceed our guests’ expectations.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our peaceful environment. We do receive a lot of wonderful feedback regarding our environment, room size and the sense of pure relaxation we offer.

We would once again like to thank you for your review on our resort and we welcome you to stay with us again in the near future.

Be Well.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    323
    107
    43
    23
See reviews for
227
238
35
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Forget the Cotai strip hotels with their plastic architecture the Westin Resort Hotel has been around for some years and still is a wonderful place to stay for a romantic getaway or family with children. The hotel is warm and very friendly and has some of the best stay rooms in Macau. The balcony 5m by 6m is fantastic (for a romantic breakfast) and the sea view rooms give wonderful views across the Hac Sac beach. The beach is 100m from the hotel and there is a wonderful beach restaurant 200m away serving some of the best Portuguese food in Macau. If you need to visit the Cotai Strip it's a US$7 taxi ride away.or if you have children take a 20 min walk to the reservoir where there is a boating lake and play area. We hired a car from Avis at a very reasonable price and parking is free at the hotel.
We got a 30% saving on room rate and it's best to get a rate that includes breakfast, which is adequate.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms give the best view but if this is not too important the garden view gives a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbuckell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and for giving us full score. We will continue to elevate our service level to make sure your future visits remain equally memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The place was poorly maintained. The site is remote. Swimming pool deck is dirty. The water is not clean enough but still fine for swimming. Nice joint for family getaway. Nice hideout for couple wished not to be seen. Transportation is limited. Not advisable if you love the night life of Macau.

Room Tip: request to have a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feigou99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I have also taken note on the downsides you mentioned, especially cleanliness of swimming pool .

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and rest assured that we will continue to improve on our service levels and product quality.

It was a great pleasure to have you here with us and we hope to welcome you again for another renewing stay with us on your future travels to Macau.

Be Well.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff in all dept were very friendly and helpful. It was the perfect short trip away from the big city without having to travel too long especially for family with little kids and babies.

The biggest disappointment would be the poor upkeep of the property. Don't mind old, aged properties if well maintained. Moldy gout in shower is just not acceptable for a Westin property.

The staff and setting made it an overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HS050676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your recognition and complimentary comment to our associates who had participated in making your stay a memorable experience. We are especially proud to provide a unique ambiance, with the personal service from our friendly associates.

Thank you for bringing up the bathroom cleanliness issue you have encountered during your meal. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconsistent service you have experienced.

Your comments have been addressed and conveyed to my team members to insure improvement in maintaining the excellence in service standards and delivery.

Please allow us another opportunity to show you our improvement on your next renewing stay.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas USA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We really liked the unique setting of the resort. Unfortunately, the hotel strategy appears to be focused on limited capital spending (ie, paint, maintenance, refurb) but high operating spending on labor/etc. Hopefully this doesn't serve as a leading indicator of a closure/divestiture of the property. My guess is that a subsidy from the golf club is helping to keep the hotel alive financially.

Pros:
---The staff is particularly friendly and insightful.
---Housekeeping was effective and very helpful.
---The Westin-operated table service restaurant served good food for a relatively good value, given the fact we were at a resort, on a remote part of an island, in Macau, with not much relative competition.
---The views are beautiful, and the unique architecture really does add to the stay experience (the resort is built into the side of a plateau with a golf course level with the top floor)
---The rooms are all large with huge balconies.
---The breadth of selection at breakfast was better than expected, although the same items were served everyday. Custom omelettes, noodle bowls, and prepared eggs, among other asian (dim sum) and western (chocolate croissant) items
---Grounds have the potential to be beautiful, and the site staff is doing a great job with the aging infrastructure they have to work with.

Cons:
---Very little capital expenditures for paint, necessary refurbishment, and necessary repairs.
---Spa was closed and sauna in the men's locker room was out of order. Women's locker room was "depressing".
---Vacant shops on the second floor and empty restaurant and empty bar on the third floor added to the "apocalyptic" feel of the resort.
---Outdoor hot tub was not functioning (not hot and not clean)
---No Westin executive club lounge
---Desserts at restaurant at dinner were overpriced and poor quality.
---Late party on one of the outdoor balconies kept us awake in the middle of one night.
---No notice at the time of booking that the spa or dry sauna would be out of order. When the check-in employee mentioned the spa closure, and I asked if the hotel was doing anything to make up for it, I was told "no".

Tips:
---Definitely try Fernando's (short taxi ride from the hotel) and one of the three Lord Stow's in coloane village; Miramar next door was a disaster (one hour to receive the appetizer order and the meal went downhill from there).
---Ask at the health club what complimentary activities are available for the kids. Kids indoor playroom and outdoor playground use are both complimentary.
---Our experience at the panda center in Coloane was better than we expected. Some of the paved hiking trails there and elsewhere in Macau are beautiful.
---Visit the 9th floor for the beautiful view, especially on a clear day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdsbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Westin Resort Macau. I do agree that the view to the South China Sea is indeed magnificent from our Ocean and the natural surroundings around the resort make one’s stay even more special.

I appreciate your highlight of our resort features as well as the breakfast experience you had. It’s very kind of you to mention our wonderful and professional associates. I’m sure they have placed in much effort and attention to ensure your stay with us is a wonderful and memorable one. They truly are the heart and soul of the resort.

However, with regards to the downsides of your comments, I have personally taken notes on them and will have my team to look into them promptly.

It has been a great pleasure serving you and your family and we welcome you again in the near future.

Stay Well.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are impressed the the crew working at the front door of the Resort. They welcome customers with smile and helping hands. Especially a staff who's name is Ariel. I think he make us feeling good although we arrive a bit late that day.
A beautiful lady working at the check-in desk (Sorry I don't remember her name but her uniform told me that she is the team leader at the front desk) also provide excellent services to us and this caused a result - we'll come again !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markchung55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Westin Resort Macau.

It is very kind of you to highlight our friendly associates. We are very pleased with their efforts in ensuring your stay with us is a wonderful one and we are also confident that they are willing to go the extra mile to exceed guest’s expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for you kind words. It was a great pleasure for us to be able to serve you and we hope to welcome you again for another renewing stay in the near future.

Be Well.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived here by accident after travelling by bus to its final stop and walked along the beach. The Westin is visible from a distance and at first it looked quiet and closed but as we got nearer we could see staff working in the grounds. Not being too shy we went in and there were people in suits going around as there was some kind of Conference going on. After ordering a meal we chatted to the frendly Fillopino staff. The food was of a high stadard and not expensive and they had draught beer too. Being a little nosey we had a look around and enquired about the room prices. It is far away from all the high life of Casinos but if you have to go there for business and like golf and good food then this is the place.

Room Tip: South side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baz7903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments for our food quality as well as the service. I will definitely convey your gratitude to our associates.

We're pleased that you actually took the chance to visit our resort even you were not staying with us. We wish to have the opportunity to be of service to you and your family next time you visit Macau.

For a better you.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
688 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
4.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
5.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#30 of 95 in Macau
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Property: Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#17 Family Hotel in Macau
#21 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#29 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Coloane Resort is a grand complex terracing up a mountainside with the soft rolling green expanse of the Macau Golf & Country Club's 18-hole tournament style golf course on the resort's rooftop. Altogether 208 rooms and suites, each room opens onto a private and spacious terrace with an uninterrupted full beach or ocean view of the South China Sea. The resort offers a relaxing and soothing nature view at the Cafe Panorama and the pinnacle of great dining with a splendid sea view. At the renovated Chinese Restaurant, specializing in Cantonese cuisine, it has been awarded the Hong Kong and Macau's Best Restaurants Award. The tastefully decorated Panorama Lounge and opened Poolside Bar serve a great selection of liquors and beverages in a relaxed-yet-stylish setting. The contemporary Garden Marquee at the property has become the talk of the town as it is the one and only Marquee in Macau, a unique choice from wedding to a product launch or even team building, along with all other extensive meeting and banqueting facilities to meet guests' every requirement, a place they will remember long after they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing