We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, but the hotel rooms are a bit tired.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, but the hotel rooms are a bit tired.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent one night at the Westin Resort over Chinese New Year. We selected the Westin due to their golf course, the golf rates are much cheaper if you are a guest, so for one night it is fine.

We were upgraded to a room with a patio overlooking the sea, but the room and patio were very well worn and the patio furniture was not very comfortable to sit on. The patio was huge and would have made a nice way to spend an afternoon just relaxing and watching the sea. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and we had a great night sleep. The towels and amenities were top notch too. The carpets could use a good cleaning or replaced, but I'm sure this place was very nice a few years back.

The lobby area, eating and lounge area are all very nice and updated, The staff all go above and beyond and are all very attentive and friendly. (You don't get this kind of service at other hotels on the strip or in town.) There is also a really nice seating area outside by a huge fireplace, very enjoyable. A great place to end the evening with a nightcap. Also, the evening we were there, there was a couple playing live music in the lounge area and they were excellent! A nice touch.

The hotel offers a convenient shuttle bus to and from the ferry terminal and they also offer rides to the Cotai Stip (drop off at the Venetian Hotel) and a couple other points.

If we were golfing, we would definitely stay here again or if you want a hotel that is quiet and off the strip, but know that it is older, but you will be so impressed by the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkwrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your last stay and I am pleased to learn that we are your hotel of choice in this area and greatly appreciate your loyalty to The Westin Resort Macau.

In the competitive environment here in Macau, with all the glitzy casino hotels, we are especially proud to provide a unique ambiance which is deal for guests to revitalize and recharge. Our associates are empowered and inspired to provide signature services to create individual moments for each guest.

We certainly do hope to see you again at The Westin Resort Macau soon.

Be renewed.

Leslie Teng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    302
    106
    41
    22
See reviews for
206
220
33
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The resort was good, with great views, near the beach and a golf course. However, it is far away from the casinos and the hotels. Therefore you have to be prepared to pay for taxi rides to and from town. There is a free shuttle bus but you have to make sure you reserve your place in advance of when you want to leave, as it is first come first served and it is only every 30mins or so. The rooms are big with a large balcony area, but needs a little make-over. We did get a free upgrade upon arrival which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkchicken88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the review from your last stay with us.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the balcony where you can take a deep breathe and embrace clam by overlooking the South China Sea. I hope you felt refreshed and renewed after a restful sleep.

We appreciate your comment in particular to the property condition. We indeed, have put additional resources in terms of manpower to uplift the overall ambience of the hotel. At the same time, we also realize that more is needed in terms of a complete overhaul, in order to enhance the level of comfort for our guests.

We are looking forward to create another enriching travel experience for you.

Be inspired.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed one night in the hotel during the New Year period in Dec12. Rooms were big and spacious.

As I had read the reviews, I was prepared for the sad looking patio with the non-maintained plants but still felt depressed when I saw them. Carpets were also very stained and there was also a bit of black stuff in the toilet.

Hotel transport to Cotai area was very on time and regular but you have to book in advance else there will not be any seats. Unfortunately the transport is a small van so seats are very limited.

This is a hotel with a lot of potential if they could just do some minor changes. I understand it will take a major overhaul to improve the carpets / toilets but just repotting the plants is a simple exercise?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorisChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us.

We review every comment we receive and use the information to better enhance our knowledge about the guest experience and what they may see through their eyes.

We have noted your comment regarding the plants in the balcony. In fact, we are taking measures to improve the general condition of our balconies.

We certainly do hope to see you again at The Westin Resort Macau soon.

Be renewed.

Lesile Teng
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Westin is out on its own toother Macau Hotels. Hence a quiet atmosphere, which is most popular with residents of Hong Kong.Certainly a piece of European Colonial grandeur and peace and quiet about the place. There have been a couple of attempts to paint the exterior of the building, and the neglect of the rest of the building is even more obvious.
The bedroom was excellent, overlooking the ocean. Extraordinarily comfortable bed. Could not be faulted in any way. What a peaceful retreat away from the bustle of HK.
The balconies would benefit from loungers on each to accomodate people who do not wish to sit round a pool - could be a long way for thepoor old legs!!
The bar service is annoying if your thirsty - 20 minutes on one occassion when the staff were not really under any sort of pressure. However, they are very smartly dressed and are immaculately courteous, so 99% forgiven!!
We found breakfast a bit of a 'Faulty Towers' moment. We were booked in on 'Room Only' basis, but the first morning were never asked for room numbers. Second morning, not so lucky!
Taxis are a necessity at this Hotel, and inexpensive to travel to main part of Macau.

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footmananglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post the feedback about your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced at our hotel.

We would like to apologize for the long waiting time the Lounge and the confusion of your breakfast arrangement, as those are certainly not circumstances you were expecting or should have ever had to experience here at The Westin Resort Macau.

We truly appreciate your feedback and it will be used in order to implement future customer service training to ensure a true Westin experience for all guests.

We hope you will witness our improvements and experience a refreshing stay that exceeds your expectations.

Have a renewal day.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The overall experience were excellent. Services are good.Our room is big enough with sea view and a huge terrance, just one tiny improvement needed: the terrance wasn't too clean with waters on the chair and blowing leafs. This didn't really affect our pleasant stay though. We still enjoying our time at this hotel.

If you are looking for a nightlife Macau, this is not your place though. We went to Cubic for Saturday night party and we were lucky to have friends to drive us back. If you are looking to go out and have a walk, you should informed the counter for the shuttle bus, it is very convenient.

I would love to come again in Summer time :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for staying with us recently. We do receive a lot of wonderful feedback regarding our environment, room size and the sense of pure relaxation we offer.

I am pleased to learn that we have become your hotel of choice in this area. It is truly encouraging to read your comment.

We have passed your comment regarding the terrace condition to our Executive Housekeeper for review and future improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another energized, enriched and renewed stay at The Westin Resort Macau.

Be inspired.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binan, Laguna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel in 2010 and we were back for more. The property certainly needs some renovation but we remembered the excellent service provided by a lot of Filipino service staff from 2010. We were not disappointed. To Princess, Ariel and Christian and the other superb staff at the Westin Macau..great job guys! See you again sometime soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manwithmanyhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your support and the delightful message you shared with us.

I am happy to know we continue to make your stay in Macau an enjoyable experience.

Please let us know when you will be back to the warmth and hospitality of the “Westin Macau” family again.

Be rejuvenated.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever been to. I was there a few years back and it was an amazing experience.

What a fantastic room with a view to the sea . And they really did advertise the bed on their website and I must say , it was a relaxing and sound sleep I had there !

Wonderful spa , a little pricey but worth it . Has a golf course that is very well maintained. Has a golf driving range that you can hit balls into the sea !

Location is so perfect , away from all the noise and clutter of the city and casinos.

The breakfast spread was extensive. We were four of us with different tastes but had something there for everyone .

THe room service was amazing . I used the gym and pool facilities . Well maintained and top notch .

I am trying really hard to think of something I did not like so that this post doesnt sound all good , but I really cannot think of any . Its an ideal getaway , and they have taxis and bus services to all the local spots . Like the Macau museum is a must see .

You will not be disappointed . Well , it will be very very hard to be disappointed with this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acro1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is such a pleasure to read your review and we appreciate for your time taken to express your Westin Experience.

We are proud to provide a unique travel experience like no others in Macau. Just minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Macau, it is a perfect getaway for a renewing sleep, energizing workout, nourishing foods and clean, fresh air. All enable our guests to preserve wellness during travel.

Conveniently accessible from the top floor of the hotel, guests may challenge 18-hole par 71 course or just sharpen their skills with a little ocean swing practice. Either way, guests will marvel at the unique ocean-side setting of our golf facilities.

We hope that we remain your hotel of choice when visiting Macau again for another indulging getaway.

For a better you.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
9.4 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
5.6 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Property: Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#17 Family Hotel in Macau
#21 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#26 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Coloane Resort is a grand complex terracing up a mountainside with the soft rolling green expanse of the Macau Golf & Country Club's 18-hole tournament style golf course on the resort's rooftop. Altogether 208 rooms and suites, each room opens onto a private and spacious terrace with an uninterrupted full beach or ocean view of the South China Sea. The resort offers a relaxing and soothing nature view at the Cafe Panorama and the pinnacle of great dining with a splendid sea view. At the renovated Chinese Restaurant, specializing in Cantonese cuisine, it has been awarded the Hong Kong and Macau's Best Restaurants Award. The tastefully decorated Panorama Lounge and opened Poolside Bar serve a great selection of liquors and beverages in a relaxed-yet-stylish setting. The contemporary Garden Marquee at the property has become the talk of the town as it is the one and only Marquee in Macau, a unique choice from wedding to a product launch or even team building, along with all other extensive meeting and banqueting facilities to meet guests' every requirement, a place they will remember long after they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing