We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 New Year Day One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Ranked #25 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Originally, I booked the Charming Holiday Hotel in Zhuhai, it was terrible, my gf wanted to check out after we checked in at 5pm, Jan.1, 2013, that Zhuhai hotel still charged me half day price, which is 454CNY. Then we moved up the plan, to book Westin hotel, because this one had room available and was not that pricy. At the Gongbei border, I found out my permit can't go to Macau, so I paid 400CNY for a Sri Lanka ETA visa to cross border.

The location was remote but quite, cuz no casino, and no mainland people, although I was one of them, so no second smoke from mainland people.

The shuttle bus was DAMN on time, to Venezian and ferry.

The balcony was big with good air quality, AC control was hard to operate, we felt hot in the room, there were four bath clothes in the room, pretty enough.

The 521 room was cozy and big, facing the black sand seabeach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilsonjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to share your Westin Experience with us.

We indeed, and are also proud to provide a unique travel experience like no others in Macau. Just minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Macau, it is a perfect getaway for a renewing sleep, energizing workout, nourishing foods and clean, fresh air. All enable our guests to preserve wellness during travel.

We are looking forward to create individual moments of renewal for you again in the near future.

For a better you.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
There are newer reviews for Grand Coloane Resort Macau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 772 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

On arrival at the ferry pier on the peninsula, we spent a long time trying to locate the shuttle to the hotel: not pleasant on perhaps the coldest day of 2012. There were no signs for the dropoff/pickup spot, although a few of the lesser hotels had marked locations and even staff at the Ferry Terminal to point people to the correct shuttle buses.

The hotel itself was distinctly American in the way it was run from the moment I entered the doors. The use of keywords and psychology throughout the lobby alone made me chuckle. Plaques saying, "BREATHE" in the lobby and compimentary apple juice and tea called "Apple Elixir" and "Tea Elixir" were cute, albeit a bit corny, since the juice was watered down and the oolong tea wasn't very good (I drink a lot of Tieguanyin oolong).

The Filipino door staff and front desk staff were excellent and friendly. I felt like I was in Manila!

The ground floor was marked "1," something you rarely see in Asia, and again, something I enjoyed seeing as it is so distinctly American. We were given a room on the SPG floor since my sister stays with Westin regularly on business travel. The hallways and rooms are enormous, especially for this part of the world, but keeping the humidity at bay looks to be a struggle. No surprise since Macau is extremely humid for most of the year and I'm sure many guests keep their balcony doors open for longer than they should. There were visible signs of damage from humidity in the paint and there were a stain on the wall near the bathroom, indicating either high humidity or flooding.

The balconies were amazing and huge by HK/Macau standards--I'd stay at this hotel for the balconies alone.

The bathroom also had signs of damage from humidity and visible mold on the grout. This is common here in HK/Macau, and again, not something that is easy to control.

The Heavenly Beds lived up to their promise and I slept very well indeed during our two-night stay at the Westin. Even the guest bed was of the same standard (a pillow top Simmons Beautyrest, just like the "Heavenly Beds").

The gym at the fitness center was relatively well equipped, but two of the weight machines were out of order and looked to have been for quite a while. I had a great workout regardless using the free weights.

The breakfast buffet was fairly standard, but the unavailability of Chinese tea at breakfast in this part of the world was annoying, especially with so many Chinese dishes available at the buffet.

We had no issues with the shuttle bus as we ensured we secured seats on the shuttles by prebooking. Those who didn't often missed the shuttle because of this.

There is an excellent restaurant a stone's throw away from the hotel: Miramar. Perhaps the best Portuguese food I've had in Macau, and much better than Fernando's.

All in all, an interesting experience at a hotel I quite liked, despite the flaws. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room that didn't overlook the beach would have less mustiness/humidity issues.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience of your recent stay. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us regardless of the concerns you have raised.

We appreciate you for bringing up the shortcomings you have encountered to our attention which help us to improve even more.

My team and I at The Westin Resort Macau look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing stay.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just back from a holiday during Xmas in Westin, it's my 2nd time staying in the hotel. Well, the location is a bit remote, but that's the reason we pick this, to stay away from all the casino fans in the city. The hotel offer shuttle between the key area in the city, problem is it's always full during pick timing. Another problem is the breakfast is quite expensive. It cost 130 local currency, which you get a fairly nice dinner in a local restaurant. The room is big, with nice view, we were upgraded to an ocean view, as I am gold member in the club. Another reason we pick this hotel is it's located close to our favorite restaurant in the town. Nice holiday it was! :)

Room Tip: Plan your schedule and book the shuttle in advance.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecnfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is such a pleasure to read your review and we appreciate for your time taken to express your Westin Experience.

We are proud to provide unique travel experience like no others in Macau. Just minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Macau, Westin is where guests are quietly energized and get back to their best self.

As you have also mentioned a number of concerns in your review, I will share them with our management team and look into possibility of improvement. We are passionate in understanding guests as individuals, as well as recognizing their different travel personas.

We hope that we remain your hotel of choice when visiting Macau again for another mindful meeting or indulging getaway.

Happy New Year!

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hotel is not good maintained and need a lot of improvement in everything. The resort looks very aged now, very sad to see. Lucky that Starwood just opened the 5 Star Sheraton Hotel in the Cotai Strip.
Breakfast room has not enough tables. Have to spend a lot of time to wait for a table, because it's very poor managed from the staff.Food selection was good.
Cleanliness in the rooms was very poor, everywhere dust!
Will not recommend this Hotel to my friends

Room Tip: It's very sad how this Hotel is recently managed. It started when we got in our room with beach...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay.

We would like to apologize for the multiple short falls that arose during your stay, as those are certainly not circumstances you were expecting or should have ever had to experience here at The Westin Resort Macau. Your comments have been addressed and conveyed to my team for immediate review and follow up. We truly appreciate your feedback and it will be used in order to implement future customer service training to ensure a true Westin experience for all guests.

Again, thank you for bringing up the shortcomings you have encountered to our attention which help us to improve even more. My team and I at The Westin Resort Macau look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing stay.

Stay Well.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our first time to Macau and we didn't realize that this hotel was very far removed from the main areas. Thankfully they did have a complimentary hotel shuttle that took us to and from the hotel to the main casino areas, but we still found it very hard to get around. Several times when we attempted to take the shuttle we had forgotten to prebook and it was already full, so we had to wait around the lobby for an hour for the next shuttle. The hotel itself was also looking very dated and in need of renovation. Our first roomed was facing the sea but smelled very musty, so we asked to switch to another room which they quickly assisted us with. So overall, okay if you are looking to escape the crowds and casinos, but if you want to be near the heart of the action stay at the new Sheraton or somewhere more central.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your experience and would like to apologize for not being able to meet your expectations.

We have noted your comments in regards to the property facility conditions. We are eager to address the shortfalls and have put additional resources in terms of manpower to uplift the overall ambiance of the hotel. At the same time, we also realize that more is needed in terms of a complete overhaul, in order to enhance the level of comfort for our guests. I am happy to share with you that we are currently preparing for a comprehensive plan for future upgrade.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Westin Resort Macau in the near future.

Be Well.

Leslie Teng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Great facilities and location, next to a quiet beach. Massive rooms, good indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Excellent value if you book on a weekday, like we did. Transfer from/to ferry could be more frequent.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vphanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

We are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do receive a lot of wonderful feedback regarding our environment, room size and the personal service which make guests feel cared for.

We very much appreciate your kind words to our concierge associates who created excellent experience to you. I will certainly share your favorable comments to the team to show that their efforts are truly recognized by our guests and myself alike.

Be Inspired.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

An excellent hotel to stay in Macao away from the city for the beaches, peace and serenity. The service from the staff is excellent and prompt. We organised a company conference there and our guests / staff enjoyed their stay very much.

Would like to take this opportunity to mention a hotel concierge staff (Ariel) who is very polite and helpful especially with arranging our ferry ticket from Macau / Hongkong and other transporation needs. Well done for having Ariel in your team !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangostarsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort Macau for your stay. We have read your comments and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to share them.

We appreciate your recognition and complimentary comment to our associate who had participated in making your stay a memorable experience. We are especially proud to provide a unique ambiance, with the personal service from our friendly associates.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another memorable retreat.

Stay Well.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
703 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 94 in Macau
1,334 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#17 Family Hotel in Macau
#21 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#24 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $100 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Coloane Resort is a grand complex terracing up a mountainside with the soft rolling green expanse of the Macau Golf & Country Club's 18-hole tournament style golf course on the resort's rooftop. Altogether 208 rooms and suites, each room opens onto a private and spacious terrace with an uninterrupted full beach or ocean view of the South China Sea. The resort offers a relaxing and soothing nature view at the Cafe Panorama and the pinnacle of great dining with a splendid sea view. At the renovated Chinese Restaurant, specializing in Cantonese cuisine, it has been awarded the Hong Kong and Macau's Best Restaurants Award. The tastefully decorated Panorama Lounge and opened Poolside Bar serve a great selection of liquors and beverages in a relaxed-yet-stylish setting. The contemporary Garden Marquee at the property has become the talk of the town as it is the one and only Marquee in Macau, a unique choice from wedding to a product launch or even team building, along with all other extensive meeting and banqueting facilities to meet guests' every requirement, a place they will remember long after they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing