We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Relaxing Westin”
Reviewed December 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Macau for 3 nights following a 5 night stay at the Hong Kong Sheraton. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was so helpful, expecially the concierge stand.

I don't understand the complaints about the remoteness of this hotel. If you want to stay near casinos, then stay AT or NEAR a casino. That isn't what this hotel is about. This hotel was a relaxing retreat after hectic Hong Kong. I think that the free shuttle running on the half hour was very conveinent. When we didn't want to wait for a shuttle, we just hopped in a cab. We thought that cabs were reasonably price in both Hong Kong and Macau. The staff would write out your destination in Chinese to the cab driver so you were insured that you would arrive at the correct destination. Each cab also has a list of popular destinations in both English and Chinese so you can just point to where you wish to go when hailing one in town.

We are glad we went to Macau. We aren't big gamblers but had a blast playing Sic Bo for the first time. Do try it if you go, it's so easy to learn and something different than you typically see in Vegas.

Also, do a pedicab from the ferry dock. We did a 1 hour tour for about 300 HKD. Our driver was so nice. It was a great thing to do our first day to orient ourselves with locations that we wanted to return and spend more time exploring. Our driver also took several pictures of us along the way. It was a great way to get pictures together without asking someone at each place. I never like doing that.

The Westin is within walking distance from Fernando's. We ate there each of the 3 evenings we were there (I'm embarrassed to say) It was great. Exactly the kind of place we look for on vacation. Local, unique, with great food, good vibe and great value.

We ate the breakfast buffet at the Westin every morning. It was average but fine with us as it was included with our room rate. We rarely think that hotel food is ever very good so we avoided eating there other than breakfast.

The rooms are very nicely appointed with the best thing being the heavenly shower. The double shower heads are indeed heavenly.

My only complaint of this hotel is the slight smokey smell on our floor, the 7th floor. I don't know if the Westin had a non-smoking floor, but this wasn't one of them. We even asked to be changed to a nonsmoking room and were quickly changed to a room on the same floor that smelled pretty much the same as the first room.

Westins should all go smoke-free considering they have posters and literature everywhere with a picture of a flower with "Breathe" printed beneath it. How can you breathe with people smoking all around you?

  • Liked — Shower, Staff
  • Disliked — Smokey smell
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank frojjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    315
    107
    41
    22
See reviews for
217
231
34
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Stayed at the Westin Resort Macau from 30 October to 2 November for a company conference.

The resort is not within walking distance from either the happenin' Macau or the up-and-coming Cotai Strip. If you are in the ex-Portuguese colony for its casinos, you will do well NOT to stay here. There is a bus that shuttles between the resort and the ferry terminal. The driver is happy to let you alight anywhere along the way - but this bus comes along only once every 30 minutes.

The resort overlooks a black sand beach, or so their publicity materials say. The beach is, at best, average - more rocks than sand.

The room I stayed in was really spacious and well appointed with all the amenities one would expect from a 5-star resort. The purple wall was a little bit odd, but I got used to it after a while. There is a terrace with two deck chairs with a view of the aforementioned beach. The much touted 'Heavenly Bed' and 'Heavenly Bath' were, well, average. I've seen (and used) better.

All the food I had by the hotel's restaurants and catering services were really seriously average. It's a wonder how they managed to make everything so bland and so... wrong. I can't really describe it, but everything tasted like they were prepared by career amateurs.

The gym has definitely seen better days. The free weights were rusty and don't go heavier than 54lbs. The treadmills were creaky and unstable. 3 or 4 treadmills (of different models) were placed really close together, not only unsightly but also rather annoying to use.

Not a good experience staying at the resort. If not for the conference I wouldn't have chose to stay there. Now that I have, I wouldn't want to go back again.

  • Liked — The spacious room.
  • Disliked — The amazingly bland and average food.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ooFlaneryoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Seriously, for the price, you've got MUCH better options in Macau. Terrible food, over-priced, and the service is unattentive at best, downright rude mostly.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

If you want to have a quiet holiday, Westin is the place you want. Our room is facing the Black Sand Beach and is quite large. The outdoor swimming pool is nice, indoor pool is OK. The buffet breakfast cost HK$160. The Fernando restaurant is about 10 minutes walk by the beach and HK$10 by van. 15 minutes taxi ride from the main downtown only cost about HK$70. I will stay in Westin again and again.

  • Liked — The outdoor pool
  • Disliked — The air condition is weak
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManManManMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

stayed here for 2 nights, Westin Macau is a reasonable place if you are here for vacation. I was here for a conference and must admit settings ar good, high class food and ambience. If you are here for fun and going for the Macau Wildlife, don't go here, too far away from everything.

Rooms are big, however, I think they are a little bit worn out, but th surroundings and size make it even. The only thing is, there were no WiFi in the rooms, but if you connect throuh cable, you will be able to use WiFi in conference and lobby area!

All in all i recommend this!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank KBLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

The setting is absolutely serene. The rooms all have terraces looking out to the sea (ocean?) and are spacious. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The spa is lovely, gym is nice, pool is huge.

Now...having said all that, this place is very removed from the action. They run a shuttle to the main island, but it is only every half hour and getting a taxi FROM the hotel is nearly impossible at peak times, so you really need to plan your day if you are staying here AND trying to see Macau. If you are staying here just to relax, play golf, tennis, etc. and don't care about seeing Macau then it is a non-issue and I would HIGHLY recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

The Westin is located in a very nice and green area, south of one of the islands that comprises Macau. It is beautifully constructed on the side of a small hill, therefore, all corridors have rooms on one side only. One part of the hotel faces the South China sea, and the other the beach and surrounding hill (although beach is not great, but ok).
The hotel is also a paradise for golfers, as it is directly connected to the golf course at the top floor level. It also has a nice driving range at the ocean (clubs free with set of paid balls), and you shoot the balls into the water.
As entertainment there is a minigofl that is a bit worn down, but entertaining for kids.
The swimming pool is not spectacular, but it has a very practical covered corridor with loungers, that protects from wind and sun and provides a great place for a good read.
Regarding the hotel: It has very large rooms, spacious, and relatively well kept. The terraces are also very large with a couple of sun loungers, and as it is constructed with an angle, there is plenty of sun.
There is also an indoor pool that is quite good, and the health club is well equipped.
The buffet breakfast is good and variety enough, with made to order eggs. Service was very attentive, and staff would remove plates and glasses promptly.
We ordered room service a couple of times, and speed was quite good, about 20 min, and prices for the kids meals were reasonable.
The famous Fernando's fish restaurant, is about a 5-10 min. walk by the beach.
As Macau is relatively small, transit time to the hotel is not more than 10-15 min to the airport, and 5 min to the new Cotai strip which is currently under intense construction.

  • Liked — Room size and terrace
  • Disliked — Air con was erratic in one of the rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gone2room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
4.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#17 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Property: Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#17 Family Hotel in Macau
#21 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#27 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Coloane Resort is a grand complex terracing up a mountainside with the soft rolling green expanse of the Macau Golf & Country Club's 18-hole tournament style golf course on the resort's rooftop. Altogether 208 rooms and suites, each room opens onto a private and spacious terrace with an uninterrupted full beach or ocean view of the South China Sea. The resort offers a relaxing and soothing nature view at the Cafe Panorama and the pinnacle of great dining with a splendid sea view. At the renovated Chinese Restaurant, specializing in Cantonese cuisine, it has been awarded the Hong Kong and Macau's Best Restaurants Award. The tastefully decorated Panorama Lounge and opened Poolside Bar serve a great selection of liquors and beverages in a relaxed-yet-stylish setting. The contemporary Garden Marquee at the property has become the talk of the town as it is the one and only Marquee in Macau, a unique choice from wedding to a product launch or even team building, along with all other extensive meeting and banqueting facilities to meet guests' every requirement, a place they will remember long after they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing