We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience // Not very helpful”
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #26 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I did not have a chance to visit this hotel yet, cos my wife is sick and admitted in the hospital.
I was having a very bad experience with the hotel even i did not stay yet.
i try to contacted the hotel if there any chance to amend the reservation as my wife is sick and will travel once wife is better but the hotel REFUSE as the condition is non refundable or change the date, and giving the reason to me that i informed too late, even i contact 1 day perior to arrival date ( i believe that sickness cannot be know in advance so how can i informed them in advance?)
This is unexceptable service as it's an emergency case and this should be flexible as i didn't want to have a full refund but just amend the reservation. I think this very unfair to the customer as i also prove them with the medical certificate.
My suggestion to the booker who want to book this hotel, is to make sure that you will not be sick on the day that you are traveling.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank LoveTraveling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We got confused at first on arrival at Macau airport. We followed the signs to the hotel shuttles. The hotel Website gave a frequency that was not accurate. We had to go back inside and check with the information. They told us to go to the Day Tour kiosk and they will arrange for the shuttle pick up which is free from the airport to the hotel (only in that direction). So we waited almost 2 H at the airport before boarding the hotel shuttle.

The hotel itself was nice. The room was large, clean and beautifully arranged. We walked to many attractions before using the other resort buses to go around the city and other attractions. These buses are plentiful and free. When we were done touring, we took one resort bus to the ferry station where we boarded the hotel shuttle back to the hotel (all free).

We had dinner at their Chinese restaurant on site (perfect service), and they had in the lobby area some delicious cakes for sale.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Aside from the usual amenities: coffee/tea/water in room, ample supply of toiletries, free wifi, cleanliness, wonderful and friendly staff, good restaurants, and electrical adapter, this hotel is simply lovely! When you register, your names goes on the airport pick-up list...even without your knowledge. I just asked about a shuttle at the airport information desk, and they directed me to a young lady at the end of the counter. She had my name on a list and called the shuttle for me. Lovely! However, and this is one of the few "minus points", they do not have a free shuttle back to the airport. Strange!! The other minus point was not enough "free" seating in the lobby. If you sit in the lobby lounge, which really is a restaurant, you will be charged 15% gratuity. Not good! Other than the two minuses mentioned, I really enjoyed my stay here. The shuttle will take you to the casinos and/or the terminal ferry free of charge. Yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you open all drawers in the room. Lots of goodies may be hidden inside. I had a great room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fritz6233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I like to stay in Royal Hotel during my visit to Macau. It is a good base to get around especially to the ferry terminal, Grand Lisboa, Galaxy, City of Dreams...
There are pockets of alleys to explore in the vinicity. Convenient stores, food eateries all within walking distance. It is also possible to take a brisk walk to Senado Square!
The best view of the stunning skyline is a room facing the Vasco da Gama Square!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Except for the poor (almost non-existent and slow) wifi, there is nothing bad with the hotel, but it certainly does not excell either. According to international standards, and certainly for Asia, it is very overpriced (125USD room only), but that counts for all Macau hotels in the weekend. We found much better value for money in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarkyMAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My repeated visit to this hotel saw a slightly downgraded rating because of the rather disappointed wi-fi connectivity. I was repeatedly kicked out of connection probably due to too many group-tour guests, namely from Mainland China, competing if not using up the shared bandwidth. After three days of my stay and lost connection, I decided to raise the issue with counter staff, and fortunate enough was given a daily free CTM broadband (valid for 24 hours) as an alternative to free wi-fi. That improved the connectivity and brought the level of Internet service same as six months ago. Otherwise, I was considering changing hotel in my next visit. Notwithstanding this, it is still a reactive move from the hotel management - instead of upgrading and strengthening the signal, its response was to wait for complaints, sometimes that a customer service oriented management should bear in mind.

This hotel seems to continue attract far too many tour groups, and become more "noisy" when they check in. Nothing against the Mainland Chinese, but their social practices are indeed far from being civilised. So in this connection, it is advisable for independent to avoid them esp using the lifts.

Rooms further up the floor - 10th level are naturally safer and quieter.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is using electronic lock and not key, it may be necessary to check the clocking befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PKWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Its an hotel based in the mid city area, overlooking an old building but below there is garden area for kids and elders, around the hotel, some important useful shops are there for travelers and visitors.

Though its old style, however try the Premier category of rooms which is on higher floors, they are comfortable and cozy. F&B can be more better. Over all service is good and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for Premium category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethnicexplorer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 94 in Macau
1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.4 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#62 of 94 in Macau
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Macau
#19 Family Hotel in Macau
#25 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $105 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing