We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #26 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our hotel for our one night in Macau and it was great! We were upgraded at check in and given an extra wifi card so that both of us could access wifi. The rooms were large and comfortable with good views from the window. The staff were really friendly and welcoming and helped with any queries. There is also a shuttle bus from the ferry terminal to the hotel every thirty minutes.

It was a 10-15 minute walk to the grand Lisbon casino and only a few minutes more to The Wynn and MGM. It is also within walking distance from the old town and fortress so can spend a lovely morning sight seeing around the town.

Room service was reasonably priced and tasted very nice! We did not use the bar or pool but they looked lovely from the outside! I would definitely suggest staying here if you want to visit the casinos but sleep in a quieter part of town!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TessicaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Royal for about 10 days, as we were stuck in Macau due to some unforeseen circumstances. The staff was very helpful throughout. The room sizes are ok and rooms are clean and provide all the necessities. The hotel also has a mini casino where you can play slots or video roulette (no table games). The lounge area is quite decent with some live music on Saturdays I think. The location is ok, if you are looking for hardcore gambling, better stay on Cotai, but otherwise this is a good location, very close to all Macau side casinos. There is a 7-11 very close to the hotel for any necessities, as is a grocery store. One thing that they can improve is the number of international TV channels, as currently there is a very limited selection. The gym at the hotel is pretty decent (only cardio equipment but good variety and great quality), while the pool is quite nice too. I think free Wifi is available with all the rooms but you better check. Food is ok, but very limited choice for vegetarians. The hotel also has a shuttle every 30 mins which covers most of the Macau side and also goes to the ferry terminal.
Overall, the hotel is good value for money, and given the helpful staff and good service, I would certainly recommend it unless you are going for a hardcore gambling/sin trip, in which case better stay on Cotai side.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Likes: free Shuttle Bus from the ferry terminal direct to the hotel lobby (which you can use for free going to other hotels/casinos as it goes around its circuit). About a 5-7 minute taxi ride from the ferry (MOP 25)
Quick check in. Clean room, nice view (1520), bus route outside the lobby. Awesome run route, the best i had in the entire china trip. (ask me where). Filipino bell hops and concierge are the best! Ask and they will help. Walkable to main tourist areas (senado square, st pauls)- BUT YOU WILL GET LOST, google maps or regular map in hand. Macau is built to get lost. heated indoor Pool and gym are ok. room wifi was not working, but they were kind enough to provide for free the premium 24hour internet access via scratch card.


Dislikes: the lobby can be a bit crowded and loud when the chinese guest arrive by busloads. No breakfast included (there are good local restaurants beside the hotel). Hotel Casino is so so.

Room Tip: Ask a the Filipino concierge and bellhop on where to go, very very helpful. local buses stop at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Situated away from the cluster of casinos. Nice decor and rooms. Good services. And a small casino situated in the lobby. Short walk to the shops and restaurants. Getting around is easy with cabs and inexpensive as well.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Retronala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located 10min walking distance from Senado Square, and 10min driving distance from the ferry terminal.

At the ferry terminal departure area, you can check with the tourist information counter for the direction to head towards for the bus terminal.

Exit from ferry terminal, take the underpass to the opposite site of the road. Once you surfaced onto the ground level again, to your left is the big coach for the bigger hotels. Turn right and head towards the smaller buses. Walk towards the end to look for bronze bus printed Hotel Royal Macau. It is a small bus of 19 seater. There’s no signage to look out for. If you see signages that says ‘Galaxy Hotel’, ‘Venetian’ then you are on the wrong side. During peak hours, you may have to wait for a second trip when the bus is full. The wait is approximately 15min.

The check-in was pretty fast and I really love the fragrance in the lobby. It does smell like Chanel Mademoiselle.

The room is a typical hotel room size, with ample walking space. Bathroom is of a reasonable size too. I like the hot water shower as it heats up really fast.

There are many eateries downhill so if like us, your hotel reservation does not come with breakfast, don’t worry about that. Down the road, on the left side, about 5min walk, we chanced upon a cafeteria with lots of celebrity photos. That usually means that the stall is very popular. We had a try and thought it’s a good place for a meal.

There’s complimentary shuttle to Venetian but it ends at 5.30pm. So we took the complimentary shuttle to the ferry terminal, and then hop onto the Venetian bus. This is a very common way to commuting between hotels. But do caution the last bus service from Ferry terminal back to Hotel Royal.

The only unpleasant encounter we had with the hotel was on our return back to the ferry terminal after check-out. It was pretty cold, at approximately 15 degree with chilly wind and we had to queue outside the hotel for the shuttle to the ferry terminal. The wait was about 45min as the queue was really long and we could not board the first bus that came. We felt really bitter during the wait.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiling_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I booked through an on-line web site and got a good price for a two night, mid-week, stay. Arriving at the ferry port, the shuttle bus to the hotel was quick and simple. Hotel has a large, modern, reception area and I was very pleased with the large size of the bedroom. Everything very clean and in good condition, with the bathroom providing plenty of toiletries, as well as bath robes. Free Wi-Fi in the room, although I found the speed slightly inconsistent; safety box also available in the room.

The hotel is situated away from the casino areas, in a quieter, and safe, part of town, with the shuttle bus every 30 minutes able to drop you off at various locations (casinos) on the way to the ferry terminal. Walking distance to the old town, although I would recommend taking a taxi to the A-Ma temple and walking back from there, passing all the sites, which are well signposted (total walking/tour time 2-3 hours).

The concierge/bell boy was able to provide useful information about the town, providing booth a free may and a small guide book. Substantial choice available at breakfast, which can either be had in the Mezzanine floor or in the reception area.

Good swimming pool and fitness centre. There were no shops available in the hotel, although a 7-11 is located just outside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asia-traveller-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We love the hotel because it was far away from the casinos which means less chaos. We enjoyed our stay there. The room was clean and spacious. The service was alright too. The cab we booked at the hotel happened to not turn up at the stipulated time but the manager managed to get us another cab and we're on time to the airport luckily. There was a garden just in front of the hotel and we thought it was great. Surely would come again on our next visitt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weini28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 94 in Macau
1,153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.3 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#31 of 94 in Macau
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#15 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#25 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $95 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing