We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury offered at a low cost”
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Goa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury offered at a low cost”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here in the month of September along with my wife, a excellent hotel to stay at.The rooms are luxurious and spacious and also have a decent view of the garden just next to the hotel.
Although the hotel is surrounded by a large number of residential buildings most of the sightseeing and historical places are within 15 mins. walking distance.

Also there are famous casinos in the vicinity all within a walkable distance.

Although stayed here for a night was not satisfied with the dining options available and food ordered in room was average


Courteous and helpful staff but has challenges with he concierge as they could speak English fluently.

The free internet access is pathetic which constantly disconnects.

There is also a free shuttle offered by the hotel from the ferry terminal.
It also drops of the hotel guest at several locations but does not pickup guest at the same locations which would have made the service much more convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zezito_ferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    752
    152
    35
    25
See reviews for
260
333
114
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Why I choose this hotel is because it is cheap and worth it. The hotel has a pick up service in the ferry station. We were welcomed by countless Filipinos working in the hotel. They were hospitable and it feels like staying in the comfort of your home. The swimming pool is very inviting. The hotel personnel assigned in the area is very friendly. The hotel may not be in the center of the peninsula but not that far to explore the whole area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeng14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are currently staying at this hotel. The staff cannot do enough to help you. We received an upgrade to the 17th floor, that has fabulous views. Although the hotel only has a tiny casino they provide pick up service from the ferry and shuttles all day to the other casinos. Across the road is a great little restaurant to have all meals. For 2 it was about $10 AUD. The concierge recommended a great restaurant, where we went last night called a Lorcha.
We will come back to the hotel and also the restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade sometimes they are free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had a great time here, I thought the location was good for exploring the peninsula, including the Ruins (about a 15-20 minute walk), and several other sights. It is a bit far from the casinos, but they have a slot-only casino in the lobby. It was nice and quiet from the outside. Inside the casino, it was a bit chilly, and there are only slots (sigh, I'm a dice girl). The lobby is a great place to hang out, and wi-fi worked fine. Saturday night I was quite impressed with the lounge singer, I wished I'd known/had seen more of her set.

I had to wait about an hour to check in, since they don't check in early, which was a little annoying. They did hold my luggage and I just went and had some lunch. When I did check in my room was upgraded, so it was quite nice, and had wi-fi, but again I think that was part of the upgrade. The concierge was fantastic, and helped answer all of my questions for getting around Macau, and even over to the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designerliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
758 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My name is Mohsin Khan. I have spent 1 day here with my wife on 2nd Oct '13.
5 star hotel. Rooms are little small but good facilities. They give you airport transfer and also free shuttle to many tourist spot in every 1 hour. Comfortable beds, good service and facilities, they have small casino which is available for 24x7. Location is not the best as you need to take free shuttle or taxi for everywhere. I will prefer this hotel for my next visit as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I read good reviews on Agoda so booked a 1-night stay at the very low rate of $86. Casino hotels this weekend are $400+. From the minute you walk in the Royal is about class, sophistication, service and value. The room impeccable, so clean and loaded with every convenience. White marlble bathroom, comfy beds, even power adaptors in place for you. Then you wander outside into the narrow streets and the old world charm of Portugal surrounds you, and yet you are a short 10 minute walk from the grand city hotels and casinos of Macau. Front desk staff very friendly, and door men helping you. The place smells like flowers when you arrive. Can't say enough good things about the Royal. You will love it! And save your money for the tables of Macau.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbro421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
187 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night, as part of holiday trip coming by Ferry from Hong Kong and departing next day by train from Zhuhai to Guangzhou.

After arrival at the Ferry terminal, you can take the underpass to the other side of the street. At the other side, turn to the far left side (direction when back to the terminal side). At the far end is the car/bus parking place where every half hour the hotel shuttle bus stops for picking up hotel guests.

Room was average spaced; Toilet room enough space with combined shower/bathtub; all toilet amenities available. The beds were good sleeping good quality; for me OK. The TV was LCD, can’t remember which channels and or movie programs (stayed one night and stayed out until deep in the night); The internet was LAN on the room (can’t remember if WLAN also); WLAN in the lobby. Our booking was excluding the Breakfast: instead we took it outside, where there are enough possibilities around, close to the hotel.

Staff in lobby was friendly; also in helping out for itineraries.

One small minor point: the hotel seems not to be located at the traveling-routes for Taxi’s. Waiting for a taxi at the front of the hotel takes long time; be prepared for this waiting time.

I will certainly stay here next time again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Property: Hotel Royal Macau
Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#14 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#26 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing