We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to get away from the neon lights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #25 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great to get away from the neon lights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is not in the main casino area. If you're looking for that, it's a short cab ride away. This is not an all-out fancy 5 star hotel, but it is quiet, refined and elegant, great for family trips and sightseeing. Service was impeccable. Staff are always at hand if you need help.

The room was decorated simply but tastefully. Bedlinen was spotless. The bathroom was also clean, although the door seemed a bit rickety.

Will definitely stay again as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    739
    148
    34
    25
See reviews for
250
324
110
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

we liked our stay at the hotel. the filipino bellboys were very helpful. i always see them speaking with guests to give them recommendations were to go. i felt that they were genuinely friendly.

our room was very spacious. bathroom was clean and had a bath tub. there's a pool and gym in the hotel. wifi was good too.

the location is far from the casinos but is very near 'old' macau (senado square, st.paul ruins etc). shuttle
buses are always available
and going around was easy.

tip: request for a room in front of the vasco de gama garden. the other side is an empty building which was scary at night

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VenBamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

i stayed at Royal for 2nights, and was lucky enough to get a room on the top floor facing the garden. The view was very nice.

The room is very clean, posh & even the bath amenities are branded (Aigner). Lots of channels on TV and the bed & pillows are very comfortable. Rooms are v clean, & sound proofing's good (no unruly neighbours).

Location is a little off, but as Macau is small, it is only about MOP18-20 from Senado Square (can starts at MOP15).

Breakfast is nice, they serve yoghurt & piping hot noodles! But could vary the breakfast a little though...

all in all, good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan_Koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is ok on the whole but I won't consider it a 5-star rated hotel. It's very ordinary but the room is quite spacious with all toiletries and 2 bottles of complementary water. I was initially given a room facing an uncompleted building. It looked scary with all the empty windows. I requested for a change and the front desk staff was very obliging. Maybe I spoke in Cantonese with her. There's a small casino but only machine operated games.The only plus point is there's a free shuttle which operates from the hotel at 8.30am to 10pm from the Ferry terminal. Otherwise the location of this hotel is very inconvenient. It's situated on top of a slope which will take at least 10-15 mins to walk down to the main busy street. With the free shuttle we move around very easily.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Good hotel, very comfortable and clean rooms, excellent service. It is within an easy walking distance of main sites or alternatively just cheap taxi ride away. The service at reception was spotless and the whole feel about the place is very luxurious. Unfortunately we did not go to the swimming pool or had breakfast there. They have a shuttle bus that takes you to the airport or the casinos. Timing is not always favorable, but you can take any shuttle bus from any hotel. Nobody checks where you are staying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Chubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I checked in on Hotel Royal Macau in May the 6th and check out on May the 22nd. I had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is well located, there are bus stops near buy and the hotel as a shuttle every 30 minutes during the day. The most difficult thing is to catch a taxi, they stop at the hotel, but if you are going to a place nearby they refuse to take you. I guess that we can’t blame the hotel for this.
My room, 8th floor, had a lot of space with a nice TV, air condition working fine, a little refrigerator, a nice toilet with an excellent shower (pressure and temperature) and a nice view to the Vasco da Gama Garden. The bed was huge and very confortable just like the pillows.
The hotel team was very kind and always available to help. The only thing that the hotel should improve here is the communication, because some of the staff didn’t speak English that I could understand. But, this was not an obstacle to get all the answers that I needed.
The internet service had a decent quality and was free. In the room I had both: cable and wireless internet. They had a small cable available in the room.
I never had breakfast at the hotel, but I had a few meals in the bar, which were ok and with decent prices. I tried the Fado restaurant, Portuguese food, at lunch time. Being Portuguese, I can say that the food was honest but not surprising. The wines were extremely expensive, maybe 300% more when comparing with market price. They should improve this, because, in my opinion, this is not acceptable in a country with low taxes. There are many restaurants near the hotel, just turn left when you get out and you will find them just a few minutes walking.
Now, the bad news. I went to Macau in business. This means that I will need to work at the hotel when I wasn’t in meetings with clients or partners. The only place, apart from the room, where we can work is the bar. It was really annoying to have some of the waitress telling me that I had to drink something in order to use the table. Sometimes I feel like not having anything, it happens. Why should I pay to use the table in a hotel were I’m staying? Especially when 90% of the tables were empty? Definitely they should improve this or, as an alternative, the Hotel should write in their website that is necessary to pay to use the tables at the bar. Then the client can decide were to stay.
To conclude, I did enjoy my stay at the Royal Macau Hotel. When I get back to Macau, I will probably stay again here and I will also recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiguelMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We we were staying here for 2 days and 2 nights (May 13th 2013 to May 15th 2013). We booked Hotel Royal from Agoda, we got a pretty nice rate for 2 days and 2 nights. Staying in Hotel Royal were overall a great experiences. They have convinience shuttle services from Hotel to airport, Airport to hotel, Airport to ferry terminal and ferry terminal to hotels, so whatever your transportation is, you can reach this Hotel easily. If you arrived by Plane, you can just simply go to Top Tour counter (turn right after customs check, walk to end of the counter, u can find the top tour counter and ask for Hotel Royal shuttle bus, u dont have to booked first, but I did called them day before i arrived.) , or if you arrive by ferry, just walk to the shuttle bus parking, find the orange mini bus with hotel royal on it, its available arround every 25-30 minutes.

Our check in process were fast, though at that time many chinese and other nationalities also checking in and out. We were booked for superior twin, but we got superior double, its not really a big deal,as the bed were spacious, and we've got nice room located on 9th floor facing the Jardim Vasco da Gama (Vasco da Gama Garden) . The amenities on the room were good,just like what they wrote on their site or in agoda, toiletres were Aigner, which is great.
They also have international TV channels so you won't miss a news from worldwide.

The hotel located on the good location, not too near to center but also not too far. You can reach mostly all famous attractions and casino by walking, just asked the staff for map and asked them to pointed u directions. They speak english, not so good, but you can understand them well. They have free wifi on the lobby, I dont know if it suppose to be secret, but hey just keep the wifi on when u walk to ur room, and u will suprised that it still work on your room, with not so fast connection but it works.

Our Check out also flawless, everything ran well. and I enjoyed my stayed in Macau for 2 days and 2 nights here. If i ever coming back to Macau, I'll be back and stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level and for the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Fira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
5.8 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 94 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Property: Hotel Royal Macau
Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#24 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing