We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean nice room, good breakfast, helpful and courteous staff.”
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
SG
1 review
“Clean nice room, good breakfast, helpful and courteous staff.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went there for a 3-night stay. Overall impression is good. Hotel located within walking distance from some famous attractions like “Ruins of St. Paul” and the Ferry Terminal. Free shutter transport(s) are available to different locations with registration at the Conceirge counter. Hotel seems to be short-handed when serving larger tour groups, but in general the staff are helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking floors, Delux and above graded rooms are located at higher floor. Send your req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jing_di_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    763
    152
    35
    26
See reviews for
261
335
118
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My aunt and I had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Royal Macau when we went for a short 2 day trip to Macau. We wanted to stay in a hotel without an in-house casino that was near to the heritage sites around Senado square so the Royal Macau fitted the bill perfectly. The service was excellent! The lady who checked us in kindly gave us a very nice room overlooking the Vaso Da Gama Gardens as requested. The bell boys were friendly and courteous. We took a taxi from the hotel to Senado Square and spent a very pleasant afternoon walking around and enjoying the Macau specialties like pork chop bun, Portuguese egg tart and steamed milk custard! The young man, Alex, at the concierge was very helpful in recommending us a shop very near the hotel where we could try Portuguese food for our dinner. He also arranged for a private tour of Macau by a Mr Cheung the next day as it was raining off and on so we were not keen to get around on our own. We were more than satisfied! Mr Cheung was very friendly and knowlegeable. Breakfast was not included in our booking so we took breakfast at a nice little shop a stone's throw from the hotel. They have a very varied menu so we decided to take our lunch there after we got back from our tour as well. Going back to Hong Kong, we took the free shuttle provided by the hotel to the Macau ferry terminal. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to stay again at the Royal Macau if we ever go back to Macau!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenhyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is clean. The staff is very helpful and very knowledgeable. The front desk give us a clear and concise direction when we told them that we would like to take a walk to the ruin of St Paul and the famous Senado Sq. The hotel also provide transport to Taipa, dan Ferry terminal. Overall it is a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the recommendations from this website. My free n easy trip was made enjoyable due to the friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff. They advice us on the route to cultural locations, mode of transport, booked our show tickets to House of Dancing water and advise on the ferry to Hong Kong. The hotel also provide transport to Taipa, ferry terminal and Macau tower. The location was within walking distance to Sedona Sq. A worthy stay indeed!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pegasus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toowoomba
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our family of four stayed here in two rooms over the Chinese New Year weekend and it was great. As it is in the old town away from all the glitzy casinos it is a lot cheaper but the standard and service is more of an old world 5 star rather than the fake glam of the new casinos.

The lobby bar sells great value bakery rolls and cakes that taste great and a bottomless tea buffet.

The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy and roomy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

i went after chinese new year, so the price is not the cheap, but still reasonable for me.
I went to macau in the afternoon and tried to find the shuttle bus to hotel, but it was not that easy because there is no clear location map to indicate the exact location of bus stop. We waited for almost half an hour, the shuttle bus finally came.

Advise: better ask the hotel about the time and location!

Room is big and clean while front desk clerks were nice too. Oh! btw, the toilet flushing system is not really good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank work h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel made a great first impression, from the free airport shuttle to the quick, professional check in. I do believe that this is one of the better options hotel wise in Macau, due to its price and up market feel. Location wise you can walk to the main centre in under 10 minutes and the free shuttle bus is very handy.

Bedrooms are spacious considering Chinas standards and felt quite plush with robes, slippers, and a range of toiletries, I pod dock, magazines, DVD player. Every few nights they have a live jazz style singer in the front lobby bar which added a nice touch.

All in all a good stay, and a shuttle straight to the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: The higher the better I suppose, at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michwalk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
676 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#16 of 95 in Macau
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Property: Hotel Royal Macau
Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#13 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#25 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing