We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was disappointed as the swimming pool was under renovation at the time which was one of the main reasons I chose this hotel. To compensate, they upgraded me to a Superior room (which I appreciated). Request for a city view as the you don't have a view at all in the other side of the hotel as there is another building being contructed.

Nice place to stay if you want to be away from the casinos and would like to have a local feel of Macau. It is a few minutes walk from the ruins. If you're going to be out most of the time though, I'd recommend that you stay in a more inexpensive hotel as you wouldn't enjoy the amenities.

Food tip: Don't forget to try the porkchop buns and Portuguese egg tarts!

Downside: Their shuttle service is limited. They don't have a direct service that goes to the Venetian Hotel the whole day, you would need to go to the ferry terminal first at certain times of the day.

Room Tip: Request a room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJDS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    763
    152
    35
    26
See reviews for
261
335
118
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed over for one night during the Chinese New Year holiday. The hotel was great value for money with a central location and friendly service. The American breakfast buffet was delicious and had everything a western traveler would want to eat. The lunch buffet also looked delicious and very affordable. I think it cost about MOP 150. The hotel also offers a tea time buffet with cakes, canapes, coffee, tea and juice and a live piano player in the background. I think this was about MOP 70. The hotel has a very nice swimming pool, small casino and they sell Starbucks coffee and pastries.
We had a great stay and can definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe double room on the 17th floor, which was quiet and had the highest view in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_ann_nicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a bit far away from casino area but has a regular shuttle bus. The room is okay Asa well as the service. It has a great swimming pool and running machine for this level accommodation. The interior i
Such as tv or dryer is a bit old.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlette, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Overall great place and tucked away from all the glitz and glamour. Excellent pool and foyer. Gym needs more options and carpeted area. Cute little casino inside, but avoid the smoke section upstairs. Also there is very little attention by Mocha staff for drinks and snacks to foreigners. Reasonable price paid for a few nights. If Hotel Royal did the little things right in the room itself, like Traders in HK, it would be 5 star for sure.

Room Tip: Not sure what to suggest here, but I slept like a baby on a nice firm mattress in a standard twin ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
523 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is in the hills near Guia Lighthouse. About 15 minutes walk to Senado Square. Several small restaurants are nearby and a convenience store is across the street. The shuttle runs every half hour to the ferry terminal, with stops along the way. Twice a day the shuttle goes to the Taipa Strip. It's across the street from a stop for city bus 28C.

Concierge is helpful, well informed, and speaks good English. He had a detailed knowledge of the city that was useful to me several times.

Free wired internet was included in the cost of my room, but no wi-fi is available except in the lobby. There is a constant cluster of wi-fi users there from early morning until late at night. Consequently there's no place to sit and wait to meet friends.

Room (on 9th floor) was comfortable and modern. I had to ask housekeeping for a bathrobe. Small point, but the furnished slippers are flimsy paper. Breakfast was more than adequate and the surroundings were pleasant. Room service was prompt. Check in and check out were efficient thanks to the largely Filipino staff.

I would stay here again if I wanted mainly to explore historical Macau or go shopping. Not terribly convenient if you want easy access to the casinos.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the park. Could see people doing Tai-chi in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night before catching the ferry over to Hong Kong and had booked at the last minute based on price and the free shuttle service they provide to the ferry.

Therefore we were pleasantly surprised with the level of service and standard of the hotel for the price we paid. The bedrooms were spacious, modern and spotlessly clean with a luxurious marble bathroom and comfortable beds, crisp bed linen and feather pillows.

The breakfast was amazing, a large buffet of Asian and European choices with eggs cooked to order. With friendly and helpful staff and a free shuttle service to the ferry; The Royal provided excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

There is Free airport shuttle to the hotel, just take 15 minutes. The hotel located in good location on the hill you can see most Macau view, just few step walk to Mc.Donald and other retail shop, 15 minutes walk to many Macau landmark such as Ruins of St.Paul's, St.Dominic's Church, Senado Square, Macau Museum and Casino area or you can take Public Bus No.8 to A Ma Temple and take other bus to other attraction by only MOP 3.2 This hotel also provided free WiFi at the lobby area, free shuttle service every 30 minutes to Macau Ferry & Macau Tower and free shuttle to Venetian Macau twice a day. Room are not too big not too small with good view, clean, and fully amenities in room. All staff are very friendly, warm welcome and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanipaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
676 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#16 of 95 in Macau
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Property: Hotel Royal Macau
Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#13 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#25 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing