We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star hotel with Free Shuttle and nearyby many Macau Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Bangkok
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 Star hotel with Free Shuttle and nearyby many Macau Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

There is Free airport shuttle to the hotel, just take 15 minutes. The hotel located in good location on the hill you can see most Macau view, just few step walk to Mc.Donald and other retail shop, 15 minutes walk to many Macau landmark such as Ruins of St.Paul's, St.Dominic's Church, Senado Square, Macau Museum and Casino area or you can take Public Bus No.8 to A Ma Temple and take other bus to other attraction by only MOP 3.2 This hotel also provided free WiFi at the lobby area, free shuttle service every 30 minutes to Macau Ferry & Macau Tower and free shuttle to Venetian Macau twice a day. Room are not too big not too small with good view, clean, and fully amenities in room. All staff are very friendly, warm welcome and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanipaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    747
    150
    34
    25
See reviews for
256
327
112
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bruce Mines, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been completely redone while maintaining all its charm. It is clean and very comfortable. Our room was quite large, by Asian standards. The bathroom had a beautiful inlaid marble floor, large marble counter with an under-mount sink and new bathtub. All the necessary toiletries were provided. The bed and pillows were very comfortable with crisp white sheets and a duvet. The bedroom had crown molding and nice use of wood. The staff were well trained and pleasant. The small casino, with mostly slot machines, served delicious free coffee. As the rooms were non-smoking it was a convenient spot to have morning coffee and a cigarette. There is a very large pool, a gym and a sauna. The hotel was far more luxurious than we were expecting at the price that we paid. It is a bit removed from the more frenetic areas of Macau but there are lots of shops and restaurants in the next block. It is an easy walk to all the sights Macau has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhart60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Dear Friends hotel royal in macau hotel services is good and room is so good wash is very good sleeping bed good staff is very coprative hotel bus services is good. Location is not good shopping mall and other markit so far .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank MADAN LAL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved our stay in this hotel. The hotel staff are very accomodating teaching us where to dine based on our preference, where to go for our free time based on our tastes and which direction to take to get to a much sought after and not-to-be missed tourist attraction. The hotel rooms are clean. We got 2 rooms with an adjoining door for our family per our request. We had a wonderful view of the Jardin de Vasco de Gama which always greeted us with such greenery and such a refreshing and pleasing view. Their international breakfast buffet was also a treat with us children going back for seconds to help pack us more energy with the days' tour itinerary. There is a shuttle bus service to help you get to certain points in the city, should you want to wander off during or the rest of the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbhernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is very convenient with many markets and shops being within walking distance. The free shuttle service works well and the drop to the ferry station on the day of departure was very organised one. The staff are friendly, of course they could improve their English skills more, but they try to help as much as possible. And they also smile! The breakfast fare was poor and for vegetarians there is hardly anything to eat. Rooms are cleaned well and offers a good view of the square in front. Spent 2 nights there and would not mind reccommending to others.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahua-CCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in Royal hotel in Dec 2012. Although the location is not the best, but my family and I did not have any trouble walking from the hotel to Senado Square. It is only a 15mins walk and you will pass by lots of shops along the way, which can be interesting. If arriving Macau by ferry, hey have a mini shuttle bus from the ferry terminal to the hotel. Ask around to find out where the Royal hotel shuttle bus is as the other big buses usually block your view of the small bus.

The hotel rooms were spacious and I would say there was nothing I could find fault with! It was clean and had everything that I needed. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge staff who personally brought our baggage up to our rooms, and then gave us travelling advice and ideas!

Travelling from the hotel is pretty easy, and you can ask the hotel staff to give you directions on how to walk to Senado Square. If you are looking for dining options near the hotel, there is a traditional cafe where you can have breakfast just 1 min away. Turn right upon hotel entrance and walk straight down. For dinner or supper, try Wong Kun for the crab porridge and wanton noodles with shrimp roe. The restaurant is pretty noticeable, and its a few minutes walk down from the hotel, located along Rua do Campo. Just further down the same road, you will find local portugese food at this traditional restaurant, A Vencedora.

We also found many small boutiques selling clothes, shoes, bags along this stretch of road, and it was quite a pleasant surprise. There is also Lei Kei ice cream, which you can enjoy after a long day.

Overall, my family and I liked our stay at Royal Hotel very much and we would definitely come back again if visiting Macau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locketlovee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Dec 2009 (Not Feb 2012 as shown in the selection as the selection doesn't go beyond Feb 2012). Hotel was undergoing renovation during the period of stay. Thought it was under renovation, the hotel was still kept relatively clean with minimal noise level during the day.

Hotel provided free shuttle service to ferry terminal, Fisherman's Wharf and some other locations with designated time which is easily available.

My 1st experience of Macau was made positive by the hotel the moment I arrived on a taxi from the airport. I was HKD$5 short and the taxi driver had no change for my larger bills and was stranded until the taxi driver can figure out how to get some small change. The hotel Concierge Manager just walked across to me and asked what was the matter and upon understanding the situation, he immediately took HKD$5 right out from his pocket to give to the taxi driver to close the issue. Over the next 2 days of my stay I tried to return the HKD$5 to him but he just refused to take it back. Even though it was just a small amount, it was deeply felt that the staffs of the hotel really cared for their guests.

Had a pleasant stay in the hotel for the next 2 days with the help of the staffs to arrange customized local tour to visit the nearby places of interest in private executive van.

If I do have the opportunity to visit Macau in the near future, Royal Macau Hotel will be definitely on my list!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutlut7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Property: Hotel Royal Macau
Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#26 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing