We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Few faults, excellent service, very good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal Macau
Ranked #24 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Few faults, excellent service, very good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

One night stay. Quiet location but close to shops and Fort Guila, Nice view over Vasco de Gama square.
Consevative and tasteful room decor and furnishings with atractive wood panelling and colourful artworks.
Some guest noise from adjacent rooms; no minibar, fridge not working.
Outstanding service, food and table appointments in Catalpa Garden restaurant.
All staff efficient, attentive, courteous and pleasant
Good free shuttlebus to/from ferry terminus

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms overloking Vasco de Gama Square are probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    738
    148
    34
    25
See reviews for
249
324
109
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

My mom and I were very pleased to stay at this hotel. We really regretted that we only stayed for a night as we must go back to Hong Kong on the following day. All staff were very friendly and helpful. They will help you in anyway they can. Most speak good English as most of them are Filipinos. We are glad that they gave us free afternoon snack that we can enjoy with free flow drinks including fresh juices. Nice breakfast too. The room is superb. I thank for every effort they show to us. In front of this hotel, you will also see nice garden if you see it from the top of the tower. Good and friendly hotel...Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamawidjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We choose this hotel because of there is no large casino inside or around the hotel. The quality of bed, bathroom are quite good. There television has different channels, but there is no free WiFi provided (only wired internet).

Some room view may not be very good, perhaps it will be better at higher price. The hotel is near the residential area in Macau, so you can see how they live there. The breakfast is acceptable, and the services are good. Also, we have tried the cakes bought from lobby, and it is taste and not expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

stayed for a night after a trip from hongkong.. stayed at the grand emperor hotel the previous time.. and... its a far cry from the grand emperor hotel.

the place is clean. but small. =( only great thing is tt we had a staff who was super friendly who held the bus for us and help us keep our shopping so that we wont miss their last bus to the city of dreams.

also, transport is a hassle because they only have 3 timings to the Venitian and city of dreams which is super inconvinent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Location: Off the main road, not near all the big casinos but is not a problem if you don't mind taking and changing shuttle buses. Anyway taxi in Macau is cheap - if you don't mind paying a little more, you can easily get a taxi at the hotel, where the hotel staff will flag one for you. The hotel is also relatively near to Senado Square, Ruins of St Paul etc. They are within walking distance (about 15-20 mins).

Room: Clean and big. Toilet was clean too, but there was only a bathtub provided without a shower head.

Service: Excellent service. Staffs were always ready to provide recommendations and directions.

It would, however, be better if the hotel shuttle was more frequent, ie a 15 min interval instead of the current 30 min interval. Major hotels had free shuttle services in every 5 - 10 mins, and the hotel buses were big. Royal hotel's shuttle service really fails in comparison - shuttle bus was a minibus, seats were therefore limited and you may have to wait for a next one (which is 30 mins later) if the seats are all filled up.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We (family of 2 persons) stayed at Royal Macau Hotel for 1 night in the end of March 2012.

Pros:
- Location is very good. You are in walking distance to many tourist spots in Macau: 15 mins to Guia Park with famous lighthouse, 15 mins to St. Paul's ruins and fortress, 20 mins to Senado Square, etc.
- There are many restaurants nearby, especially with Thai cousine. 7/11 store is just on the corner and it works till 11 pm. In the morning you can get breakfast in numerous nearby restaurants almost for nothing )).
- The fare was good - 750 HKD (about 85 USD)/night for 5 stars in the center.
- Taxi in Macau is cheap.
- The hotel staff speaks good English and is friendly.
- The hotel provides free shuttle from/to Macau Port (There are several ports in Macau. You need Macau Port, not Taipa Port!!). When you leave the port building, go to the tunnel then turn left.

Cons:
- This is not a 5-star hotel as they state, but definitely 4 stars. But this is normal for China ))
- Behing the hotel there's a big building under construction. The construction will last, I thing, for the whole year. Fortunately, when we stayed at the hotel, nobody worked in the new building. By the way, our room faced to that building. It could have been a problem with noise!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergeika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed for one night only, Monday 5th March.

Upon a quick check- in at 3.30pm, we were given a room 1727 on level 17 with view of Macau town. We originally booked a deluxe room through booking.com. The deluxe room was clean, specious and absolutely. It was reasonable good size room. The king size bed was really comfortable. Wired internet is free of charge. The hotel is located only a short stroll from town and it is safe to walk at night.

Buffet breakfast which was included the room rate was great and in abundant on the Mezzanine floor, overlooking the park.

The great disappointment was the gym facilities or how is called there “fitness centre”. It is more a cardio machine room than a work-out room. It would be highly recommended to invest in some weights machines for those gym junky fans.

As any other hotel, you can order room service. Alternatively, you can find a cafe at the lobby of the hotel which opens until late at night.

The staff at the hotel are super friendly, helpful and attentive, keep up the good service.

We would definitely come back to this hotel in Macau.

Room Tip: Book a top floor room overlooking Macau town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanguro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
5.8 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#17 of 94 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Macau

Property: Hotel Royal Macau
Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#23 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Macau is an elegant hotel situated on Estrada da Vitória near the centre of Macau at the foot of the city's legendary landmark, the 174-metre-high hill, Colina da Guia. Well placed for both business and leisure travellers, Hotel Royal Macau offers a heaven of comfort and serenity in one of Asia's most exciting cities. Hotel Royal Macau sits on the doorstep of the Guia Lighthouse, site of the first lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Within walking distance, guests of the hotel can reach Ruins of St Paul's, Vasco da Gama Monument and many other attractions in Macau. Hong Kong is only an hour away, and the Border Gate in Zhuhai is only 15-minute drive away. Well equipped with a fitness centre, a swimming pool and a choice of 380 spacious guest rooms and suites over 19 floors, Hotel Royal Macau presents the highest standards in all areas of accommodation and service. Every guest room at the hotel is beautifully appointed, using the finest furnishings in an innovative style, to create an atmosphere of contemporary luxury. Visitors who appreciate fine dining will be well catered for by the restaurants at Hotel Royal Macau. Catalpa Garden is the home of authentic Shanghai cuisine, and four individual rooms are available for the ultimate private dining experience. The hotel's FADO Portuguese restaurant features dishes from an award-winning chef who consistently delights diners with stylish Portuguese food. Royal Bakery's pastry teams are dedicated to producing delectable cakes and pastries in over 100 different flavours. Adjacent to it, Lobby Lounge is an ideal place to meet for an afternoon tea, a glass of champagne, a piece of cake, or even weekend tea buffets. Hotel Royal Macau is fully equipped to host business meetings and functions accommodating up to 200 people. The opulent furnishings and graceful decor of the hotel create an ideal ambience for work or leisure, and the addition of the latest technologies and a first-class service ensure every detail of the event is a success. Guests' comfort is always our top priority! It is our pleasure to offer assistance and information to make your experience at Hotel Royal Macau a pleasant one. Please do not hesitate to send us any enquiry or feedback by completing the form below. Our hotel representative will contact you shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Royal Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing