We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Macau
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“very good location indeed”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

i love this hotel due to the location is perfect. it just walking distance to senado square.
just walking distance to ruins and st.paul as well. restaurant and shopping area are next door. they also have shuttle bus to the harbor. and from there we take shuttle bus to venetian resort macau. the room are quite nice but not too good, just fine. the only thing the best is the location

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva_Dewi_Ahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    318
    159
    27
    7
See reviews for
58
53
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was a fine family trip. The location was good, very close to sites like the cathedral and some casinos, and only a short taxi ride to the famous temple. Staff couldn't speak nor understand much English. I had some trouble finding people who can really understand English there (surprise?).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissVxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My sister and I booked the hotel based on location. It was very near the Senado Square and New Yaohan Dept Store which was very convenient as we were able to return anytime to our room and save ourselves the burden of carrying a lot of shopping bags during the day. The hotel was also walking distance to the big casino hotels so we were able to visit these places even late at night. The hotel room given to us was spacious and the room amenities were more than what we expected. Even though the hotel staff spoke limited English, still they were very helpful in attending to our needs.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top floors would give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rose168_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

perfectly decent, but would not be the best hotel in macau since everything's a bit dated. however, the fact that this hotel is located just a block away from senado square, the center of macau's heritage trail, more than makes up for it!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank olegnatadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Metropole Hotel is the best place to stay in Macau, when on a budget. The other hotels are very big and expensive. This Hotel is great value for money. It is located in the centre, you can walk to all the attractions in few minutes. The rooms are excellent. I would stay only here when I visit Macau.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed in this Hotel in Aprill 2011 on saturday . Prices are quite high and Hotel is small but its not a bad Hotel . Rooms are not big and reception staff is not very much friendly . They do not have their own shuttle bus service . taxi is available out side Hotel and location is not very good around 5 mints walk from Lisboa . No market outside hotel as its on main road . Overall its a simple Hotel but better than many many which are far from the heart of city . Breakfast is ok .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahuljnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Metropole is located on the Macau Peninsula Island. It is within walking distance to the infamous St Paul's Ruins and Senado Square. When you walk out of the hotel, turn left and walk straight on. Then turn left again. Across the street is Senado Square. From thereon, the are many small streets selling food and souvenir. You should try all the food and you can get full from tasting the food when walking around. If you take the ferry from Hong Kong like we did, there is a FREE shuttle bus waiting at the ferry terminal. Lookout for a white/pink mini bus, which Metropole Hotel share with 3 other sister hotel.The names are written on the bus and the service is provided until 10.30pm. You can hop on the same bus to the ferry terminal if you want to visit the casinos without having to pay for taxis. The hotel room is spacious with all the basic amenities provided by most hotels. The hotel staff react to your request almost immediately with efficiency. For the price you pay in an excellent location, coupled with good services, I will definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who is conscious about budget or a first timer in Macau, as you probobably want to visit all the sights with ease at your own time. Besides that, the staff (a guy) that we correspond with speaks good English. So it will not be a problem for the non-Chinese speaking traveller like me to Macau :).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LOLA_BLISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#38 of 95 in Macau
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sintra
Hotel Sintra
#33 of 95 in Macau
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#41 of 95 in Macau
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#28 of 95 in Macau
1,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#57 of 95 in Macau
1,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Macau

Property: Metropole Hotel Macau
Address: 493-501 Avenida Da Praia Grande, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Macau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Metropole Hotel Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing