We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sintra
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel, although not as new as the other "grand" ones, boasts of a very convenient location! The shuttle bus stops right in front. Check-in was fast and employees were friendly and quick to assist guests. The rooms were big enough for us plus a free baby cot for our daughter. The room also has a desk and 2 lounge chairs, complete bathroom amenities, a safe and free Wifi. Breakfast choices were varied. Nearby, there are some restaurants, a convenience store, a 24-hr foreign exchange (turn right from the main entrance plus another one if you turn left), lots of shops and a new high-end mall called New Yaohan. Senado Square and Ruins of St. Paul are just a leisurely walk away.

In Macau, it would not be advisable to take a taxi (unless of course you are going from north to far south or vice versa) because shuttle buses to the other hotels are plenty. Just hop in and out if you want to see what the other grand hotels look like and to stroll along nearby attractions.

Coming in from the ferry terminal, we waited longer than usual for the free shuttle service as we were not able to see the hotel's name immediately. We saw Hotel Lisboa but didn't know that this was the same bus and that its owner is the same as Hotel Sintra's. Tip: The shuttle bus is not as big as that of Wynn or Grand Lisboa or Sands, colored maroon/burgundy and the hotel's name is displayed on the side glass windows. During our visit, there were slight changes for the bus stops because Macau was busy preparing for the grand prix happening the coming week.

Minor complaints: we did not use the comforter provided by the hotel for the baby cot because of the overwhelming smell of bleach (probably due to storage and seldom usage) and opted to use the comforter on our bed as my baby's bedding instead. Yes, just like in some of the reviews, we were given a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor but we can smell cigarette smoke along the corridor! We even saw cigarette butts in the trash bin near the elevators. Also, there was no ramp for luggage or stroller or wheelchair. Actually, the hotel has one but for some reason it is not being used.

Nevertheless, we would love to stay here again for our next visit and has recommended it to our friends already.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with no interconnecting door and facing the Grand Lisboa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almacedillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 775 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

As mentioned mostly on the reviews, this hotel has one of the best location if you're after the tourist spots in the Senado Square area.

Taxi from airport costs around $50 without luggage.

We were upgrade from Standard to Deluxe upon check-in, no hassles using the booking online. Room rates are not expensive even though we booked during a holiday (for PH and SG)

There were complimentary fruits and water is replenished everyday. The room is big enough for four people and there is a couch.

We were in the 11th floor and we have a good view. Shuttle buses are in front, one going to City of Dreams and the other to the Ferry terminal.

I will try different hotels next time but I would recommend this hotel for first-time travelers who wants a free and easy travel around Macau.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyionnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose the hotel because it was recommended by several friends. We stayed for three nights. Check-in procedure went smoothly which was much appreciated as we arrived at the hotel around 10 PM and very hungry... we had a late dinner at a nearby restaurant - another plus in the hotel's location... hotel is also near a number of tourist attractions... hotel staff were friendly and quite helpful... only a very minor flaw was the smell of cigarette smoke in the elevator and sometimes in our hallway which was supposed to be a non-smoking floor (not sure though if it came from smoking floor through the elevator)... nevertheless, I will still highly recommend the hotel to friends and family...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureLoverPHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I'd definitely stay here again. It got a very good location, it's reasonably priced and the rooms are clean. It's just 5-minute walk to Senado Square; just turn left from the end of hotel and go straight. The Senado Square is on the right side. Going to The Venetian is easy! The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Take the City of Dreams bus, it takes you across The Venetian. Going back is so easy as well. From the City of Dreams (from where you had gone down from the bus, it's on the lower ground), there's a bus with Sintra Hotel signage that brings you to the hotel. Breakfast is okay, enough selection. But I wished there was rice. They also offer free shuttle service to/from ferry terminal. Definitely staying here again when I go back to Macau.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbbyOchoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

When I first booked this hotel, I do have some doubts as I have not heard about the name before as compared to Wynn, MGM or Venetian. However, I decided to go with it based on the pics in agoda and most importantly the more affordable price (about RM250 (~USD 80) per night, which was decent in Macau unless you prefer a hostel).

Location-wise, this hotel is located in the center of all attractions. Ruins of St Paul and Senado sq are all within walking distance. Also, there is shuttle bus running to Cotai island where the major hotels are (Venetian, Hard Rock etc) and back, all FOC. The shuttle stop is right in front of the hotel. Besides that, there's also a shuttle bus running to the macau ferry terminal, also FOC! Basically, we spent nothing on transportation in Macau due to this wonderful shuttle service.

As for the hotel, size is decent for a double-size bed. It's clean, decent and comfortable, definitely good for the price.

Would highly recommend this to couples and family!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaiyeen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

it's great location and not far from Senado Square, St.Paul ruins, Other churches, Casino Lisboa, Grand Lisboa and other casinos.
Easy to go to Cafe Margaret (Famous for egg tart but closed in Wednesday). Senado Square is famous of steam milk and Macau Pork Chop Bread.
I stayed for 1 night, Standard room. I reserved from hotel's website. it's easy and safe for me. The room is big and clean, bed is comfortable, all hotel staff is very nice and more helpful. The restroom at first floor is very clean and comfortable.

The hotel has free shuttle bus from port and free shuttle bus to go to city of dream.

Recommended this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily_L996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in macau. Location is just opposite grand emperor hotel and new yaohan. At the hotel entrance, there is shuttle bus to city of dreams. Hotel room is very spacious and our window view is facing emperor hotel which is so fantastic. Location is easily access to Cafe Margaret (famous for egg tart), Senado square and the famous steam milk (yishun dairy cafe). I will definitely choose this hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panda_22005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#43 of 94 in Macau
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 94 in Macau
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#15 of 94 in Macau
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#38 of 94 in Macau
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#39 of 94 in Macau
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra

Address: Avenida De Joao IV, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $93 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sintra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel with spectacular view of Praia Grande Bay, within walking distance of Casino & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sintra Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing