We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience....”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a good experience....”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hubby and I decided to make a change from the Venetian. The wait for the bus from the ferry terminal was endless. The bus was small and there was no place for luggage storage. We were dropped off at the back of the hotel and had to walk through an endless maze to get to the main reception desk. The hotel staff are polite and helpful though. Restaurants were all full so we ordered room service....food was good but very overpriced HKD705.00 for dinner and HKD380.00 for breakfast...and food was cold. The room was very smelly. Bed cover was grubby although the sheets underneath were clean. Bed was not comfortable...poor quality. The hotel was full of prostitutes and noisy young men...not a family or couples type of place.....casino's were scattered all through the hotel and the machines were are the same...boring gambling experience....will not use this hotel again.....false economy.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    576
    148
    25
    5
See reviews for
158
232
164
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

As one of the "Grand Dame" of Macau, you have to take its charms into account. Unfortunately, it does not means grand airy lobbies but more on the intricate of the detailing of the floor, ceiling and hallways. Aside from that, everything is pretty much a stand still. The room is decor dated back to 80's with kinky 90's jacuzzi jets for the bathroom. I can't quite make it out if I like the busy patterns on the drapes or the blue color of the rugs. It tries to have Portuguese influences but it look more like my grandma bedroom (no disrespect here).

The check-in is in a tight spot and the service is one of the longest that I have seen. I must be there close to 40 minutes before finally taken cared off. In return, the staff are quite courteous.

At night, there are a few pimps outside the hotel door so do take care if you have family traveling with you.

Gambling is much better at the Wynn or the Grand Lisboa across the street. Not to mention the food in the Grand Lisboa is superb, you have 2 Michelin rated and 1 honorable mentioned restaurants there. If you are not there for gambling, you should try out the food.

The location of the Lisboa is the reason why I chose the hotel, it is close enough to the old historic sites so you can walk there very easily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terravisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It has always been very good staying in this hotel. I have been to Macau a number of times since 2007. Had stayed in Golden Dragon, Holiday Inn, Venetian Hotel, Wynn and Lisboa. This is actually our 4th stay in Lisboa Hotel. Location is perfect and is walking distance to New Yaohan Department store, Senado Square (Shopping), Ruin's of Saint Paul, Holy House of Mercy, St. Dominic's church, Na Cha Temple, Mount Fortress and other interesting historic bulidings within the area. The hotel itself has it's own casino but if you want more other casinos, adjacent is Grand Lisboa, walking distant are Wynn, Star World, MGM, Fortuna, Grand Emperor and Holiday Inn. The hotel also offers free shuttle so roaming around Macau for free is possible. Lisboa maybe an old hotel, it's room has old chinese decor but with modern technology. The shower has special features such as jets, steam bath, foot massage, radio and you can even turn the bath tub into jacuzzi. Great ameneties provided for the bathroom. With good toiletries, slippers and bath robes provided for a comfortable stay. Room was spacious and had a good view overlooking the Macau Tower/Lake view. At night the sight becomes spectacular with all the colorful lights from the buildings. Bed is large and a little hard but comfortable. Always had fresh bed linens and towels. Stayed for 8 days and there was a day that the cleaners had missed some spots during their clean up (I assume that they forgot to vacuum during that day) but overall good in cleanliness during our stay. The room comes with a free minibar which is a plus. We ate in the restaurants within the hotel like Noite e dia Cafe and Palacio Lisboa. They also have a cakes and pastry shop which offers delicious treats. I suggest for better food and taste go to the Grand Lisboa and try Noodles and Congee Corner, Round the clock coffee shop or try the Grand Buffet coz it is worth it. Room service was effecient and they were cheerful and helpul to our needs. It also offers free wifi with good speed. I am sure that when we go back to Macau this hotel will definitely be on our list again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hanabanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Macau, a city full of casinos, gamblers and portuguese reminiscence. Lisboa is a portuguese name of Portugal's capital city, Lisbon. Lisboa hotel, although is pretty old, lives up to the modern international standards. Such is the impression left by this hotel that Macau considers this establishment as one of its monumental figures. No wonder you will find this hotel been inscribed in Macau postcards, refrigerator magnets and also popping up in Google images on searching "Macau". The hotel is a sister unit of the massive and pompous Grand Lisboa and lies opposite to it.The hotel looks a bit old but it hasn't compromised in any of its facilities and everything is kept very up-to-date.Me and my wife stayed here for 3 nights and the room we had was very neat and had a lovely view of the Wynn hotel from our windows. We were able to view the spectacular dancing water fountain of the Wynn. Hotel provides a free minibar which gets replenished every morning. The wi-fi had a good speed without any interruptions. The TV had most of the local channels, very few english. I would also like to caution you that they play 2-3 adult channels which contains nudity. If you are travelling with kids, you need to be careful about this. The bath was great and the hotel provides the essential toiletries. Room service was excellent and they made the room everyday. The tea bags provided at the room were good. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good sleep. This hotel has a casino at its ground floor. Many ppl have commented about scantily dressed girls moving around the hotel, mostly in the ground floors. These are female escorts, accompaning their clients and they never bother any guest. There is absolutely nothing to be concerned of. The hotel provides free shuttle service to the ferry terminals. Its just a 5 mins walk to Senado Square, the bustling area with tourists. In between, you also come across the Margaret's cafe, a popular outlet for having breakfast and egg tart's. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tripperTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ok so the good first.

Room was very nice. Free use of mini-bar (although mainly soft drinks), very nice bathroom, view was good. We had an issue with a small part of the shower and this was fixed immediately and politely. Check in was quick and easy. There are loads of staff around to assist you which is good because....

The only negatives are the layout of the hotel and the signposting. I think of myself as someone with a very good sense of direction but it was a nightmare finding where we wanted to go. lots of corridors that look the same I felt like I was in the Shining! I know casinos are meant to be hard to get out of but this was ridiculous. As mentioned in other reviews there are lots of scantily glad women walking around the lower floors and I'm guessing they weren't guests:) The bed was very hard as well.

The hotel is located on the North part of Macau easily accessible by free minibus from the Ferry Port. Stay on this side for the more historical areas.It's around 50$ to get to the big casinos on the south part.

Room Tip: Request to stay high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire_pad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I recently spent two days in Macau. The Hotel Lisboa is a great choice. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great (right outside is a main bus area), and the restaurant was fantastic. Yes, the hotel room is outdated (think 1970's wood paneling look), but the beds are comfy, the amenities are great and the shower has jets and a built-in radio! The mini bar is free, although there were not a lot of options, it is something most hotels do not offer. The free wifi was also fast and reliable at all times.

We asked for a late check out and was given one without any questions asked. When we tried to get back into our room, the key didn't work. The staff was very kind and apologetic, and promptly fixed the situation with a new key. The clean, comfy, and spacious room is great. If you are someone who needs new and modern decor, this is NOT where you should stay. If you can appreciate the value of your money's worth, then this hotel is perfect. I will stay there again when I return to Macau.

Room Tip: We had a room near the elevator, and you could hear people, so maybe one farther down the hall would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannajomeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good location. Old style hotel but has been renovated so the fittings in the room are new. The hotel is massive, we got lost a few times and inevitably ended up in the basement level where there were more prostitutes than hotel guests! They left us alone because we were a couple but we felt out numbered!

Service was very good – it seemed no request was too much hassle for the staff. There was no issue when we asked to change to a non-smoking room. We didn’t know when we booked that all Standard rooms were smoking. They upgraded us to a Deluxe room with bridge/harbour view at no extra cost. On our way to the room we heard baby crying from next door as we walked pass. We exchanged a look but said nothing. The porter saw it and volunteered, in broken English that if the noise bothers us later on we could contact the reception to get a different room. Also there was no hassle when we phoned in the morning to ask for a late check out.

Free shuttle bus to and from the ferry terminal was handy.

The well known Portuguese egg tart place Margaret’s Café e Nata is close by. It’s tucked away in a back alley so better ask for directions before you set out to look for it.

Room Tip: Recommend to try the steam shower. Very much like steam room in some gyms but it’s in the privacy of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LZ_Aussie_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#30 of 95 in Macau
1,317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Lisboa
Grand Lisboa
#42 of 95 in Macau
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Macau

Property: Hotel Lisboa Macau
Address: 2-4 Avenida De Lisboa, Macau, China (Formerly Lisboa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#10 Casino Hotel in Macau
#14 Family Hotel in Macau
#14 Spa Hotel in Macau
#19 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#20 Business Hotel in Macau
#22 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lisboa Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 927
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1970, Hotel Lisboa is a fixture in the Macau skyline and has the longest and richest presence in Macau's hospitality history. The hotel features a lavish mix of Portuguese and Chinese interior décors, and also houses Dr. Stanley Ho's extensive private collection of priceless art pieces. Hotel Lisboa offers approximately 1,000 luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet dining experiences with an extensive wine collection of over 16,700 labels, share between 13 restaurants and lounges in Lisboa Hotels Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing