We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll have to be in the mood for this.”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You'll have to be in the mood for this.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Lisboa is the grande dame of Macau, the one that used to be the ne plus ultra forty years ago but now is just like a lounge singer past her prime. She still entertains, but not quite as sexy as she once was. This isn't a five-star place, no. Still, you'll get a large room with everything you need for a price much below the newer grande dames.

My first view of the lobby knocked me flat. There's no describing it. Gilded rococo style in shiny, almost gold color, a theme that continues throughout. The downstairs common/shopping/eating areas are massive--you almost need a guide. I constantly got lost. My room was in the East Tower, and it rocked. Tons of space. Brassy kitsch, but not so much as to be a turn-off. The colors were gold, red, and wood. The bed seemed made for a minor king, with a red and gold comforter, red and gold throw pillows, and a carved wooden headboard. A red couch sat in front of my large picture window framed by red and gold curtains. Two red and gold striped curved low armchairs flanked the couch. The effect was dizzying. The bathroom was more functional and less decorative, with Hermés toiletries and lots of glass and mirrors.

The bellboy informed me that all things are free--the stuff in my minibar (including the beer) and the channels on my TV (including the porn). The location is quite good, next to the new section (where the MGM Grand et al lives) and the old (totally walkable to St. Pauls's and Senado Square. Still, the roads around the hotel aren't good for walking and are confusing in their direction. But you'll make it.

The downside is that the basement level is full of prostitutes, who walk back and forth all day long, cruising, so much they're nicknamed "racetrack girls". They seem to have permanent rooms on the eight floor, where they must do their business. Half the time in the elevator, one was already in there, going up or coming back down. They never bothered or even looked at me.

Room Tip: Rooms are much more expensive on the weekends. Weekdays are an excellent value. Other people have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    576
    148
    25
    5
See reviews for
158
232
164
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lisboa is centrally located, just across Wynn. Walking distance to Senado, Ruins of St Paul, etc. Buses, restaurants, even local groceries are just around the corner. I just love the convenience of its location. Although the hotel is old, the rooms are well maintained and the beds are comfortable. Every bottle/can of drinks in the fridge are free. I did not see any of the "girls" in the 3 days my family spent there as I never went near the casinos, so I have no comments on those 2 items.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blooms_gardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

While the staff tried to make us feel good, and the rooms are reasonable, they could not make up for the general impression of a hellish place with non guests roaming the corridors in search of the special services offered by this place. Never again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is an icon of Macao and I visited Macao many and always wanted to try it. The decoration of the hall is really beautiful. The decoration in the corridors are a bit old but it is fine as the bedroom as its unique setting with lots of gold in the bathroom. The staff is very competent and help me to change my ticket ferry date even if I didn't buy it with them. Also it's location close to the city historical centre makes it convenient and possible to visit the city while walking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

hotel is old but room is good ,clean and valuable, only concern is too many chicken in hotel lobby . also gambling place is too old, the new Lisboa Hotel is much better. however, it's good place to stay and valuable. location is also good in Macao, you can walk to some famous places. i do recommend this hotel for stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed there over the weekend. The hotel caters to mainly tourists from mainland China who are in Macau for the casinos and nightlife. The rooms are a tired and the bathrooms quite cramped. Sleeping at night was an issue as we could hear people walking up and down the corridor on the way back from a night in the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Let's start with the asset of this hotel , it's a big one, its location ...

let's continue with the rest which is far less convincing :
dated rooms : seriously it looks like a set from a kitch 70 movie like one of those Roger Moore James Bond. rooms are run down.

the setting of the hotel is very confusing because the hotel was built over the course of 20 years with wings & towers being added year after year.

The bathroom is the only room of the hotel that was renovated but it didn't like it. Check the photos. the high tech shower with all those useless buttons, i didn't know how to use it and i didn't have the time at 9AM before taking my flight to spent 15' learning how to use it ...

The only good thing is the minibar, you can consume all you want for free ...

Finally they ripped me off ... I was in a windowless room. Well there was a window but they had put some kind of protection over it (some kind of dark plastic) so not a single sunlight could come in, and I couldn't at all see what was going on outside. Being in a windowless room made me oppressed.

Finally all day long, I heard construction noises. There was some kind of demolition going on, and i heard "parts" falling and making noises on the covered windows and the walls all day long.

Probably my worst night of 2012.

And probably my worst experience in Macau. I have visited at least 20 hotels in Macau (see my profile) and spent in total maybe 150 nights in Macau over the past 4 years. (I'm a gambler!)

so to sum up :
run down rooms
poor value for money
bad bed
not very honnest people that rent rooms that shouldn't be rent because of construction work

so overall it's safe to assume that I wouldn't even recommand this hotel to my worst enemy!

If you want to go "Lisboa" just go to the Grand Lisboa on the other side of the street.
it's brand new and has a fantastic restaurant "Robuchon au Dome".

Room Tip: tip for a good room? humm let's me think ... well there are no good rooms there, so no tip : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR_MOJITO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#30 of 95 in Macau
1,317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Lisboa
Grand Lisboa
#40 of 95 in Macau
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Macau

Property: Hotel Lisboa Macau
Address: 2-4 Avenida De Lisboa, Macau, China (Formerly Lisboa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#10 Casino Hotel in Macau
#14 Family Hotel in Macau
#14 Spa Hotel in Macau
#19 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#20 Business Hotel in Macau
#22 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lisboa Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 927
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1970, Hotel Lisboa is a fixture in the Macau skyline and has the longest and richest presence in Macau's hospitality history. The hotel features a lavish mix of Portuguese and Chinese interior décors, and also houses Dr. Stanley Ho's extensive private collection of priceless art pieces. Hotel Lisboa offers approximately 1,000 luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet dining experiences with an extensive wine collection of over 16,700 labels, share between 13 restaurants and lounges in Lisboa Hotels Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing