We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above my expectations”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Ranked #24 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I booked this hotel because of my budget and it's location. Was quite worried as this a rather old hotel. But I was very happy with stay, way above my expectations. I've booked 3 Standard East Wing rooms but got an upgrade to Deluxe rooms.

The room deco is out-dated but it's extremely clean. The bathroom comes with a very high-tech bathtub. They have maintained the room very clean and nice. I love the free Wifi which is pretty fast and enjoyed the free drinks. The only minus point is their beds are quite hard.

Location is fantastic, just 10 minutes walk to Senado Square. But on a hot summer day, the walk seems like hours. Enjoyed the Grand Buffet at Grand Lisboa which they have a connecting bridge, fully air-cond. I had this buffet 2 years ago, I noticed their food quality has dropped.

Overall, me and my family had a great stay. Totally worth the price we paid!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank emmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

I agree with most people, an older casino with rooms where the bathrooms have had a make over. The kids found it funny with the pros doing laps 24/7 down stairs. They have a real nice little bakery near the reservations desk with the free inroom drinks breakfast is done.

The old lady whom brought us ice at night was fast but needs to smile a bit :)

No probs with check in/out

The test i guess is would i return, well for the price yes.

Room Tip: The non smoking floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

There is a free shuttle bus from and to the ferry terminal, which leaves about every 20 to 30 minutes and take about 10 minutes.

The hotel is showing its age a bit on the outside, but the inside is well maintained and my room was fine and fairly up to date.

Check in was efficient and I was offered an upgrade to a Royal tower room, as I wanted a non-smoking room, but it was not available when I checked in so I stayed with my deluxe room. Its interior was fine and clean and like the rest of the hotel quaint! Now I do like a bed with support but this was just a little tooooo solid for me, hardly any give at all. However, once you got used to it, it was not too bad during the night.

The bath room was wonderful with mosaic tiles on the floor and on the wall. The bath, come shower, come steam bath was something else. You need an engineering degree or Ph.D. to work this one. However, it does come with all the mod cons light, radio and hot and cold running water out of a rainfall shower, hand held shower head, foot massager and also directly into the bath and has steam too. However, once you get the hang of it it is not too bad.

The “public areas” of the hotel are generally over the top with big glass chandeliers, highly polished floors that you can almost see your face in, and art scattered around in cabinets, it just has to be seen to be believed. I had come here on a guided day trip from Hong Kong and thought this is the place to stay. You have a choice of restaurants in the hotel for any palate and a choice of Casino on the property or you can go over the walk way into the Grand Lisbao if you are interested, which is why most people come here. In fact there are probably 10 or so within 200 M of here, and more on the other islands that make up Macau so lots of choice as the Special Administrative Region makes about 70% of its GDP from gambling!!!

There are a wide range of shops in the hotel where you can buy beverages, fresh fruit, cigarettes, sweets, glasses & jewellery etc. If you go down onto the ground floor shopping arcade there are other things for sale too, so if this bothers you, best to keep away from here, otherwise they are lovely eye candy at least, while you buy a packet of cherries or your 20 cigarettes.

I had breakfast in the hotel which was fine with a good selection of Western & Asian options to chose from. Most people around the hotel could speak a bit of English but a little Cantonese is useful too, and always produces a friendly smile when you try!

So if you are looking for a hotel with a difference this could be one for you. My deluxe room was fine and comfortable, once I got over how hard the bed was! The staff were friendly and helped when they could.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room this seems to get you an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pair211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed there with a couple of friends, got good rooms (with a free upgrade!), the rooms were really good, the bathroom magic.
I just could not locate the swimming pool as it was leading to a very small pool.
However, it's well located and quite easy to access to the middle of Macau and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Luc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Yes, the public areas are COMPLETELY over-the-top with chandeliers, gold tiles etc. (not to mention the pretty girls !) but that shouldn't detract from the fact that this is a very comfortable hotel in a great location.

We stayed in the West Wing and I think we received a room upgrade when we checked in. We asked for a no-smoking room but I don't think the hotel has them. The receptionist said that the room had been given a 'smoking treatment' to remove the smells. You could tell that someone had smoked in the room at some point but it really wasn't a problem.

The furnishings in the room were really nice as was the bathroom with jet bath and shower combo!

We ordered room service one night and the food was good & reasonably priced.

One observation is that the lobby area is difficult to navigate as it is very big and the signs are confusing.

Location is ideal if you want to do some sight-seeing and are not just in Macau to visit casinos. There is also a free shuttle-bus to and from the ferry.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walsined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with bunch of friends. A pretty aged hotel but the incoming stream of gambling income keep this place well maintained. The whole intention staying here is to spend time in the casino, location wise is pretty strategic in the city. 10 mins walk to Margaret Caffe which serve the famous egg tarts and 5 mins further walking to Senado Square to see some Portuguese legacy. Free shuttle is available to both airport and ferry terminal, which we were departing to Hong Kong for day-trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I think it was great except for the service in restaurants. There are also prostitutes walking around so be aware.
I was happy that their rooms were nice and there was a pool and internet connection. Overall, I felt satisfied.
Like I said, the service at restaurant was bad but the service of hotel was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiyeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Lisboa
Grand Lisboa
#38 of 94 in Macau
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#31 of 94 in Macau
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#13 of 94 in Macau
485 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Macau

Address: 2-4 Avenida De Lisboa, Macau, China (Formerly Lisboa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#13 Casino Hotel in Macau
#14 Family Hotel in Macau
#16 Spa Hotel in Macau
#19 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#20 Business Hotel in Macau
#23 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $99 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lisboa Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 927
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1970, Hotel Lisboa is a fixture in the Macau skyline and has the longest and richest presence in Macau's hospitality history. The hotel features a lavish mix of Portuguese and Chinese interior décors, and also houses Dr. Stanley Ho's extensive private collection of priceless art pieces. Hotel Lisboa offers approximately 1,000 luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet dining experiences with an extensive wine collection of over 16,700 labels, share between 13 restaurants and lounges in Lisboa Hotels Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing