We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beverly Plaza
Ranked #54 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quite Disappointed”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

There is a shared shuttle bus from the ferry terminal, but there was no staff present nor signs indicating the pick-up location. We stuck around trying to find out which bus to take and finally gave up, opting for one of the van drivers who offered to take us all to the hotel (7 of us) for HKD150. The size of the rooms are acceptable. Had booked a suite thinking that the 2 families travelling together would be able to get together at a common area. Turned out that an additional door was simply added to the corridor, sealing off the 2 rooms. The beds were hard, like plywood, so the stay was very uncomfortable. Had asked specifically for non-smoking room, but the entire hotel reeked of cigarette smell as many of the guests disregard the no-smoking policy. Its proximity to the main bus station and the casinos may actually be the factors that continue to draw guests there.

Room Tip: Higher floors from 10 and beyond have rooms with wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buaytahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    266
    125
    28
    14
See reviews for
27
26
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My buddy booked this hotel about a month before we stayed there for one night in Macau thru Agoda. I seriously think that either this hotel has a great relationship with Agoda, or the hotel is hiring people to write great comments about their hotel. We paid roughly 180 USD for one night basic room double on a Saturday night, and it might have been one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. The pictures are nothing like what they present on their website or Agoda's. This hotel is old, has horrible service and the location is overrated. The area is near the Wynn and Grand Lisboa for easy walking distance, and we did gamble a little there, but there is nothing else around. Tons of jewlery and pawn shops and nowhere really to eat or grab a coffee. The TV was broken in our room, the beds are hard as a rock, furniture is super old. I felt like I was in the 1970's, and not in a good way. If the hotel was 100 USD, I would say ok, as it is a budget hotel, but anything more then that, go find another hotel.

Room Tip: Go book a room in a U.S. or international chain hotel. You might pay a little more, but you know exa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macau hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We got off to a really bad start with this hotel. We arrived at the Macau Outer Harbour Ferry Terminal from Hong Kong during a wild rainstorm, with the promise that the hotel shuttle picked up every 15 minutes from this location. A very wet hour and a phone call to the hotel later, no shuttle had turned up; so we caught the Lisboa's bus and walked from their casino to the Beverley Plaza.

Soaking wet and unhappy, but still politely, we told the concierge that the shuttle never turned up. There was no apology, or explanation - just a "so what?" attitude. The check-in staff were equally ambivalent.

The room was large enough, but smelled of smoke. The bed was hard. The bathroom grout was mouldy and the shower curtain was filthy and mouldy. The best that could be said for the bathroom was that the hair conditioner was nice.

We loved Macau, and the staff in some of the restaurants in the neighbourhood of the Beverley Plaza were delightful. But I would give this unfriendly, unhelpful, overpriced hotel a miss!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoH883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is good as its within walking distance to Lisboa Casino and 5 minutes walk to the old Portuguese town of Macau. The price was very expensive for what we were offered a room no wifi and the mattress terrible. The bathroom smelled and the room even though we asked for a non smoking room smelled like tobacco. The staff were not very friendly and I dare not ask them a question as they could be rude. The only reason why I would come back to this hotel is because the location is so good

Room Tip: Insist on a room with wifi if you require wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and for the money I thought it was ok. This time April 2013 I find it has gone completely down hill. No or little English spoken. Although this hotel is suppose to be non smoking and I specified a non smoking room the room reeks of smoke. The non smoking rules are completely ignored by the Chinese. This hotel seems to now cater to the low budget mainland Chinese. I could go on. Don't stay at this hotel there are newer better serviced hotels for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelasiareporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is quite nice, and in a good location, but that's about where it ends. The staff are inept, rude and completely unhelpful. The room was great, large and spacious, but, it was so cold in the room, I had to wear a hoodie to bed and all the time I was in the room. The bed was so hard, along with the temperature in the room and the staff, I felt like I was in a morgue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a disappointment this hotel turned out to be. It definitely does not warrant a 4 star listing
.The mattressess on the beds were so hard they equated to the granite benches in the parks. There was not one inch of give in them.We both suffered from aching and sore joints after the first night. Of the 2 pillows provided, one felt as though it was filled with golf balls whilst the other with polystyrene chippings. Apart from a very small cubby hole/wardrobe there was no storage space for belongings, no chest of drawers, not even a drawer in the bedside table. We lived out of a suitcase for a week. There was no separate shower, only a dirty plastic shower curtain round the bath. The grouting between the tiles was filthy and the floor round the bath was disgusting
The free wi fi was only available in the generally noisy reception area that only had two grubby sofas on which to sit. We could have wi fi in our bedroom if we upgraded to a superior room. The price was usually 600 dollars per night more but we were offered it for 300 which we declined. Frustratingly our tablet picked up connections in our room but we could not obtain the passwords. If you are not Asian the breakfasts were minimal. The "orange juice" tasted like watery orange squash. Cereal consisted of a choice of 2 -corn flakes and allbran or rice krispies. The "best before"date on the sachets of marmalade was 6 months out of date. No "western" cooked breakfasts available.
.The staff were generally polite and tried to be helpful, but their lack of understanding and speaking English made for poor communication. Apart from a tourist map there was no other information about Macau available in English.
Macau was lovely - the hotel was not.

Room Tip: Don't book any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#57 of 95 in Macau
1,322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 95 in Macau
555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
1,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 95 in Macau
1,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Macau
Holiday Inn Macau
#34 of 95 in Macau
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beverly Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beverly Plaza

Property: Hotel Beverly Plaza
Address: No.70-106 Avenida Do Dr Rodrigo Rodrigues, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beverly Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 19-story Hotel situated next to Lisboa Casino, opposite Exhibition Center & Forum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Beverly Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Plaza Hotel
Beverly Plaza Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing