We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but minor improvements needed”
Review of Holiday Inn Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Macau
Ranked #33 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We got an upgrade from a Standard to a Deluxe.

The rooms were great !! Loved it. However the walls are too thin, I could hear conversations from the room next door.

Facilities wise, the room was good. Everything that needed to be there was available. The card security access to the room floors was an added bonus. The King size bed is awesome and the pillows are one of the best I've experienced in any hotel.

The TV could be better. There were often disruptions to the cable though not severe. The internet was charged at HK160 for 24 hours .. and the wi-fi reception was good. The non-foggy mirror in the bathroom was a detail most appreciated.

Personally, I think they should close the entrance to the casino from the hotel lift lobby. The smell of cigarette smoke from the casino to the hotel lobby is annoying, being a smoker myself.

Location wise, this hotel is near to what we wanted to go to. The Great Lisboa, Wynn Resort Hotels, Sands are nearby. So too is Senado Square and St Paul's Church. The Venetian, Hard Rock Hotel and City of Dreams is about 15 minutes away by cab and would cost HK$60.

The staff was fantastic. Kudos to them for providing whatever info we needed and how to get around. Everyone spoke understandable English. Special thanks goes to the Frascati Cafe staff .. we had 2 meals there (Dinner and Lunch) and the prices were very affordable.

For the price we paid .. its an absolutely joy to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShahrilHarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 622 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

It's a bit old and the bathroom is quite yucky. No internet in room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

we stayed at holiday inn only for 1 nite, but we enjoyed it the most..the location is beyond expectation, for one called mid-range hotel its location is definitely not mid-range, all of the concierges are very helpful and nice and they knew a lot of information for first time traveller like us :) we happened to know that we had to arrange for our travel back to the ferry terminal by ourselves, but because it only took about 5-10 minutes from this hotel (and no charge by using the shuttle bus) we managed to enjoy some quick visits to macau's famous sites right before we had to sail by ferry

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ria_ria_ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We chose this hotel primarily because of the room with 2 double beds. Check-in was fast, and we were given one of their newly-renovated rooms.

ROOM
The room is quite cramped, especially with the two double beds, but all 4 of us in the family (4 adults) were able to sleep comfortably. Beddings were similar to other Holiday Inn hotels in China.

FOOD
Breakfast buffet was worth the price, and I like the food selection (Chinese/Western).

LOCATION
Wynn and Lisboa just a short walk away. Cheap restaurants and convenience stores surround the hotel.

PRICE
Expensive compared to other hotels in the area, but with the 2 double beds, the room was worth the price. We were able to book early though so we got a good rate. (900MOP per room with 2 double beds)

SERVICE
Great! Lots of Filipino staff that can speak English very well. Service was personal and they were very approachable.

TRANSPORTATION
Shuttle Bus from the Macau Ferry Terminal is provided. Quick and Easy.

Would I stay here again? Yes, only if I need a room with two double beds. But for couples, I would recommend other cheaper hotels like Hotel Sintra (600MOP per room with one Queen Size bed).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank changky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

This hotel is typical Holiday Inn, its fine and has a small pool and Jacuzzi. The rooms are in need of a refresh but the buffet dinner is excellent good schoice all you cna eat and includes beer!! The location is good within walking distnace of all the big casinos, water front and GP circuit. The ferry terminal and tower are a short taxi or longer walk! The hotel is fine but stay more if you get a good rate than if expecting luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norrisg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

the best thing about this hotel is, you can request for a room facing the lake and see the cybernetic fountain show. in macau, we liked the cybernetic fountain the most. the hotel is good for macau standards. though the bathrooms could be cleaner. the rooms are spacious and staff is all right .

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prash25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Hotel is so smokey.The management should at least have the lobby fumigated in the evening. As soon as you pass the lobby and go up to our room, I had to wash my hair.My shirt smelled and it feels like I had been smoking myself. The room looked nice. As soon as my husband and I opened the drapes, there were finger prints in the windows.
The vanity mirror was full of smudges. The desk clerk who checked as in said that the room was newly renovated. The carpet looked worn out. There was mold buildup around the sink and the tub. The duvet had a big torn when we had discovered on our second night. The houskeeper did not do a good job in cleaning the room. The good side are the staff. Joselito from the bar was exteremely friendly. He helped us on all our inquiries about Macau. Jason from the Concierge was very professional. Always smiling and greeting us with a smile when he sees us. Keep those two staff as they are such good personnel who makes the hotel stand up.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller69094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#16 of 94 in Macau
228 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,374 reviews
0 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#61 of 94 in Macau
1,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Macau

Address: No.82-86 Rua de Pequim, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $101 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Macau 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the new business district, the Holiday Inn Macau is the only international four-star property in this vibrant city. Close to both the Macau-Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and the city centre, the hotel is accessible by public transportation. With its recent refurbishment, the hotel has a contemporary design providing a very friendly and casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing