We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel in Macau”
Review of Holiday Inn Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Macau
Ranked #33 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average Hotel in Macau”
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Just stayed there on May 22 & 23, 2009 on Point Break. The hotel is walking distance to Grand Lisboa, Wynn and MGM. 24 hours SuperMarket across from the hotel. 10 minutes walk to New Yoahan which has great a food court on 9th floor.

I am a Platinum and I didn't received an upgrade. Stayed in room 1808. I felt the room was old and tired and in needed of renovations,

I would not stay there again.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ck10256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    278
    143
    31
    20
See reviews for
122
123
69
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I am happy with my stay at the hotel. It is nearby to all the major casinos. Restaurants are just opposite the hotel that open whenever I am there (not sure if it is 24 hours). Food is nice and price is quite reasonable. Security is quite good with the police station just opposite the hotel. ATM machine is also just outside the bank. 7 Eleven stores are nearby.

The 2 double bed rooms are spacious and clean. Design and colour scheme are quite standard across Holiday Inn hotel chains. I got a cheaper rate using the advance purchase internet option so it is not expensive compared to the other hotels for the brand name.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_of_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Great place to be in macau. Clean and comfortable! Easy to walk every attractions. Not expensive and specially in this city.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krak
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

perfectly ok hotel with no frills..good location,cheap

  • Liked — location,price
  • Disliked — a bit normal for Macau
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank currypata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
268 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Macau for four nights. The hotel is centrally located in Macau, being about 20 minutes from the colonial center of the city, 10 minutes from the huge 5 star casinos and 10 minutes by shuttle from the marine terminal. The hotel provides free shuttle service every half hour to the marine terminal. Our room was large, well appointed and clean on the non-smoking floor. We asked to change from the initial room on the smoking floor, even though it was a bit larger, the smoke smell overwhelmed us.

Staff was helpful and accommodating. The pool area was very clean and well kept. The water was warm and the hot tub was great. Breakfast though was a bit of a disappointment. The buffet was cool and we expected more variety in the daily menu. There was plentiful choice though and the coffee was very good.

We would recommend this hotel due to its price, location and service. The price we paid was very good value for the services we received.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

the choice of hotel in macao depends on the reason of the visit: business, leisure

if your reason is business (like mine) there are other hotels of better choice (similar price). simply choose an hotel that is far from casino clients. holiday inn macao is full of casino clients, that are noisy. nothing to do with people visiting macao for business.

rooms are OK, but bathroom is old looking and need urgent renovation (better tiles, shower, taps, sanitary ware etc).

restaurant is not good. better dining out in macao.
sauna, steam room etc not good.

internet is not free

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelemodena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

This isn't a bad place to stay for the money. It's less than a five minute walk to the Wynn. Food at the hotel wasn't great. When you walk in, the lobby and lounge areas look run down and seedy. I was nervous at first. I happen to get an upgrade, however, and the room was fantastic. Everything in it looked new. Can't say if the regular rooms would be this nice.

The neighborhood that the hotel is in is 100% Chinese. No western restaurants or anything. Lots of hookers, but hey, it's Macau. It didn't seem unsafe though. And it is only minutes away from the major casinos.

  • Liked — My room was great
  • Disliked — The Internet service cost 20 USD pe day1
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank who_me0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#34 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Macau

Property: Holiday Inn Macau
Address: No.82-86 Rua de Pequim, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Macau 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the new business district, the Holiday Inn Macau is the only international four-star property in this vibrant city. Close to both the Macau-Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and the city centre, the hotel is accessible by public transportation. With its recent refurbishment, the hotel has a contemporary design providing a very friendly and casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing