We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location in Old Macau”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Macau
Ranked #33 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Location in Old Macau”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Service provided make the difference. Throughout our stay in the hotel from the time we arrived this was noted. The facade and lobby look older but rooms and corridors are newly renovated which gives a new and fresh look. the location is surrounded by some nice hotels and attractions. usual Holiday Inn amenities. The room was comfortable. Service all round was excellent. Breakfast can be better in quality and presentation. we arrived at a time where most of the hotels are sold out in Macau but glad that we made this choice., No doubt will recommend to others their excellent service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rohan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    276
    141
    31
    20
See reviews for
121
123
68
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel is located in the old part of the city but close to many other big hotels. Service was outstanding. We arrived at Macau Ferry Port and the hotel representative made us comfortable by providing the best attention and service until the hotel shuttle bus arrived. When we arrived at the hotel it was same. A smaller lobby with not much lobby area. However the Reception and all the staff around provide the best attentive service to all guests. Rooms are spacious and clean with usual Holiday inn amenities. Corridors are brighter and welcoming. The Breakfast Service and presentation can be better. Overall, a good International hotel with an excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maylene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Wonderful location in a more crowded older part of the city. The real essence of Macao is actually in the older part of the city, not just the new glitzy mega casinos and glamourous hotels.

Upon arrival, be greeted by faux opulence and a huge loud chandelier juxtaposed by t-shirted staffs manning the lobby.
A wonderful surprise, while a waiting for the shuttle bus at check out - a nice Filipino Gentlemen (Bellmen) even offered me a newspaper to read, something big luxury hotels cannot even do sometimes.

Being an older hotel, rooms were wonderfully large with 2 really comfortable queen beds, toilets were equally spacious for Macao/Hkg standards.

Location is excellent but also bearing in mind the concentration of pawn shops around the area. Call girls plying their trades with heavy eye contacts are all but a flutter away the moment you step out of the faux opulent decor"ed" hotel. Entirely up to the individual, this can be good or bad depending on your choice. (wink wink!)

Make use of the hotels, scheduled shuttle bus (Macao Ferry terminal to Hotel to Macao Ferry Terminal). Most larger hotels have shuttle bus services

Room Tip: Their twin beds are two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adcye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

As usual, this hotel gives us a very warm welcome by the executive team. Was very impress with the new renovated room design and bright colors, a vast improvement from the old boring dark colors. The executive club was the best as we enjoyed one of the best cheese cakes we ever had. The location is still the best in Macao, convenient to everything. We ate at the nearby Portugis restaurant , tasty as usual.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dankittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Compared to other unknown cheap hotels (or hostels), if u come with a group of 4, I suggest u to book superior room here (2 double beds) rather than take 2 rooms at other hotels, just make sure while u're going to check-in only 2 of u show up in front of the reception desk, the others could catch up later.
And I think.....the name of Holiday Inn is a quite well-known HOTEL.
We was lucky enough since the room we booked was fully occupied because of our late check-in, we got our room upgraded haha. The breakfast were very good (of course for 2 pax only) it aroused my appetite and I suddenly forgot my "food combining" diet program.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alung_cingkang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I like this hotel, location is great and very easy for you go anywhwere. The staff are very friendly and help me to find exactly the way go to the place i want. But still have the cigarette smell on some area with board "NO SMOKING"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMacau, Holiday Inn Macau at Holiday Inn Macau, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear ValerieNguyen,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience. We are glad that you enjoy the stay with us. And we are also pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our strategic location.

We are delighted by your positive comments and your recommendation especially on our friendly staff which can highly motivate our team to maintain and improve the quality of service in the future.

Please allow us to apologize for the cigarette smell issue you had experience. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services to be flawless and strive to the best of our ability. Therefore, your comment is duly noted and forwarded to appropriate department for future improvement.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Walking distance to most historical sites and to most of the casinos, the Holiday Inn is conveniently located in the heart of Macau old town (and opposite the Police Headquarter too, for added security). Plenty of shopping and food around the hotel ... the vicinity is virtually alive 24/7

Rooms are old but the higher floor rooms were recently refurbished. Basic necessities and amenities are there ...

Room Tip: Avoid the smoking rooms ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMacau, Holiday Inn Macau at Holiday Inn Macau, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Dangoh,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience.

We are glad that you found our location convenient for travel to most historical sites, the central district and casinos, which is only 5-15 minutes walking distance from hotel.

According to the refurbishment, our hotel has been renovating from 2012 with various alterations & addition works in order to improve the comfort for guests.

Thank you again for sharing with us about your stay, we appreciate your feedback as we are always aiming to provide better stay experience for our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 95 in Macau
655 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.5 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Macau

Property: Holiday Inn Macau
Address: No.82-86 Rua de Pequim, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Macau 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the new business district, the Holiday Inn Macau is the only international four-star property in this vibrant city. Close to both the Macau-Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and the city centre, the hotel is accessible by public transportation. With its recent refurbishment, the hotel has a contemporary design providing a very friendly and casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing