We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Rooms, Nice location”
Review of Holiday Inn Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Macau
Ranked #33 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent Rooms, Nice location”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Visited Macau as part 2 of a Hong Kong Macau tour. The location of the hotel was very nice tough in a lane and not on the high street, was only a walk away from the Lisboa and the Grand Lisboa casinos. The casino within the hotel was very basic. The lobby was very small and needed to wait for the elevators as they were mostly crowded. The room were good, but didn't get any view out of the windows as being in a lane you can only see the one across the lane.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndranilChakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    278
    143
    31
    20
See reviews for
122
123
69
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We found the location of this hotel was great - right in the middle of town so you were able to walk to the nearby casinos, and it you wanted to visit Cotai Strip or beyond, it was easy enough to catch a shuttle to the ferry terminal (the hub of the transport system), and jump aboard one of the other complimentary shuttles travelling in that direction.

The staff were very accommodating, particularly in the Frascati Dining Room where we enjoyed breakfast each morning.

Although our room had no view to speak of, it did not bother us as we were out and about and only returned to our room to sleep. Although in the centre of town, we were not disturbed with noise. All other facilities were excellent and above what we would expect in a mid-priced hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Booking
The capacity of the double bedded room is of maximum of 3 pax as such we need to book 2 rooms as we have 4 pax.

Shuttle service
When we reached the Macau ferry terminal, we went looking for the shuttle bus and we are not able to find it. We search for at least 10 mins before my friends saw a small little sign stating holiday inn Macau. Do note that you should not take the holiday inn cotai. We took the shuttle bus to and from the Macau ferry terminal to go to other places i.e. Venetian. It operate every half hour and it ends at 10pm.

Check in and check out process
The processes are quite smooth. We are given one room first and the other room is issued later. We sign up for the priority club where The check out timing could be extended to 2pm.

Room and amenities
The rooms are equipped with 2 double beds where it should be able to accommodate 4 pax. But only 3 pax are allowed in the booking sites. The amenities in the rooms are quite adequate. Perhaps we are in the 26 floor which is why the smoking smell isn't that strong. we went for the swimming pools the next day and there is no guest in there which is very secluded. There are 2 jacuzzi with different temp of 38 and 12 degree. The room provide 2 type of pillow soft and firm to choose.

Casino
The minimum bet for the dice game is 20 hkd which is quite reasonable for those who wants to try playing. However we didn't find any slots machines in the 5 level of casino. In each level there are only a few tables which is not very crowded unlike the other big casinos. There isn't much variety of games. Would suggest skipping this casino if you do not have time to waste.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junel_Loh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The lobby was a bit dated and smoky, but my room had been renovated and was very clean. Great location, everything was walking distance, the staff were friendly and spoke English. The Internet wasn't obvious, after an investigation, I discovered there is wifi in the room, you will need to go to the business centre/reception for a card. The gym was small, but had everything I needed and I was there to party anyway and the same for breakfast, everything I ate was available.

Room Tip: Avoid Macau on the weekend, room rates are a fraction of the cost during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu,
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Since its a company arrangement, I have no choice.

The lobby is small and crowed with people, elevators were always busy and the room is out of time.

The bath room is quite poor made you start to doubt the cleaness.

The location and breakfast is OK.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJChengdu_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macau hotels

amritsar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Guys Macau is called the vegas of the east and if u havnt been to las vegas then this is the place u need to go. a small copy of vegas casinos like mgm etc u will get here. a small place but amazing night life with casinos , pubs , discos etc . this holiday inn is ideally located and right next to casino too. it also has a nice spa n indoor pool. it also has family rooms so if ur going to hng kong with family u should add macau too

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lambaamandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel was fine,nice room,but expensive,breakfast and internet extra,in fact everything was a extra charge.

Location is great and bus service to Ferry Terminal is also excellent

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumpsmumnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#34 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Macau

Property: Holiday Inn Macau
Address: No.82-86 Rua de Pequim, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Macau 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the new business district, the Holiday Inn Macau is the only international four-star property in this vibrant city. Close to both the Macau-Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and the city centre, the hotel is accessible by public transportation. With its recent refurbishment, the hotel has a contemporary design providing a very friendly and casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing