We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star staff, 3 star hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lapa Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Lapa Macau
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5 star staff, 3 star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I spent one night at the Grand Lapa, and would like to give it 3.5 stars, but the the quality of the staff leads me to round up. All of the staff that I spoke with were very professional and friendly. I arrived in the evening, and wanted to go check out one of two Portuguese restaurants I had read were good. I asked the concierge about the restaurants, he provided a helpful answer, and called to get me a reservation. The following morning, another concierge was also helpful when I asked about local bakeries. The front desk staff were very friendly during check-in and out.

The room was just okay. I don't watch TV when I'm staying at a hotel, but I thought it just felt wrong to stay at a "5 star hotel" and have a TV in the room that I think hasn't been manufactured since the 1990s. The room and bathroom both looked rather dated, but not dirty. The bed was not old, clean and comfortable.

The location is convenient in that it's close to the ferry, and the hotel has a shuttle running to and from the ferry terminal. On my last visit to Macau, I stayed at a hotel near the Grand Lisboa, which isn't far from the Grand Lapa, but there's more going on in that area, and it's far enough that I would rather just stay in that area if given the choice.

Overall, it was a good experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    284
    83
    25
    10
See reviews for
162
175
64
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Amazing spa and the concierge is too good to be believed. Look for Roy at the concierge desk or at the ferry terminal.
Great shopping brands on the lobby level. Comfortable rooms and gorgeous breakfast buffet spread.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chefo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,331 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11,305 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We returned to the Grand Lapa and enjoyed watching the races from their trackside rooms again this year. The Macau Grand Prix atmosphere is great and this is a perfectly located hotel to enjoy the event. Unfortunately, we had issues during check-in for the second consecutive year and continue to worry that room quality is falling farther behind as Macau adds more and more new hotels with modern and updated rooms.

Made reservations 7 months in advance of the Grand Prix weekend and paid for rooms 1 month prior to our stay. Disappointingly, they attempted to pass off a lower grade room to us for the second year in a row, completely defeating the purpose of reserving so far in advance. In the end we were given the room type we had long reserved but were made to feel quite uninspired by the entire check-in experience. This is just not something you expect at better hotels, especially not multiple years in a row.

As for our room, it was on the same floor, configured the same and offered similar trackside views to the room we had last year. The room this year had fewer problems but the mattress was showing its age and wear, not providing as comfortable sleep as what we are used to when staying at nice hotels in Macau. We also found the fridge locked this year. With no access to our snack and drinks we had to make our way to a supermarket nearby for snacks to enjoy during the races, this was odd!

Overall, we very much enjoyed watching the races from our room at the Grand Lapa again this year but were disappointed in the check-in experience and the waning overall quality of the Grand Lapa rooms compared to what you can regularly find throughout Macau these days. Not sure we'd recommend normally but we do enjoy this hotel during Macau Grand Prix weekends.

Room Tip: You need to reserve the trackside rooms many months in advance if you intend to stay during Grand Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is not as contemporary in setting as some of the other hotels in the area. The room was a good size, but as others have mentioned, it could use a bit of a make-over. Service was great. Gym has everything you need, including group fitness classes. The pools feature a water slide area for kids, jacuzzi, and an indoor jacuzzi. There are also tennis courts available.

The casino is fairly small, but hotel is located right beside Sands hotel, which features a multi-storey casino. Wynn, MGM and the Grand Lisboa are walking distance.

To me, Macau city centre was where it was all at! Although there are residential areas, there was also life! The streets were buzzing with people and lights, unlike the empty streets on the Cotai side. Plus, all the sights were in city centre. If you are really keen on going to the Cotai side, the Venetian and Sands (Sheraton, Conrad and Holiday Inn) send complimentary shuttle buses to big hotels in city centre.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the fitness and spa for a better view of the water and bridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yjrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here one night with our 15 month old daughter and had a great time. The facilities are fantastic, with a fabulous pool with slide, and they also have a kids playroom, climbing wall and mini golf on the premises. Our daughter loved the pool! They have food and drinks by the pool that was a little pricey but ok and worth the convenience.
The hotel room was fine -a little old with the old tv, but overall fine as we didn't spend too much time there. Service was amazing. Checkout was 12 noon but our daughter was still napping so they let us stay in our room until 3pm so she could nap longer! And at no extra cost.
The hotel is very conveniently near the ferry terminal and next door to the Sands casino, but not lose to Macau city centre/old town. But it is a quick taxi ride away though so no big deal, and taxis are really cheap.
Would definitely go back and stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a resort side facing room, unless you are there for the Grand Prix then you want a road faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YiliKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place was probably once of great importance in Macau with its location close to the ferry terminal and former center but with the new hotels being constructed in new zones, this place is now in the deep outskirts from the main action.

The rooms were comfortable and clean enough but they need a significant update. The rooms look like they haven't had a refresh in over 20 years.

There is a nice pool which I'm told is rare in Macau but there's little to see there. Not many people around at all. I'm used to the pool action in Las Vegas which can be quite the scene even at the lesser hotels.

Casino in hotel is depressing. but then again, the casinos in Macau are depressing in general. No one seems to be having fun. The crowds are here to win money, not to have a good time. Be warned, Macau is not Las Vegas.

There is a large casino next door, the Sands which might overcome the loneliness you feel here. Hop over there whenever you can.

Stay here if you're here on business only.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

A colonial style hotel in Macau city. The hotel is within close distance from the ferry, shops and town centre. Beautiful surroundings with one of the best hotel swimming pools. The pool is surrounded by gardens and has a great water slide for the kids. The gym and spa is very well equiped (all equipment new and well maintained). There's a climbing wall in the grounds and a crazy golf course. There is a kids club as well. The rooms are large but a little outdated, but clean and well equiped. Resturants are very good, nice bar too. The staff are fantastic and are extemely helpful. They cannot do enough for you. I would very much recommend this hotel for the family. We will return.

Room Tip: You need to get a room overlooking the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
5.8 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lapa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lapa Macau

Property: Grand Lapa Macau
Address: No.956-1110 Avenida da Amizade, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Macau
#16 Family Hotel in Macau
#19 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#20 Romantic Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lapa Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 18-story waterfront hotel with elegantly decorated interior, situated near the Outer Harbour seawall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Lapa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lapa, Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental Macau Peninsula
Mandarin Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing