We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful. Don't Risk Any Cheaper In Macau.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lapa Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Lapa Macau
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful. Don't Risk Any Cheaper In Macau.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

Many hotels here and on Taipa island have severe Black Mold problems. Don't think you can escape this by dishing out a reasonable $100+ USD per night. Even those hotels are poorly maintained, musty, and a potential health hazard. Until this town gets completely rebuilt, the Mandarin is necessary if you want to enjoy your stay in Macau, and avoid the Mold.

Great place to stay. The resort and spa are really really nice, huge, and add a ton of value to the price tag of the room. All guests get free run of the resort and services. There is a huge, beautiful pool with waterfall, waterslide, sunchairs, and constant waiters for beverage and bar service. There is comfortable seating with ceiling fans surrounding the pool area, and NAAM thai restaurant as well. There is a large playground for children, and a huge climbing wall for those of you who like to rock climb. The weight room has about 12 modern treadmills each with their own flat panel televisions and the dumbbells are sufficient, maxing out at 50lbs. In the photos you can see the various weight machines also available. The resort makes the stay here twice as enjoyable. Please see my photos.

Getting to the hotel from Hong Kong airport takes some time, but is fairly straight forward. Ask (repeatedly) for directions to the Bus Terminal. Its quite a walk. I believe your bus is A11 (make sure to ask) to the Macau Ferry. The ride is a good 45 minutes but costs an amazing 45 cents USD (yes, 45 cents). A taxi can be hired as well for 55 HKG (7.50 USD). Make sure you are waiting by the door of the bus as you approach the city. They do not announce stops. There is only a marquee, and its hard to tell if you're at a stoplight or an actual bus stop. Recommend sitting upstairs for a great view, but get downstairs as you near the city. At the ferry terminal, look for the "Turbo Jet" signs and buy a ticket to Macau for 25 HKG (4 USD). When you arrive in Macau, ignore the taxi drivers who approach you. Head out the door and far to the right and you will see the metered taxi line. They have no signs directing you there. Just go right. Metered taxi to Mandarin Oriental is about 55HKG (7.50). That will get you right to the front door. Hope this helps!

This hotel starts at $220-$250 on average (USDollars from here forward). Booking in advance, through a travel agent and on weekdays is cheaper. You are really risking it to book somewhere less expensive due to the mold problems this city has. There are two islands in Macau - Taipa and Macau. This hotel is located on Macau Island and is in the perfect location. Literally next door to the largest casino in the world (Sands), and within a couple blocks of all the other major casinos (MGM, Wynn, Lisboa, etc). The new monstrous Venetian is on the other island just over the bridge.

This hotel is basically attached to the Sands. You can walk out the back private courtyard area and directly into the Sands Hotel Casino (and vice versa). Very exclusive and convenient. The Thai restaurant "NAAM" which surrounds the pool area is very good. Open from 12:00-2:30pm and 6:30-10:30pm only. Expect to pay about $45 per person here, but they take pride in their authentic Thai cuisine, and they treat you like royalty.

Other reviews complain that the rooms look old-ish. I found them not to be old, but to have a Colonial styling with cherry-wood which looks very rich, as opposed to other Mandarin's which go the "ultra modern" route. Despite being on a busy street, the room was extremely quiet. The bed is one of the best I've slept in with comfortable mattress, and four huge pillows. Two robes provided, slippers, in room safe, wetbar, and desk with LAN internet. Wifi internet is strong in the rooms so you can use your laptop without having to sit at the desk. Internet options run you $19 a day, or you can buy a week package which lowers it to $10 a day.

There is of course a business center with complete business services for professionals, the "Oriental Casino", a beautiful lobby, a series of boutiques with high end brands like Hugo Boss, Versacci, and others, lining the lobby area and on the way to the spa. There is much more, but I won't partake, and will probably never know about it.

My stay was honestly really great. I got sick as soon as I arrived, and spent the week in my room. The staff was just absolutely amazing to me. They realized I was not well, and made many attempts to make me comfortable. The Housekeeping staff repeatedly brought fresh oranges to my room (Vitamin C!!!) and loaded me up with tons of bottles of free water and bananas and apples every day. They offered me Tea and even to retrieve some cold medicine for me if I needed it. Truly wonderful service.

Room service is insanely prompt, delivering full meals within 15 minutes consistently. They sell an electrical adaptor in the wetbar, but you can call housekeeping, and they'll send one to your room for free. I requested two and got them without question.

My only minor criticism echos one I read in another review here. For some reason the daytime Room Service chef isn't as good as the night time one. Its noticeable. Burnt toast, overcooked french fries, runny eggs (literally), and bacon that for some reason smelled like bad fish. Early mornings and night time chef are amazing. Whoever does lunch is of a different caliber.

Staying here isn't cheap, but don't make the mistake of thinking that $110 a night in Macau will get you something nice. Until this city has really begun to grow, there are a lot of hotels from the "dirty days" still fully in operation, and the health hazard black mould problem everywhere will shock you. I spent two nights in a cheaper hotel first, and I believe this is exactly why I got sick. Spend the money and enjoy your stay in Macau.

  • Liked — Really enjoyed everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing significant enough to mention.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HotelGuru9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    284
    83
    25
    10
See reviews for
162
175
64
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

I was on a business trip to Macau for only three days. During this time I had numerous business meetings to fit in and the trip had the potential of being very stressful. The Mandarin Oriental helped immensly by providing an excellant atmosphere to wind down and relax. The room was clean and had all the necessary facillities. The restaurant served an excellant breakfast buffet pandering to everyones taste. In the evening a live band played in the lounge/bar and mingled with the guests which added some great conversation to the evening. The staff were first rate and always very pleasant and friendly. I would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — Getting a taxi
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

the best casino in Macau....(you better be used to asian rules..the high better can hijack your hand ) (others can bet on your hand) always worried about shills for the house hijacking your hand and busting you. Dispite this I came home a winner of over $1,200 US...:o) lifetime winner at Macau & Hong Kong race tracks...take the hydroplane from H.K. its a wonderful view of the Pearl River......Ms. Traci PS- used to think it was the casino at the end of the world till I went to Laos.

  • Liked — safety
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ripley44mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge,ma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

This may not be one of the posher properties of this chain but among all the glitz of Macau this place has class:beatiful gardens,tasteful decor,outstanding service and great dining.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reiseonkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2007

The hotel is definately an above average hotel. I found the service to be OK, but not quite as good as other Mandarins. When I stay at other Mandarins, I find that the staff seems to anticipate what I would want next. The staff at the Mandarin in Maccau seems content on waiting until you ask for something before they act on anything.

Overall, the hotel property is nice. The pool is a bit small. The fitness center was well kept, had a few modern features (like tvs on every treadmill), and tennis courts. The lobby is very nice as well.

The rooms while nice, we're again below standard as far as other Mandarins were concerned. They were spacious enough, but I thought that they were not as well decorated as other Mandarins.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank neyoisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

This is a good, solid, no-risk choice for Macau.. and, thankfully, for Macau, more hotel than casino.. I had a perfectly pleasant stay there recently, never getting within sight of the casino.. the room was a good size and the facilities were all as you would expect.. Think "Sheraton" in the US.. The decor is maybe a little tired looking, and there was some wear and tear, but that's not being too harsh.. The user pictures in this listing are pretty good at showing the rooms.. The Thai restaurant in the adjacent hotel-owned leisure complex is very good.. The cafe in the main hotel is good value and has a solid, varied menu.. Breakfast was pretty good, with a varied buffet.. The Bar is a little expensive and you need to wander past the ubiquitous ladies of the night on the way in.. They are more expensive, I gather..!! The shopping plaza is a little OTT, mainly luxury goods (such as Valentino, armani etc).. It would have been nicer to have a small convenience store/shop as the news stand/stall in the hotel lobby was no more than a token effort and didn't even sell drinks.. Service is very OTT and if you're the sort who prefers to look after his or herself, then be prepared to have to fend off the helpers.. Broadband internet not cheap and can be a little slow.. A solid performance despite the very minor niggles..

  • Liked — It's not obviously a casino..!!
  • Disliked — No convenience store or significant newstand
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Juninho_pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

Although this Mandarin Oriental is probably not the nicest of their hotels, overall, the hotel was very beautiful and a joy to stay at. It's location is perfect: next door to the huge Sands Casino and only a short cab ride away from the main sights of Macau. Most people will probably stay at the new Wynn or Macau, but this hotel is still beautiful and a classic.

The service is of the usual high Oriental standards. The rooms are very large and well appointed. The bathrooms are not as opulent as usual Oriental rooms at their other hotels. The hotel's shuttle bus from the ferry port was very convenient and the hotel has a booth at the ferry terminal that you can't miss.

I really enjoyed my spa treatment there too. The change room is very weird being part of the sports club/gym, but the massage was great. The Chinese dim sum restaurant on the second floor is not bad either and the breakfast was really good.

Overall, I recommend this hotel. Do not recommend their casino which is shoddy, old, and very "Oriental" style gaming.

  • Liked — Pool and location next to the Sands
  • Disliked — Bad casino
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ausbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
5.8 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lapa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lapa Macau

Property: Grand Lapa Macau
Address: No.956-1110 Avenida da Amizade, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Macau
#16 Family Hotel in Macau
#19 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#20 Romantic Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lapa Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 18-story waterfront hotel with elegantly decorated interior, situated near the Outer Harbour seawall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Lapa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lapa, Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental Macau Peninsula
Mandarin Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing