We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Lapa - Macau Grand Prix great trackside rooms”
Review of Grand Lapa Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Lapa Macau
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Recently stayed at the Grand Lapa Hotel during the 59th Macau Grand Prix weekend and had a very good stay here. The Grand Lapa, which is part of the Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group, is a famed hotel in Macau and known for its rooms with trackside views for this particular event.

We made reservations back in May to secure such rooms and full payment was required by the beginning of November for Grand Prix weekend. We did have an unusually long check-in due to some room confusion but this was remedied and after fifteen minutes we were able to relax in our room.

Naturally, the room highlight is the excellent view of the Grand Prix street track, allowing us to see the F3s race down the street while simultaneously watching a televised broadcast. We sat for hours enjoying the various races in our room. They gave a Grand Prix survival kit which was amusing.

As for the room itself, we had a wonderful king-sized bed which provided some very good sleep, and the two room chairs were comfortable for watching the races. Bathroom had a good, high-pressure shower. Room amenities included a TV with an adequate selection of English channels, fridge, coffee and tea making provisions. Unfortunately there was no free wifi available.

Some other cons are noted. The age of The Grand Lapa is showing in terms of fixtures and fitment. First, the TV was the boxy type (although functioning, so not much of a problem). Second, apart from the bedside lights, room lights can only be operated as all-or-nothing. Next, the bathroom pipes under the sink leaked continuously and we needed to use towels to absorb the constant puddle which formed in the bathroom. Also the bathroom scale was out of working order. Finally, the room safe was square-shaped and awkward for laptops. On their own, these are minor inconveniences but notable in aggregate.

We did like the rest of the Grand Lapa Hotel and grounds. The lobby has an old-world luxury decor and atmosphere; there is a beautiful black stone carving called 'The Window of Tomar' at the lobby staircase which is apparently carved in Portugal in 1510. The piece is worth having a close look. On the ground floor there is also a small arcade of luxury brand shops and the entire area is perfumed nicely, making pleasant entries into the Grand Lapa each time we returned to the hotel. Several restaurant options are available on the first floor as well as a Thai restaurant located in the separate building facility, which also houses Grand Lapa's reputable spa services as well as a nice pool area and children's creche.

Overall we enjoyed our stay during the Macau Grand Prix at the Grand Lapa. While the check-in experience and certain room aspects fell short of our expectations of a luxury hotel, the outstanding track views from the room helped compensate for these shortcomings and the general experience was a good one, worth experiencing again for future Macau Grand Prix races.

Room Tip: If booking a trackside room for the Grand Prix, best to contact Grand Lapa directly and reserve 5-6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 725 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

At first, i was disappointed because i mistakenly thought i was booking the Mandarin Oriental (its what i was typed in the search box) to arrive and find out that i was really staying at Hotel owned by Mandarin Oriental. We arrived and were greeted by very polite and welcoming staff. Rebecca greeted us with a warm and friendly smile, asked the reason for our stay and even sent us a birthday cake for my gf's birthday (i earned alot of points for this gesture) The stay was enjoyable and the room very comfortable. It had all the usual perk a good hotel room has and a staff brought us hot tea in a very traditional Chinese pot upon arrival. Very impressed. The location is by the pier but far from the City. It is located right next to the Sands Casino and thus you are able to take their free shuttle to visit Venetian as well. The decor seems a bit old fashion and rustic, very old fashion british. It is very quiet and not much traffic but the staff there are wonderful. The service would make me want to come again.
Tip:They have shuttle to pier which is only 10 mins away and taxi to town was on average around 50 HKD and a quick walk to Sands hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jean-Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This lower priced hotel in Macau was decent for my 1 night stay. The location is a little further from the attractions but then taxis are quite plentiful in Macau. If you have stayed at a Mandarin Oriental before you can certainly figure out this used to be one but a revamp is soon needed as the place is starting to look a little dated now.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xcapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel continues to be a good, solid, no-risk choice for Macau..

I have stayed here now a number of times over the last few years and, each time, have had had a perfectly pleasant stay.

The rooms are a good size and the facilities are all as you would expect.. Think "Sheraton" or "Hilton" in the US in terms of features.. The decor is maybe a little tired looking, and there is some wear and tear, but that's not being too harsh and the hotel seems well kept in general..

The Thai restaurant in the adjacent hotel-owned leisure complex is really very good and remains popular from year-to-year.. The cafe in the main hotel is good value and has a solid, varied menu.. Breakfast was pretty good, with a varied buffet..

The Bar is a little expensive, but the service is friendly and attentive.

The shopping plaza is a little OTT, mainly luxury goods.

The main surprise in a hotel such as this is the absence of a small convenience store/shop, as the news stand/stall in the hotel lobby is no more than a token effort and doesn't even sell drinks.. There are supermarket options a short walk away, but, nonetheless, something in the hotel would not go amiss..

Service is good but if you're the sort who prefers to look after his or herself, then be prepared to have to fend off the helpers.. This isn not a complaint, merely an observation..

Broadband internet not cheap and can be a little slow..

A very solid performance despite the very minor niggles..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juninho_pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is no palace of opulence and splendour. It felt classy, relaxed and friendly. Children were welcomed. Service was outstanding. Staff took great pride in their jobs. Everything worked.
Rooms were elegantly furnished albeit somewhat tired looking. Our bed was very comfortable. Wooden cots were provided for our 2 young boys.
The garden area with spa, pool, gym and kids club made for a relaxing break. The ladies changing room was complete with 2 saunas and a Jacuzzi. There was an outdoor heated Jacuzzi too. Towels, sun tan lotion and kids lifejackets were available. The kids club was well stocked, with soft play for babies, outdoor bikes, a climbing frame, computers and video games for older children.
Food was reasonably priced and well prepared. There was a good children’s menu. Cafe Bela Vista is beautiful. Coffee was excellent. The a la carte scrambled eggs were perfect, served with smoked salmon, grilled tomato, asparagus, toast and extra pastries. The children had porridge and coco pops. The buffet looked well stocked but quiet. The Cake Shop provided a range of sandwiches, cakes and pastries in the afternoon.
I was very happy with the babysitting service. Alice, our Chinese nanny came to the room equipped with a basket of toiletries. My husband and I had dinner at Bonne Heure, a small French restaurant in town. We got back to find the boys fast asleep. Alice greeted us again at breakfast.
This is a true relic from Macau’s former colonial days. Worth visiting before the casinos take over!

Room Tip: Pool view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XXX007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to stay in luxury (the old World luxury, not the Chinese "nouveau riche" type), close to the town center, if you want to have good food (Macanese, Portuguese, Chinese, Thai) and be surrounded by extremely friendly personnel, the Grand Lapa is the place to stay in Macau.
Rooms are excellent, amenities first class, the food in the different outlets is delicious, and people go out of their way to help you when selecting dishes, or helping you at the concierge for excursions.
We had stayed in this hotel 25 years ago, when it was on the waterfront, Macau has changed, but the hotel has fortunately remained the same.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Labienus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed at Grand Lapa several times solo and would definitely take the family there, mainly due to the central location and the fantastic resort style large pool and gym/spa area. High floor suites can sometimes be available at 3 nights for the price of 2 so check the web site for availability. Pool view is best as you see the ocean and are quiet as they face away from the city. Unlike the other rooms these open to the outside air with doors/balconies, I like the option to not always be hermetically sealed in with air-con. The "city" view from Grand Lapa is not very good, and noisy as well. A city balcony suite would be fantastic though if you're going for the Grand Prix as the F1 cars run straight past the hotel. Service was fantastic and they try their best to accommodate your needs, they have given me late check-outs at no cost, a service I hold in high regard. Rooms could do with updating, and like most hotels they still charge for wi-fi (some hotels are now getting the message and include this free).

Room Tip: High floor, "Pool view" is best as you see the ocean and they are quiet as they face away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Macau
The Landmark Macau
#43 of 94 in Macau
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#16 of 94 in Macau
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lapa Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lapa Macau

Address: No.956-1110 Avenida da Amizade, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Macau
#16 Family Hotel in Macau
#20 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#21 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $116 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lapa Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 18-story waterfront hotel with elegantly decorated interior, situated near the Outer Harbour seawall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Lapa Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lapa, Macau Hotel Macau
Macau Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Macau Peninsula
Mandarin Oriental Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing