We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel in Macau I've been so far” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst hotel in Macau I've been so far”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the worst hotel in Macau I've been so far. Too much overpriced and definitely below supposed 3* standard. Location is somewhat remote and inconvenient. Rooms quite dirty, everything very old, some items broken or misfunctioning. Bed is small for 2 people.

Better avoid if any other option is available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjuna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    229
    98
    46
    33
See reviews for
82
104
73
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong / Kelowna, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you're visiting Macau without particular interest in its glamours Vegas style casino life and is looking for somewhere more down to earth, quiet, sight-seeing friendly yet affordable accommodation, look no further, this is the place for you.

If you're here in Macau for gambling action, you may stop reading now, this place is not for you.

Location:

Wonderful! It is only a 5mins walk to Avenida de Almeida Ribeiro, where most of its sight seeing attractions are located, it is also the city centre of Macau. Located on Praca de Ponte e Horta, where the Portuguese first landed in Macau and started their colonial era here some 150 years ago. Foods are everywhere, bus stop just around a corner, the only downside is the lack of access to a casino, the only Casino within walking distant will be the Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 just around the corner.

Security:

Macau is not the most dangerous city on earth, nor the safest. Basic precautions are always recommended. The hotel surroundings can be quiet at night, but safe enough for walking about.

Dinning and Facilities:

No restaurant in this property, a small bar that opens after dawn next the lobby is available. But just walk across the street and you'll find plenty of food options available. As a simple boutique hotel, no facilities is available, there are free WIFI hotel-wide, but signal is terrible in rooms.

Some part of the hotel looks tired and show signs of renovation needs, but overall it wasn't a bad experience. If you have an extra dollar to spare, you may opt for the top floor penthouse rooms, where the rooms are nicer and it comes with a better view out the windows.

Rooms are clean and tidy, TV in my room wasn't functioning properly (not that I care) and water pressure at shower seems to be a bit low, but other than that, it is totally fine and live up to a 2-star standard.

Services:

Staffs are friendly, cheerful and will go out of their way to make you feel at home, they are efficient and always ready to serve guests' needs.

Rooms and Sleep Quality:

Room size is okay, bed is a bit too hard for my liking, but others who enjoy a harder bed may find it delightful. Rooms are clean and there is a portable heater in my room (not that I need one this time of year). A/C is strong and the room lacks a bit of lighting.

Will I recommend it? If the price is right.

Tips:

1) WIFI in the hotel is very inconsistent, if Internet access is very important to you, buy a local sim card. They are available at the arrival hall of the HK-Macau Ferry terminal, airport and all across town. Look for the CTM once as they offer the best price out of the 3 companyg (smartone sucks).

2) There are no free casino shuttle to this hotel, however C.O.D (City of Dreams) provide free shuttle service from Hotel Sintra in downtown Macau to Taipa. Make good use of these free casino shuttles to save you tons of money on transportation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossingtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malappuram, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

this hotel is very basic in its amenities....but if its just business, when u r out all day n just come back to the hotel to sleep, this is the one. its walkin distance to most of the casinos. its also very close to the chinese border...a taxi ride just costs you 35 mop. small rooms...nothin on tv....AND THERE IS NO FREE DRINKING WATER!!!

Room Tip: the higher you go, the better the view of d sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We try to stick with Best Western when we go out of the country because of the standards that they typically have. We checked this location on here (tripadvisor) and on the best western website. OMG. I'm not sure where the pics on Best Western's website came from, but they were NOT of any of the rooms in this place. We thought that since the actual travelers' photos of the room on here were from 2 years ago, that maybe they had renovated. Nope. The only thing different was the sheets and pillows on the bed were newer I think (thank goodness). Otherwise, the hotel didn't smell great. I didn't even bother taking pics because it looks like what is already on here. The lobby looked ok and newer, and the breakfast was subpar. Don't go here if you have any other options or a little more money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Team P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macau hotels

singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the worst hotel in Macau. Hard bed, dirty carpet, horrible room decor, toliet in a poor condition. The only good thing about the hotel is the friendly security staff

If want to compare Ole London Hotel which just the next door, it is much better even though this hotel is not a chain hotel. Stay away from Best Western Sun Sun. There are plenty of hotels in Macau to choose from.

This hotel is certainly not value for $$$$$

Room Tip: get some reviews from triopadvisor before u select a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Little floors that do not smoke, and they smell of tobacco smoke, the hotel is old, with cockroaches. In the room there is a kettle for which there is no outlet. Include it only in the bathroom. When booking a hotel, you could choose only category room, but not the number of beds in the room, in the end we gave 2a rooms with large beds. When we asked to change, we were told that only for a fee, which we have shown high 285MOP for the room at the time of our arrival, the hotel was empty. Do not know how to explain to the citizens of druh, Russians say СОВОК. The only plus is the location, not far from the ferry, 3 km, and near the historic center is 10 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our room was on the 12th non-smoking floor. We had the same experience as previous reviews. The hallway smelt terrible, our room was worse. It was cold like hell in the room and we had to open the window for 15 min, and my wife used her perfume spray all the room to reduce the smell. The room is old, especially the bathroom, I felt like I am in the public bathroom. The restaurant service (we had breakfast in executive area on first floor) and attitude of the waitress were unacceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.4 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#36 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#40 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
3.0 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#50 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
Address: No.14-16 Praca Ponte E Horta, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sun Sun, situated on Ponte e Horta, offers boutique-style accommodation in central Macau,5 km from Macau Ferry Terminal. A unique place where you can relax yourself and fully enjoy your leisure time in Macau. It is ideal for extended business stays and family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Macau
Best Western Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing