We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My feelings were hurt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We try to stick with Best Western when we go out of the country because of the standards that they typically have. We checked this location on here (tripadvisor) and on the best western website. OMG. I'm not sure where the pics on Best Western's website came from, but they were NOT of any of the rooms in this place. We thought that since the actual travelers' photos of the room on here were from 2 years ago, that maybe they had renovated. Nope. The only thing different was the sheets and pillows on the bed were newer I think (thank goodness). Otherwise, the hotel didn't smell great. I didn't even bother taking pics because it looks like what is already on here. The lobby looked ok and newer, and the breakfast was subpar. Don't go here if you have any other options or a little more money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 561 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the worst hotel in Macau. Hard bed, dirty carpet, horrible room decor, toliet in a poor condition. The only good thing about the hotel is the friendly security staff

If want to compare Ole London Hotel which just the next door, it is much better even though this hotel is not a chain hotel. Stay away from Best Western Sun Sun. There are plenty of hotels in Macau to choose from.

This hotel is certainly not value for $$$$$

Room Tip: get some reviews from triopadvisor before u select a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Little floors that do not smoke, and they smell of tobacco smoke, the hotel is old, with cockroaches. In the room there is a kettle for which there is no outlet. Include it only in the bathroom. When booking a hotel, you could choose only category room, but not the number of beds in the room, in the end we gave 2a rooms with large beds. When we asked to change, we were told that only for a fee, which we have shown high 285MOP for the room at the time of our arrival, the hotel was empty. Do not know how to explain to the citizens of druh, Russians say СОВОК. The only plus is the location, not far from the ferry, 3 km, and near the historic center is 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlgaFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our room was on the 12th non-smoking floor. We had the same experience as previous reviews. The hallway smelt terrible, our room was worse. It was cold like hell in the room and we had to open the window for 15 min, and my wife used her perfume spray all the room to reduce the smell. The room is old, especially the bathroom, I felt like I am in the public bathroom. The restaurant service (we had breakfast in executive area on first floor) and attitude of the waitress were unacceptable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Best Western Hotel Sun Sun was the one of cheapest hotels in Macau, but not value for money for its facilities provided. The hotel lobby and the guest lifts were obviously renovated but the room wasn’t, even our room was assigned at the higher floor. The room decoration and the furniture were extremely outdated and no touch-up at all, the window and carpet was also dirty. The breakfast was not in buffet style, and the food/coffee was not hot enough.

They did not provide free shuttle bus service to/from Macau Ferry Terminal but most of the hotels did. You have to spend almost fifty Macau dollars for the taxi ride, in addition, there were quite difficult to get a taxi back to the Ferry Terminal. There are lots of choices if you don’t mind to pay a bit more.

Room Tip: You must clearly mention which bedding (double-bedded or two single beds) you like while making rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Macau hotels are expensive especially ones near big casinos. Going through reviews, was supposed chose best western taipa hotel but it was up a hill and far from senado square. In the end changed to best western sun sun. Took bus 26 direct reached from taipa ferry. Given free upgrade to executive room! Pleased with service and all top attractions are able reached by foot - including senado square, st paul's ruin, ah ma temple (abt 20min), libosa and ponte 16 casinos. Free wifi too!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sammie_lee_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

They have several staff members who are Filipino and very attentive and informative for English speakers. The location is somewhat out of the central area but lots of buses from here to the old town or the main casino area near the ferry terminal. The rooms are quite ordinary but good for the price. I walked to and back to the Wynn and really enjoyed the sites along the way, approx 30 to 40 min each way. The old town with the Portuguese architecture was terrific. Would stay here again, they also credited the BW points same day, that impressed me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank garuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#42 of 94 in Macau
664 reviews
3 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#47 of 94 in Macau
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#40 of 94 in Macau
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sintra
Hotel Sintra
#35 of 94 in Macau
784 reviews
3.4 mi away
Broadway Hotel
Broadway Hotel
#26 of 94 in Macau
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Sun Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Sun Sun

Address: No.14-16 Praca Ponte E Horta, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $76 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Sun Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sun Sun, situated on Ponte e Horta, offers boutique-style accommodation in central Macau,5 km from Macau Ferry Terminal. A unique place where you can relax yourself and fully enjoy your leisure time in Macau. It is ideal for extended business stays and family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Sun Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Macau
Best Western Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing