We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay but with out the wow factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We caught the free shuttle from the Taipa Cotai ferry and were rather dismayed to see queues of people at the check in, however before we joined the queue we were guided to another desk where there were only about 5 people ahead of us. The extra large queue was for SPG customers only, so we were very happy we weren't one of the Special Privileged!We had booked a kingsize room as part of a deal which was very comfortable and quiet plus we had a nice view down over the swimming pools.I have to say the best part of our room was the lovely comfy bed and snugly duvet. Probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever had.Breakfast was included in our deal and the buffet had something for everyone. I would also like to thank the young man who showed us to our table, for going out of his way to get me a decaff coffee.When I asked, the two who were serving coffee they said no they don't have it but the young man said I will get you one. I'm not sure where he went as he was gone for awhile but came back with a piping hot cup of decaff. Great service! One of the things that was confusing was trying to find the right lift to go to our 16th floor. We finally got it sussed on the second day.We had a great stay here and would come back again but if you are looking a place with a bit extra of the wow factor maybe one of the other Hotels on the Cotai Strip may suit you better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwikid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear kiwikid_12,

Thank you for sharing with us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay especially with our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed. Thank you for your kind words of our associate and it will be shared with the team as encouragement to improve. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and provide you another pleasant stay in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,342)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,780 - 2,786 of 5,342 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Went to Macao because Mom wanted to. Of course we are always pleased if she's happy. Booked in this hotel for a two nights, only for the weekend. The place is grand. The lobby is big with pretty chandeliers. It is pretty busy, meant that guests love it. Our room was big enough for the four of us. It had a cozy atmosphere, beds are soft and comfy, bathroom is spacious. I say, the view from our window of the Earth Tower is amazing! You have to be conspicious though and remember the tower you're at or else. We got lost a few times but the staff are friendly, approachable and attentive. I remember one name, Mr. Samuel Aberin, who did not only make us feel welcomed but helped us with our luggage.

Unfortunately, there was one Indian personnel manning the elevators who was very rude. Mom asked something about the floor number where our room was and he did not stop to think that my mom was a guest. The guy dissed mom with a blunt question which was inappropriate. A guest is a guest. We pay for our stay and we respect people who work hard except for those who do not respect us. I hope on our next visit, we won't see that guy again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear MD B,

Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted that you and your family had a pleasant stay in your room. Your kind words about your positive experience will be shared with the team as encouragement. We also regret to hear the incident at the lift lobby. Please be rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed with relevant teams to improve further. Once again, thank you for sharing with us and we hope we will provide you a seamless experience next time.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hi, This property or any other on Cotai Strip seem to be very luxurious. I stayed at Sheraton for being a renowed name. The complex is awesome, its seems like I am in Las Vegas of Asia. More of like a Hotel in a 5 Star Mall.
Stayed there for 3 days, rooms are good and so is staff & services.
However patrons from India may get a bit disappointed if we compare hospitality of Indians as compared to hospitality of Macau people. I mean staff at Indian 5 Star Hotels are more bent to your comfort & need. However, there was no flaw in Sheraton Macau's hospitality, but it could have been better.

Room Tip: Good Choice. However I would like to try "Hard Rock" or "Grand Hyatt" next time.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdityaPratap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear adityapsingh82,

Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay here, as well as our service. We truly appreciate your feedback and please be rest assured that it will be shared with the team for further improvement. Thank you again for spending time to share the experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I returned yesterday from a great Christmas in Macao and Hong Kong, and it was made "great" through our five-day stay and treatment at the Sheraton Macao, on the Cotai Central. My personal compliments to Brian Tong, the Hotel Manager, for training his people to function as professionals in the most important service industry in Macao, if not the entire Far East! As an International Graduate Professor of Business Administration, I tell my students that their first impressions of any business are generated through their dealing with the first people they meet, and those people at the desk at the Sheraton made an extremely positive one. It was a most busy evening when we checked in, and the young man who attended to us - a young Chinese gentleman from Xi An, China (We are so sorry we cannot recall his name!), let us know that the exact type of room we had booked was unavailable, then apologized and booked us into an excellent substitute, and awarded us free Internet/WiiFi use for our stay. He offered to change our room immediately when one became available, but the substitute was outstanding.

Frankly, neither of us can understand some of the extremely negative comments and ratings provided by other travelers, such as one who complained that "nobody spoke English." Preposterous! Covering both Taipa and Macao, we found it most difficult to find anyone - and we mean ANYONE - who did NOT speak English. Other comments are simply intolerant, unrealistic, and plainly selfish. Literally every aspect of the service, room conditions, room care, food services, transportation, and overall courtesy at the Sheraton were extraordinary, and I would heartily recommend that those travelers who are considering any hotel in Macao completely disregard the negative responses about the Sheraton, and be prepared for the best possible service overall.

Thanks again, Brian, for the professionalism of your staff and the efforts they consistently bend to not only please, but to delight every customer! By the way, I have chronic back problems and two artificial hips, yet this was the most restful time I have spent in years. The beds are incredibly comfortable!

Room Tip: Try to obtain a booking in the Sky Tower, as it is just a little more convenient than the Earth Towe...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbadoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear mbadoctor,

Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted that your stay sounds so perfect! We strive to deliver a personalized experience to every guest at best we can. Your kind words about our associates will be shared with the team as it will encourage us to improve further. We hope we will provide you another memorable experience during your next stay.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Nice, new(ish) and impressive enough in the lobby section, but unless you are an SPG member, be prepared to wait a while for check in.

The locale is central enough, surrounded by other big casino/hotels - the likes of Galaxy, Venetian to name a few in this Taipa area.

The setup of the hotel is not so user friendly as there are very long corridors from one end of a floor to the other end. The rooms are clean enough, but lacks that opulence that one searches for the extra detail which made you feel that "thoughts been put in to make the guest as comfortable as practicable". I'm not rubbishing their affair, but it is just a bit lackluster.

Rooms are acceptable size, not cramped, but lack the touches that make it a true 5 star hotel. ie: lack of fruits/paper/refillable coffee/tea, to say the least.

Dont expect too much from the customer support team as they have a huge stage to run and I'm sure they lack the physical capability to make every guest feel special.

All in all, a good place to stay, not opulent but not shabby either. If you can find it for a good price, go for it, as at a good price point, this hotel is great.

Getting aroud in Macau is great too. You only need to hop on one shuttle bus to the next to the next and eventually you'll get to your destination - sans Taxi. This will leave you much more cashed up to donate to the casino of your choice later :-)

One of the best things about being in Macau is their plethora of food offerings. Varied cuisine, the likes of Portuguese, Macauses, Cantonese and European can all be had at a very reasonable price and of great quality.

If you are into gambling, this is your city. All the cainos are mainly patroned by mainland Chinese delegates whom I still can't get my head around betting HKD$200000 per bet on the Baccarat table.

Anyhow, without much more diversion, this hotel is great. Its not the best, but if you can get it at a reasonable price, it is a goer. On a Price/Performance scale, it should rate quite highly, even though at an absolute standard, it is a bit below par.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aristocrat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear aristocrat88,

Thank you for your feedback. While we are glad that you found it value for money staying with us, we are sorry to hear that we failed to deliver a personalized experience for you. Please be rest assured that your feedback will be shared with relevant teams for improvement as we strive to be better at what we do. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Sheraton hotel for one night. The room was well furnished. The beds were quite comfortable. The bathroom was quite good.

I was able to eat the breakfast served in the club lounge. The breakfast was quite good. There was an omelet station, pancakes, a waffle machine, cold cuts, Chinese food selections, and the usual stuff.

Unfortunately, the service in the hotel was mediocre. When calling room service, I was forced to wait for ten minutes until someone finally picked up. This happened twice. This is extremely unacceptable for a 5 star hotel. Furthermore, the person who answered the phone was quite rude. Totally unacceptable.

Furthermore, when I picked up the phone, I asked for an extra blanket and pillow. None were available!

I needed extra towels for other family members to take a shower. Someone showed up at the door with fruit. We asked him to get more towels. He forgot.

If you are looking for a hotel on the Cotai Strip I suggest looking for something else. The holiday inn is much better and cheaper. Don't waste your hard earned money at the Sheraton. Just don't.

To add insult to injury, the hotel room rates were quite expensive.

In conclusion, I expected better from the Sheraton. I thought that Sheraton was a luxury hotel chain. Unfortunately it is not. The service is abysmal. Room service representatives are rude.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank warpa95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear warpa95,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we strive to provide the best service to our guests at Sheraton Macao Hotel, we are very disappointed to know that our service did not meet your expectations, in particular to our associate’s attitude and manner when assisting you. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay at our hotel.

We would like to assure you that we are taking every action possible to make sure that our services will be improved, and will ensure that this will not happen in your future visit. Additional training and guidelines will also be provided to the associates to ensure we meet the Sheraton standards, and more importantly to meet our guests’ expectations.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience we have caused you. We highly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do, and we hope for the opportunity to serve again in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is one of the best properties with Casino in Macau, and nothing less than a wonderland. I stayed here for 5 nights during a conference in November. Casino & hotel is amazingly maintained, and the access to most of the tourist places is good with their shuttle services through out the day. However attitude of hotel staff needs to be improved towards guests as they are very strict when it comes to timings for any services, not very hospitable but overall I will rate its a good stay and being located opposite to star attraction Venetian Hotel in Macau.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhishekjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear abhishekjain,

Thank you for sharing with us. We are delighted to know that you would rate us as one of the best hotels. Please be rest assured that your feedback on our associates will be shared with relevant teams for any possible improvement. Additional training and guidelines will also be provided to our associates so to ensure we can provide much better service to guests. We hope we will welcome you back soon to create another memorable stay for you.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
4.0 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#24 of 94 in Macau
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.3 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central

Address: Estrada do Istmo. s/n, Cotai, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $119 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is the largest hotel in Macao with 4,001 well-appointed guestrooms and suites. It is also Starwood Hotels & Resorts’ largest hotel and Sheraton Club worldwide. Spread over two towers (‘Sky’ and ‘Earth’), Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central offers three signature restaurants, a lively lobby lounge, extensive function space, Shine Spa for Sheraton, three outdoor swimming pools and a new holistic approach to fitness with Sheraton Fitness. With its central location, modern facilities and friendly world-class service, Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is your ideal choice to experience the diverse and colorful culture of this unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing