We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class Hotel & Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

First of all I would like to thank Angelina Lazuardi for making the arrangements for our special occasion. From the moment you walk in your are treated with nothing but class. Would advice becoming a SPG member for quick check-in. Was upgraded to a Executive Suite which was fabulous and the Breakfast was fantastic. Although there was no reservations left for the Buffet in the hotel, the friendly staff at the "Club" Lounge did their thing to accommodate us. Very new hotel with a fantastic casino we didn't bother visiting any other casino as Sheratons was sufficient. Would stay here again next time I'm in Macau.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are well worth it. with perks including free club access and afternoon / cocktails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcade_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear arcade_007,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in Macau. We are glad that you enjoyed the Club benefits and enjoyed the suite. Your kind words about our associate are much appreciated and will be shared with our teams. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,211 - 3,217 of 5,568 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were very excited about the DreamWorks holiday advertised and booked a family suite and unluckily, the weather was stormy and we arrived during Typhoon 8. While the hotel was not responsible for the weather, the entire experience was far below average and where do I start?

The room was fun for the kids but that was about the only good thing about this entire stay. Service was dismal and everywhere, staff seemed reluctant to help, disinterested and overworked. Towels and amenities were not replenished daily; one day we were missing hand towels, another day, there was no bath mat.

We have family holidays in Macau often and we usually stay at the Galaxy. After this experience, we will steer clear of Cotai. I never appreciated the design, layout and service at Galaxy as much as I do now after this low rate experience. At the Galaxy, the wave pool is an obvious hit AND there is so much more choice in food at different price points, so much easier to navigate around without walking through an obscene amount of stores. Also at Galaxy, in room snacks and drinks are complimentary, which do not cost very much but makes a big difference. These little touches just make you feel like a welcomed guest.

When we checked in, the staff convinced us to pay extra for executive lounge access which included breakfast, wifi at HK$750 per night. Since we were already paying for the DreamWorks breakfast, we thought we would wait and see. Thank goodness we didn't because when we went to take a look at the lounge, it was overcrowded, had a mediocre offering of food and the breakfast room resembled a noisy food court.

The DreamWorks breakfast was fun for the kids but if you look at value for money, it was ridiculous for a 90 minute meal that included characters coming out to take photographs. We ended up paying over HK$2000 for 4 adults and 4 kids. As each round of characters came around to the tables, their appointed photographer took pictures and they brought around printed pictures and key chains to sell. The kids obviously wanted to keep the pictures so we ended up buying their souvenirs. With the price we paid, they could not have included a memento for each kid? Of course not, you have to pay pay and then pay some more if you want extras, which they thought of very well as there was another souvenir cart just outside selling overpriced stuffed animals, t-shirts and other trinkets.

Then the kids noticed DreamWorks pouches around the property and when we inquired, we were informed they were included in a package deal; hotel room, breakfast, ferry tickets and the pouches. We paid for a family suite which came with NOTHING and so we asked for 2 pouches since we attended this overpriced theme breakfast. Of course, the answer was no and when we asked in exasperation if we can pay for it, the staff member walked off sullenly to ask her manager and came back and offered us a pouch, very reluctantly. I just didn't have the energy to ask for another pouch so that both kids can have one.

The other main complaint I have is the layout of the property. The lobby is clearly not big enough to accommodate all the guests and every time we ventured through, there were constant crowds squatting, sitting wherever there was a spot with luggage. What a sight at a 5 star hotel! With a hotel of this size, did they not think through that there may be many people checking in, waiting for rooms and provide adequate waiting space? There was an area for SPG members which was roped off and there were three staff members standing around monitoring entry. Sure, those with a membership can check in with a degree of comfort while everyone else just has to squat around and wait.

The shopping mall was an eyesore and to get a cup of coffee in the mall, one had to walk through a ridiculous number of stores. With the stormy weather keeping us indoors, we had to do this many times and I'm cringing as I recall all the walks around the mall.

All pool activities advertised for the kids were canceled due to the weather and there were no alternative children's facilities offered. Yes the weather is not the hotel's fault but after the typhoon cleared, the rain stopped and something could have been arranged but I assume it was just easier to blame the weather and close the pool. They did suggest a playground on level 2 but after searching all over the hotel, turns out it was another children play area in the mall (and a lower rate version when compared to Cubic at the Venetian or Kids Zone at COD) which cost $80 per child for two hours. Conveniently located next to it is the Kids Cavern, a massive candy and toy store which you want to steer your kids away from if you do not wish to buy more sweets and junk toys.

Wifi was initially offered at a discount but they ended up comping us. I guess I should be grateful as everything costs extra but doesn't every hotel in Macau offer free Wifi? It takes a lot of nerve to charge for it, and to me it seems like the entire experience was to squeeze as much out of the guest as possible. From the overpriced meals to the endless shops, I have to say the Cotai strip is a mainland Chinese tourist swarmed shopping nightmare. I did not have one decent meal the entire trip, or one that I felt was good value for money. The total cost for a 3-night stay came to about US$1,300 for 3 adults 2 kids. Definitely will not do this again.

For a pleasant family holiday experience, go to the Galaxy, where people genuinely look after you and really care...plus good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canadahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear canadahk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we strive to provide the best service to our guests at Sheraton Macao Hotel, we are very disappointed to know that our service did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your family during your stay at our hotel.

Based on your feedback, we have conducted an investigation. We are taking every action possible to make sure that our services will be improved, and we assure you that additional training and guidelines will be provided to our associates to ensure we meet the Sheraton standards, and more importantly to meet our guests’ expectations.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We highly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do, and we hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Like many 4 to 5 star hotels in Macau, you get really good room with easy access to practically anywhere. Since it is just recently opened, the price they offered was quite tempting. Compared to other hotels that we have stayed in Macau, however, Sheraton feels lack of impression. Nothing was bad really, except for the missing in-room free wi-fi, but I did not end up with many stories to tell from our stay there.

On a positive note, the check-in and check-out process were very efficient. This was fairly important as we were trying to catch on our ferry back to HK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear mayks,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know in general you had a good stay with us. As for the internet connection, we have "Link@Sheraton℠ experienced with Microsoft®" at lobby area and all public area, guests would surf freely. However we have also well noted your feedback about free Wi-Fi in guest room for further review and improvement. Thank you for staying with us, hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family and I had an extraordinary (yet very brief) stay at your lovely hotel last week ... thanks for everything your staff did for us, including the wine and chocolates for our wedding anniversary.That family suite is SO amazing !!!

Best wishes

Tim

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerialTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having stayed in Macau numerous times, I can say that this hotel falls short. This hotel opened up less than a year ago so the standards should be high being that Macau is continuously growing becoming more competitive.

First off, I was put off by the fact that the wifi here is not free. Free in the lobby but you have to pay in the rooms. $30 an hour or $120 a day. Quite ridiculous. So needless to say, it looks like waves of hoarders in the lobby. They sit wherever there is room to, which is already limited, with their faces glued to their phones taking advantage of the free wifi. So no sitting room in the hotel. This leads to the next turn off:

The lobby is set up oddly. The casino is dead center so the rest of the hotel sort of wraps around it, leaving a narrow walkway that makes the hotel seem way busier than it is. While all of this is off putting, there are a few good points to notate. The hotel is new and clean. The rooms are not quite as spacious as other Macau hotels, but comfortable. The hotel is connected to the never ending network of surrounding hotels and casinos which is typical in Macau. The Venetian and Four Seasons are within walking distance. The Sheraton is part of Sand Cotai which includes the Conrad hotel.

The service in this hotel lacks, which is normal in Macau. But Sheraton, don't let the status quo dictate your standards. The four seasons and grand hyatt served us with world class service so you can't say that you can't teach your people the same. We were in the lobby looking for the bus lobby and we kept walking around while the staff there were looking at us. You would think they would help us but we had to ask. Also, we were never once greeted at all during our stay. Very dismal at best was our experience with the service.

Having stayed in Macau numerous times, I would first suggest the Grand Hyatt and Galaxy hotels. Four seasons is quite nice as well. All of the prices are very similar of you book your tickets at the ferry counters in Sheung Wan in Hong Kong. I paid $990 HK or $127 US a night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottr1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Scottr1984,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret to hear our facilities and services didn't meet your expectation. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Your feedback and comments have been shared with relevant teams for further review. Additional training and guidelines will be provided to associates for improvement. Once again, thank you for staying with us and please accept our sincere apologies. We hope to have chance to serve you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I traveled in Macau last 4 monthes,stayed in the hotel for 54 nights.Many employees made a great impression on me,thanks for your patience and passion.
As a p mumber,i enjoyed room upgrade every stay.
About breakfast,it could be better to add some chinese food.

Room Tip: rooms on xxx24 or xxx26 are very good position for night view Venetian and Macau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuang f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

good place to stay. But their call center heard like sleepy. and don't know what is loofa. And take long time to bring up the duvet. But still a good place to stay.
upon check in, there is one handsome like duty manager, escort to counter really nice and warm.
btw, the guest service luggage staff seems not so welcome.

Room Tip: Face to Pool, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jingyang900105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear jingyang900105,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know in general you have enjoyed the stay with us. We regret to hear that some of the service we provided didn't meet your expectation. We have shared your feedback with relevant teams for improvement. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
4.0 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#23 of 94 in Macau
824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.8 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#11 of 94 in Macau
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central

Address: Estrada do Istmo. s/n, Cotai, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $126 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is the largest hotel in Macao with 4,001 well-appointed guestrooms and suites. It is also Starwood Hotels & Resorts’ largest hotel and Sheraton Club worldwide. Spread over two towers (‘Sky’ and ‘Earth’), Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central offers three signature restaurants, a lively lobby lounge, extensive function space, Shine Spa for Sheraton, three outdoor swimming pools and a new holistic approach to fitness with Sheraton Fitness. With its central location, modern facilities and friendly world-class service, Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is your ideal choice to experience the diverse and colorful culture of this unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing