We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

With 4000 rooms and a big casino located at the lobby its madness, you felt like lost out with in such a huge place. Checking in/ out can be a task.
Although the room were very spacious, well done and comfortable. However, with so many rooms/ services don't expect a special service. Shuttle bus services available from Ferry termnial look out for gree color bus (choose Taipa ferry station while travelling from hongkong).
Great location with Venetian casino situated at walking distance and connected to high street shopping arcade

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_Ajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review and the feedback about hotel service. We strive every day to improve the service in order to meet guest's expectation. Please be ensure the additional training and guidelines will be provided to our associates. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,256 - 3,262 of 5,577 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a big hotel with thousands of guests so it was of no surprise to us that we had to queue at times, at check in and for breakfast. However, this said we were very happy with the friendly staff, the room and facilities. Check in wasn't great as although the staff serving us was polite he didn't seem too clued in as to what we should get with our package and I had to ask for several things. The noise in the lobby was so loud at that time I found it hard to hear him. The room was nice, new and clean and we found no fault in it. Breakfast was good but busy and the same can be said about the swimming pools. On the whole we enjoyed our time in the hotel and had a fun lunch at xin and our son enjoyed Qube2. Only thing was we found everywhere so cold and actually had to go and buy sweaters to wear around the hotel. On the whole the hotel and services met or exceeded our expectation unfortunately we did not appreciate some of the behaviours of our fellow guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller567Hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share the experience with us. We are glad to know in general you and your family have enjoyed the stay with us. We have shared your feedback about Front Office associates lacking of package knowledge with relevant team for further review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused, the additional guidelines and training will be provided for improvement. Thank you for your kind words about hotel facilities and service, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our family booked a family suite from Sheraton Macau (Taipa island) for three nights in July. The hotel is big, like most hotels in Macau and naturally very focused around Casino industry, but this did not make our kids (8 and 6 years old) enjoy the hotel any less.

The suite itself consisted of two separate rooms with adjoining door. Childrens room was totally decorated for the kids. They literally flipped out. Please see the pics.

Both rooms were large, everything worked, wireless access was quick and bathrooms were loveley. Beds and pillows got a 10+ from my wife and myself. Also the staff at the hotel were very kind and helpful. Gym was decent and you can certainly get your basic workout taken care of at the gym.

Hotel is also attached to a large shopping mall with a walking bridge to Venetian and enormous mall across the street.

Three issues did not go well though, thus 4 stars in rating instead of 5.

1. While checking in, we were handed a standard A4-paper to sign due to the fact that there was a bunk bed for the kids. I absolutely do not like the patronizing, US-based (Ok, it's a Sheraton) mentality of making sure "nobody sues us". It really kills the enjoyment of coming to a new hotel only to have documents to sign that just in case something happens, we don't sue the hotel. Ridicillous.

2. The hotel has two separate pools for families with children and one pool area for adults only. For some reason one of the two family-pool areas closed very early in the afternoon, causing a massive invasion of people to the other area. It was very difficult to swim or even enjoy the pool with a large mass of people in the same area. We did not get an explanation for the early closing time of the other area.

3. Hotel breakfast area is huge, but the kitchen and staff logistics were insufficient. We waited for 15-20 minutes to get in in the morning (9:00am) and many dishes were empty even though the staff did their best to fill them again. So we opted to use other restaurants during other mornings.

Overall, not a perfect ten for family vacation, but kid's certainly loved the place. Would I personally come back to the hotel? With my family - most likely, by myself I'd choose another hotel - plenty to choose from in Macau.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We have newly renovated and decorated the family suites with DreamWorks experience, we are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed it. As for the feedback of check-in procedure, also pool service and breakfast service, we have shared it with relevant teams for further review and improvement. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon and create another memorable stay for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at one of the standard rooms a few months after it opened. Compared to the other hotels in the Cotai area the Sheraton is one of the less expensive ones. For the price you pay it delivers the 5 star hotel quality you expect. The hotel itself isn't that big but it is connect to a shopping center that links to Holiday Inn and Venetian across the road. So there is definitely lots of gambling and shopping if that's what you're in Macau for. If you plan to be out most of the time but still want the comfort of a 5 star hotel this is definitely a good choice.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bonnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice hotel, we stayed one night in a deluxe twin bedroom. Our room overlooks the city of dream. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with shades of maroon. Soft bed sheets that make us sleep well. The bathroom consists of a bath tub and a separate shower. Adjacent to the mall, not hard to find breakfast in the morning on the top floor of the mall. Venetian is located across the street, there is access to the mall. There is a free shuttle bus to the pier in Macau / Cotai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorentza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I am not a big fan of casino and the only reason I was choosing this hotel was it's new, convenient, brings good value and good facilities. Nothing to complain from service to cleanliness! Cosy design as expected and worth an exploration given it's one of the newest hotels in Macao.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is the worst hotel with service compared in the other sheaton hotel in different country i have been lived.My friends and I lived in this hotel for 3 nights today. We just checked out today.Our Room no.23139. in earth building.There are some truth experiences happened to us for your refrence, you have to know before you stay.
1.First, the check in service is very slowly, according the hotel manager speaking, there are more than 3000 guests live in high season, they cannot help about it. According my understanding, as a five stars hotel, it is NOT a reason to make your customer keep in line for 20-30 min.
2.There are bag carrier services after check in, but not for all the people due to many guests. I thought it is basic service for a Sheaton standard.
3.The bed is too hard to sleep. and we understand ,it is depend on personal's feeling on bed. BUT both of us stay in twin bed showed the same results. We had slept many hotels and many beds ( I guess more then 100 hotels). Trust me , we never feel painful after 3 nights sleeping in our bed before. During the check out, our back is painful, we suggested in check out desk, the bed may be changed new type, we got answer from Chinese lady ,she side there is "no prolem" in their bed, she can sleep very well . I was surprised she answer so directly and no any feeling about cusotmers's suggestion. I try to make sure again her answer, she said: the bed is very good sleep "for her". I have lived in many shearton hotel, i definitely sure the bed quality is different from different hotel. I asked her again, where she came from and how long she has been working in hotel. She come from mainland china.......and it is new hotel,according her speaking, there are so many things showed it because it is new hotel. So I know it is hotel manager's problem instead of her. Again, five stars hotel lost quality control.
4. During my stay, I found that there are too many guys who work in hotel are talking and playing to each other instead of provide service, or pay attention on guests. Due to I am also a mangers in my job, I watched them for a whlie and make sure, they are really not good training in hotel service. You can found especially, there are a lot philippines, and mainland china...and some indian work there. I guess this hotel hire a lot cheap labor worker and cannot provide good training. Be careful, this is hotel, not a factory. We are guest we can see people's behaviors in eyes. Employees, it also make decision what kind of hotel quality to show out.
5. Shearton macau, this hotel totally, is like a factory, employee showed their tired face to handle too many guests. If you are looking for a really nice and service hotel, I suggested you try other one. Even Holidays inn next door provide better service.
6. If you like to keep in line 20 min for a breakfast, you would like to try this one. we found that is why when we booked this hotel, they said we can choose breakfast or lunch. One day, they asked us to move to another big meeting room for breakfast due to wait too long...,again. Hotel is NOT Factory. 3 days breakfast, we need to ask for a coffee or tea when we arrive in and sit next to desk. One day(Sunday) there is no coffee and tea. During the breakfast time, no one ask us tea or coffee. They only lead and give you a table without saying any thing.
7. We was tired of the manager's sorry!, they are always said ,too many people live in hotel. SO, WE GUESTs pay five stars hotel price, not for this reason.
Your hotel lost the name by yourslef due to the managers.
Never come back shearton macau again.

Room Tip: We live 31 floor earth tower, it is high floor face Mt.and lake, high floor is better due to next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max_Taiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel, and we highly appreciate your valuable feedback. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your friend during your stay at our hotel. We agree that the high standards of our services were not met in this instance.
We have investigated the incidents that had happened during your stay. We are taking every possible action to make sure that similar incidents will not re-occur to other guests, and that our services will be improved. We would also like to assure you that additional training and guidelines will be provided to our associates to ensure we meet the Sheraton standards, and more importantly to meet our guests’ expectations.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We are grateful for your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do, and we hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
4.0 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#23 of 94 in Macau
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.8 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#11 of 94 in Macau
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central

Address: Estrada do Istmo. s/n, Cotai, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $122 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is the largest hotel in Macao with 4,001 well-appointed guestrooms and suites. It is also Starwood Hotels & Resorts’ largest hotel and Sheraton Club worldwide. Spread over two towers (‘Sky’ and ‘Earth’), Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central offers three signature restaurants, a lively lobby lounge, extensive function space, Shine Spa for Sheraton, three outdoor swimming pools and a new holistic approach to fitness with Sheraton Fitness. With its central location, modern facilities and friendly world-class service, Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is your ideal choice to experience the diverse and colorful culture of this unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing