We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't Deliver at the Club Level” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Doesn't Deliver at the Club Level”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoyed a well appointed Executive Suite - great space, comfy bed, fantastic view. For such a large hotel, the staff are well briefed on the hotels amenities + extremely polite & helpful. These are the highlights - the Club experience is the low point of the Sheraton. Having traveled extensively and experienced many club floors the Sheraton needs to re-think how this is achieved in a 4000 room hotel. Space is odd - feels like a cafeteria, little natural light & uncomfortable furnishings - due to over crowding a ball room was pressed into service - food sub-par - staff overwhelmed with the hordes of guests. I have never had to queue behind 150+ people to get entry into a lounge - requested breakfast vouchers for the main restaurant Feast on both days - food is better here - but had to queue again.
Think hard about paying the extra for the club level (note to hotel - stop offering Club level upgrades at check-in - this will help with crowd control at the club) - its not a real club - competing hotels offer a better experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the Club Level it doesn't deliver
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiNZExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear KiwilExplorer,

Thank you for your comments in connection with our services that did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you at the Club lounge. We have shared your comments about the over-crowding and long queue situation with respective departments and the management for further review and possible improvements. Please be assured that your valued comments would not go unnoticed as we truly appreciate you taking the time to write and highlighted the matter to our attention.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you.We hope to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,290
    1,538
    493
    155
    124
See reviews for
1,496
1,190
242
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We used a platinum upgrade to check out Macau on a weekend trip in the executive suite. Took the very convenient free shuttle from the ferry station and checked in at the convenient and less crowded lobby side check in area next to the bus (not the main lobby check in). When we checked in as a family of 4, we chatted with a front desk manager nearby, and he very nicely suggested that we have a family suite rather than the executive suite. It's people like him that make us so loyal to Starwood. The family suite was perfect for us, so much so that the kids did not want to leave the hotel and just wanted to hang out in their room the whole weekend, equipped with a large screen TV, Wii, bunkbeds (single on top and full size on the bottom), a stepstool and protective corners in the bathroom (and kid toothbrush and toothpaste and robe and slippers), etc etc. Kids are already asking to go back specifically to the Sheraton Macau. I think they just really appreciated the special details just for them in the suite. In one of the reviews below, someone mentioned cookies and candy, we did not get them in the family suite, but did not need them for the kids to fall in love with the room.

Staff - I notice that the "manager" type levels tended to be around and very good, but the majority of the other employees appeared new and less sure of how to give excellent service. However, I felt like that about the other nearby hotels (in asking for directions to the other casinos nearby). The place is big, but you have to expect this when you are choosing to go to the largest Sheraton in the world. However, there is a lot of staff standing around to direct you where you need to go, and we never had to wait, for check in/out or breakfast. When we had breakfast in the club lounge, there were 6 people waiting to check us in, and no other guests waiting. I can see how I would be annoyed if 200 people were in front of me to eat breakfast, but that was not the case when we visited. In fact, in walking around the other hotels, it felt less crowded at the Sheraton b/c the adjoining mall is so large and I think the Sheraton does not have a "draw" for random guests to come visit, like the Venetian Gondolas or the House of Dancing Water Show at the City of Dreams. We got lost once, and it looked like 3 "suited" managers were nearby, one specifically approached us to ask if he could help. After walking around once or twice, you can figure it out, so I don't think it's unreasonably confusing or large. In fact, the location and transportation is very good. Free shuttle to ferry, walking distance to city of dreams, venetian, four seasons, hard rock, etc. Free shuttle walking distance to Macau downtown plaza area (Wynn, tourist sites).

Food - the lounge food was fine. It has a larger selection than most lounges, but most hotels allow platinum guests to eat free breakfast at the lounge or in the breakfast restaurant (not here). Had the staples. It was nice that the hotel was attached to a mall with a food court that was also fine. We also ate at the dim sum restaurant in the mall that was good and reasonably priced. (yum cha, near the mcdonalds)

All in all, we really enjoyed our visit and will definitely return, probably when the weather is nicer so we can check out the pool.

Room Tip: choose how close you want to be by the elevator, b/c the hallways are long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear sfgirl3,

Thanks for staying at Sheraton Macao Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel, especially your children had a fun-filled experience at our Family Suite.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel about services, it really means a lot to our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked an Executive Suite with Club Floor privileges. The suite was very nice and well appointed, but that is where our happiness ended.

This hotel has 4,000 rooms so we thought a Club Floor would provide a more personal service and less crowds - we were soooo wrong. The whole Sheraton Macao club experience was a disappointment. The club lounge looks like a converted ball room, the food and beverage service feels like a slightly upscale cafeteria. It was noisy not enough chairs, no service, and uncontrolled children running around the lounge.

We couldn't even get into the lounge for breakfast, day 1 as it had a queue of 200 people (I am not exaggerating I counted them) waiting to be seated for breakfast... ! Day 2 was the same so we queued in the shorter queue in the hotels main restaurant (only 60 people in front of us).

I asked the club lounge receptionist how many people were staying in club rooms as the facility could not cope with the number of people in the lounge, she advised me that (whilst we staying) 500 rooms had club floor access as anyone can pay a small premium at checkin to access the Club Floor ..... You can imagine that if you are paying for a suite hearing this does not make any future stays stays at Sheraton properties an attractive proposition.

My recommendation stay somewhere else or book a standard room and and eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't book a Club Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalNomad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear GlobalNomad62,

We would like to thank you for spending your time to inform us that our service did not meet your expectations. We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and assure you that we are anxious to retain you as a satisfied guest. Regarding the long queue and overcrowding situation in the Club lounge, respective departments are taking every action possible to make sure that the situation will be improved.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience we have caused you. We are grateful for your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

New hotel in town which feels like a hotel. You can meet warm and friendly staff the minute you enter the hotel where staff greet and smile at you. The difference to other hotels in Macau, we feel welcomed and not just another guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear SGkid,

A big thank you for your wonderful feedback and great support to us! It would be such an encouragement to our associates who always strive to provide excellent service to our guests with a personal touch.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just spent 2 nites there with my family on a club floor room. Everything there is 5 stars ecept
I really don't like a hotel on top of a casino.
Breakfast and afternoon tea are good, especially one of the chinese dim sum at breakfast,
taste excellent.
However, the cleaning of the room is up to standard, first when we becked to our room at 3pm, the room still not beeen made up, we have to call the house keeping. More, after the room
been cleaned, our coffee mugs which we used the nights before still there not taken away.
On the whole , the staffs are well trained and very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: book a club floor room, otherwise you will be at a check in lobby (so big) like you are at HSBC Hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Macao Hotel. Your thoughts are important to us, but we are especially pleased when the feedback is positive. Moreover, thank you for bringing to our attention on cleanliness of the room, we have shared your feedback with the respective department for review and improvement. Additional training and guidelines will be provided to our associates to ensure we meet the Sheraton standards, and more importantly to meet our guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel about our services. We appreciate your stay and truly want to make your experience as pleasant as possible. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything about this hotel was fantastic - the location, the service, the rooms, the food & their amazing Spa. Located in the center of the shopping, dining and entertainment strip, there is nothing I can really fault about this hotel. The rooms and the view of the several pools was amazing, the Club experience which included free wifi throughout the hotel and free cocktails & breakfast was very handy. I had a couple of treatments at the Shine Spa which was unbelievable. The hotel is extremely well maintained and clean...but the most impressive aspect of our stay was just how friendly and helpful the staff were. This type of service is something you don't experience often and in all my travels I'd have to say is one of the best experiences I've had. Can't wait to stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Club Lounge option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Houri G,

Thank you for your wonderful support for Sheraton Macao Hotel and your encouraging feedback prompts us to continue providing excellent service to our guests with a personal touch.

We look forward to welcoming you again so that we could bring you another memorable stay!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Recently stayed at the newest property on the Cotai Strip, The Sheraton Macao at the Sheraton Club and the suite was absolutely amazing.
Very comfortable king size bed and a wonderfully big living room. It had all the works, two 40+ Led screens, huge bathrooms with a really nice bathtub.
Complimentary Wifi service along with buffet breakfast and evening cocktails. Although we never got to enjoy the cocktails as we were always out around that time.
I was a bit disappointed with the quality and the spread of the breakfast though, firstly it wasn't in a restaurant and it looked like what i thought was a banquet hall and secondly it wasn't as great a spread as you would find in other SPG hotels.
Besides that minor hiccup, the stay was wonderful, the staff is very helpful and best thing about the hotels at the strip is the complimentary shuttle service to almost all of macau.
Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monk5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Monk5000,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Macao Hotel for your first trip to Macau. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed everything at our hotel as well as the services provided to you by our associates. Your encouraging feedback prompts us to continue providing excellent service to our guests.

We do look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
4.0 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#24 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Macau
Hard Rock Hotel Macau
#18 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central

Property: Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Address: Estrada do Istmo. s/n, Cotai, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is the largest hotel in Macao with 4,001 well-appointed guestrooms and suites. It is also Starwood Hotels & Resorts’ largest hotel and Sheraton Club worldwide. Spread over two towers (‘Sky’ and ‘Earth’), Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central offers three signature restaurants, a lively lobby lounge, extensive function space, Shine Spa for Sheraton, three outdoor swimming pools and a new holistic approach to fitness with Sheraton Fitness. With its central location, modern facilities and friendly world-class service, Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is your ideal choice to experience the diverse and colorful culture of this unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing