We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE, HUGE, HUGE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,055 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,546 helpful votes
“HUGE, HUGE, HUGE!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a HUGE hotel, presently approx. 3'000 rooms - of which 570 are CLUB rooms, soon upgrading to 6'000 rooms. And doe to this everything is huge and very, very crowded, the reception, the lobby, the "Club Lounge".

If you don't have any SPG tier - good luck, you'll wait. If you have Gold tier you'll wait some minutes. I do have Platinum tier with SPG so normally I would be entitled to check in at the Club Lounge. Sadly they told me this when I already went through the line at Gold tier check-in (even I told them that I do have Platinum status).

Okay, up to the lounge. Everything is huge, but missing style and flair. Just nothing has any style, just like the standard 3* US chain hotel. We were upgraded to an Executive Suite which is really nice - but you've to walk and walk and walk. Long, long corridors without pictures, just empty walls.

The most terrible thing is the "Club Lounge". This has to serve 570 rooms and therefore has nothing to do with a Club Lounge at all. I stay at SPG because of the quitness of the Lounge, the more personal flair. But not here. This lounge has the "flair" of an US airlines lounge, but not First Class.

The food is poor, very poor. Yes, big selection, but it's clearly quantity over quality. And the presentation is horrible! Can you imagine how the platters look when people of 570 rooms are taking from them? Plus they don't replace fats enough. So you always have some totally massed up and some empty platters standing around. To get a Diet Coke is luck - because mostly the cooler with the soft drinks was empty.

The service staff is working really hard - but they're just not enough to serve this terrible "Club Lounge". If you want to go to the "Club Lounge" - try to get a table outside. At least it's nicer than sitting in this railway station waiting hall inside. Eat the fruits, they're good - avoid the rest. And don't even think of trying this "Cappuccino" they're serving for breakfast, it's just colored water.

If this hotel would have 3* - it would be 5 points in tripadvisor. But at higher than 3* ranking it's just a bad joke. Next time, despite my SPG Platinum status, I'll for sure chose another, more personal, more stylish hotel than this too huge Sheraton.

Room Tip: At another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear HONkiev,

We would like to thank you for spending your time to inform us that our service did not meet your expectations. We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and we agree that the high standards of our services were not met in this instance.

We have addressed the matters directly with related departments, and we are taking every action possible to make sure that our services will be improved. Additional trainings and guidelines will be provided to our associates to ensure we meet the Sheraton standards, and more importantly to meet our guests’ expectations.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We are grateful for your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. It is our company’s aim to satisfy our guests. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future and surely take your feedback for improvements.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,491
    1,630
    527
    164
    129
See reviews for
1,615
1,262
263
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I booked for two interconnecting rooms with a pre-opening offer price. All the hotel staff are friendly and attentive. They were kindly to offer a wheelchair to my aged father and also a fast track for check-in purpose. Still the check-in procedure required nearly half an hour and the two keys were found unable to open the doors. I hope after some time their service could be enhanced without the little chores we faced.

The hotel is built up with various little swimming pools, but it is adquate for my family alone to have one to swim with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augustbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We would like to thank you for the kind words you said about our hotel. We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful time at our hotel, and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. For the long-wait to check-in and the key problem, please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused to you. We will provide additional trainings and guidelines to our associates to ensure we meet the Sheraton standards, more importantly to meet our guests’ expectations.

We hope to serve you again in the future and surely take your feedback for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my first time to Macau...and WOW! It's amazing on so many levels.
It's always lovely to stay at Sheraton Hotels and this trip really confirmed it to us.

We caught the courtesy bus from the ferry terminal and were shown to the huge lobby for checkin at the SPG desk. There we were told we had been upgraded to the Sky Tower, which put us on a floor high up. Unfortunately not a view of the Cotai strip.
Staff were professional, efficient and helpful as always.
It was a very long walk to the room, down a corridor we called the "Green Mile."(color of the decor/carpets) . We barely saw another person on our floor the whole time of our stay.
The room/beds were large and clean with a wonderful bathroom with bath and separate, spacious shower.
Once we got our bearings, we discovered the hotel is part of the Sands complex, which contains other hotels all connected by an array of top end designer stores. You can walk for miles and venture across the main road to see the other casinos, such as The Venetian and The Galaxy. The Sheraton is actually the last hotel along the Cotai (for now anyway). We were a bit confused about transport ie. which bus to take and where but it was an easy 15 min taxi ride to the historical side of Macao, which was well worth it. In comparison to what we saw, the Sheraton is a more sedate, sensible hotel without all the garrishness of others. It is still very grand in its own way though.
The pool area is divided into sections with cabanas to give guests a feeling of spaciousness and privacy. The gaming area seemed only frequented by Chinese (we were the only Westerners around) and is discreetly screened off from view form the lobby, although easily accessible for those who must.
The breakfast buffet @ Feast deserves a special mention. It was by far the best we have ever seen with a wonderful choice of hot and cold foods. Salads, soups, platters of meats, salmon, Indian, Japanese, eggs, cheese section, breads and an entire sweets section of cupcakes, muffins, waffles and baked goodies.
The cocktail bar next to the lobby was a nice spot to have a nightcap and listen to some music.
Overall a very pleasant experience, we only stayed 2 nights but can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Cotai Strip view would be nice at night. For those with walking issues, ask for a room close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMacao, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Your thoughts are important to us, but we are especially pleased when the feedback is positive. Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel about our services. We appreciate your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed here mid October around 1 month after opening. I have to say for a huge resort like this the staff is very attentive and friendly, but compared to other large resorts e.g. in Las Vegas there is also just a fraction of guests around.

Clearly Macau is a day destination and many tourists, specially mainland Chinese, come over for just 1 day of sightseeing and gambling and leave in the evening. At 10 a.m. around 100 persons where already lined up for the players club card registration to open.

I naturally came for the same things, doing a little sightseeing and gambling. Stayed in a standard room and was offered to upgrade for an extra USD 30 per day to a Club room, but since I was not spending much time in the room, I did not go for the offer.

One day I took breakfast at their buffet which was priced at around USD 40, but was serving a very large variety on foods. From your typical breakfast dishes, up to Asian delicacies and a whole area of breads, pastries and a pancake/crepes station. Just wonderful!

The complete resort complex is quite high end as you can only find top brand stores like Rolex, Gucci, Bottega Veneta, Hermes etc. in the shopping part. You can simply walk over to the Conrad and Holiday Inn Hotels which are part of the Sands Cotai Strip complex as well. Between all those high end shops, it was actually quite odd to find a McDonalds, but looking at the long waiting line it seemed to be very popular.

The large food court area was literally empty the two times I have visited it. The first time during Lunch time where I was the only person sitting there, the second time during Dinner time about 4 customers were spread around over a seating area for 200 people. Might maybe also be because only Asian food was available and no international food or big brands where there. The only international brand was HagenDazs ice cream, but hey at least it is not always the same boring food court mix of BK, McD's and KFC.

At around 7 p.m. you really could see how empty the hotel got. The casino was maybe frequented to a fourth and the most popular games are those that I do not understand, like PaiGow, Baccarat, a game with a spinning wheel and one with a lighting board. Unfortunately the staff could not speak English and explain me any of these games. Never mind, i concentrated on the two games i knew: Roulette and Black Jack.
The table limits are quite high, the minimum bet for Black Jack is USD 30 per hand and 5 USD for Roulette.

I also ordered room service twice and had a quick and friendly service.

Why I know that not many tourists are staying overnight in Macau? I also walked over to the City of dreams complex with the HardRock and Hyatt Hotel as well as the Venetian Macau. Walking by the Cotai strip is is really lonely. There where hardly other people and if I saw one or two, they actually where staff going home.

Offcourse I also looked at the old city center with the Lisboa, Grand Lisboa, Wynn and MGM. There where clearly more people around there, but still not even close to Las Vegas.

If you want to do a city tour on a open double decker bus, there is one from the ferry terminal that lets you hopp on and off when you want to. The concierge only wants to sell you the tour with the hotel travel agent located at the shopping complex.

All in all I would suggest to stay at this hotel now, as long as it is not yet very crowded

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Pascal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Sheraton Macao for 3 days and it was enjoyable. We took the ferry from Hong Kong and the ever present complementary shuttle buses at the Macao Ferry Terminal were convenient and efficient. Shuttle got to the Sheraton in no time. Check in was a breeze and room provided was adequate. WIFI was interesting because when logging in, a notification would advise on internet "plan" but when I continued to apply for a 24hour access, I was pleasantly provided complimentary access for my stay. Club lounge for breakfast and cocktails is awesome with wide variety of nibbles (including YAKULT!) Fitness facility is better than my gym at home and the trainer was more than willing to provide great service and training tips. Swimming pools were a bit chilly though and were strangely laid out. I was also concerned w/ the taxi queue at the hotel. We planned a day in old Macao and the queue for the taxi was a block long. Aside from these minor flaws, I think the Sheraton was a pleasant stay. The staff is friendly, professional, knowledgable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rombom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I recently had a holiday in Hong Kong. At the end of our trip we decided to have two days in Macau and chose the brand new Sheraton Macao Hotel to stay. We were picked up by comfortable complimentary shuttle bus and delivered to the hotel. The Sheraton only opened on 20th September 2012, one month earlier, so there were still people working on the fixtures, although this did not interrupt our stay at all. The hotel was so large it was easy to get lost, but there are staff members everywhere to help you and point you in the right direction.

We stayed on the 34th floor with a very impressive view over the Venetian Hotel across the road. Our room was very spacious and luxurious, with the most wonderfully comfortable bed, pillows and doona, and the bathroom large and also luxurious with a seperate bath and shower. The gowns were thick and comfortable as were the slippers provided. There are a few crystal clear pools for you to swim in and a few cabanas for resting by the pool.

We joined the Sheraton Club where guests have special access to the Club Lounge, which offers complimentary breakfast, afternoon hors d’oeuvres and a variety of beverage options.

Whilst we were there it was our 44th Wedding Anniversary and we were delighted to find rose petals, wine and chocolates had been left in our room, and the staff members all greeted us with "Happy Anniversary" wishes which made the day very special.

The staff are very professional whilst still being very helpful and friendly. There is nothing that is too much trouble for them to make sure that your stay is an exceptional one. Two people who stood out for us were Alexander in the restaurant, and Joey in the Sheraton Club.

If you want to go into the city, or to another of the many hotels or casinos there is a complimentary shuttle bus available, and when you are ready to leave a shuttle bus delivers you to the ferry terminal.

On the whole this was a wonderful place to stay and we were sorry that we only had allowed a two night visit. Hopefully we will be able to return where we will make sure that we stay for longer.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Cotai Strip are good. The hallways are large and long and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Deluxe Suite with our two kids and the suite was astonishing and contained everything desirable. With access to the Club Lounge we also had everything within F&B available and we enjoyed a nice breakfast buffet and dinner cocktails. The outside pool area is also very nicely drawn up with several individual pools and many private areas. Combine this with a very nice crew who offered a high level of service (despite being a newly opened hotel) and you have what you need for a perfect family stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you stay as a family the Deluxe Suite is asthonishing is affordable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
4.0 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#29 of 95 in Macau
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central

Property: Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Address: Estrada do Istmo. s/n, Cotai, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is the largest hotel in Macao with 4,001 well-appointed guestrooms and suites. It is also Starwood Hotels & Resorts’ largest hotel and Sheraton Club worldwide. Spread over two towers (‘Sky’ and ‘Earth’), Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central offers three signature restaurants, a lively lobby lounge, extensive function space, Shine Spa for Sheraton, three outdoor swimming pools and a new holistic approach to fitness with Sheraton Fitness. With its central location, modern facilities and friendly world-class service, Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central is your ideal choice to experience the diverse and colorful culture of this unique city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing