We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best American style food in Macau”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Ranked #14 of 724 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hard Rock Cafe is the only place in Macau to enjoy authentic American food with live music and precious rock ‘n’ roll memorabilia. Guests of Hard Rock Cafe Macau can enjoy fresh, high-quality American-style menu items as well as regional favorites. In addition to food, Hard Rock Cafe’s extensive, award-winning drink menu includes signature favorites, aromatic coffees and cocktails.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,414 reviews
1,739 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,772 helpful votes
“Probably the best American style food in Macau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We recently stopped by HRC for a late lunch, enjoying a order of the Hard Rock Cafe Nachos (MOP127) with a side of guacamole (+MOP32) along with a round of margaritas. Like past stops here, we were pleased with the environs, food, drinks and friendly staff service.

Interestingly, many HRCs around the world seemed to switch their nacho ingredients last year, reducing the amount of pure grated cheese they used and adding a layer of queso sauce to the lower layer of the chips. We were sorely disappointed when this happened as you really can't effectively mix grated cheese and queso, it just doesn't work and the quality of HRC nachos that we tried in places like Prague and Singapore was just poor. Luckily, the HRC in Macau doesn't do this, they still serve up the nachos with grated cheese only. Also, the dish is huge, easily large enough for two people to share.

In addition to this being a very large nacho serving, it tastes pretty good as well. Toppings are fresh and tasty, especially the jalapeños, the chips large and crispy and the grated cheeses being of good quality and flavour. Overall, this was a pretty good batch of nachos to eat (rating 3.5 of 5). One easy improvement, however, would be to address the cheese distribution before baking. We found too many lower layer chips to be bare while those on the top layer were often drowning in cheese. Its nicer when the cheese is spread out more evenly.

Frozen Lovely Ritas (MOP85) were pretty good. This is a drink that too many places fail to blend and make correctly in this part of the world. What we had at Hard Rock during our recent lunch was pretty good (rating 3.5 of 5).

This was another good stop at the Hard Rock Cafe in Macau, which is probably the best restaurant for classic American style food available in Macau at present. We recommend this HRC based on several good meals here since they have opened.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a good review. We are so pleased to hear that you liked the food, drinks,the environs and the friendly staff service.

We are grateful for your recommendation and inspired us further to deliver excellent service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Macau.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    245
    70
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Entertainment in Macau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent two nights in Macau for the 2013 Grand Prix. Our group ended up at the Hard Rock Cafe closing out both nights.
First bit of advice: do not go for the food. Go for the live music. If you're a littlehungry, they have ample snacks to keep you happy, but the dinners are not spectacular. That being said, the music was great. I brought colleagues in on a trip from Japan and met friends, and everyone was more than pleased with the experience. I will go again during my next trip to Macau.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks a lot for an outstanding review. We are so delighted to hear you and your group enjoyed our live music.

With your great compliments, we are more inspired of keeping Hard Rock Cafe, "one of the best entertainment in Macau".

We will be happy to see you again on your next visit.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Enjoyed my birthday dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe in Macao during the earlier part of this year. The hostess and waiter were polite and very friendly. They pumped us up for the nightly entertainment, but unfortunately we had a very long day and an early next morning so we did not stay. I don't like making my birthday known, but they did surprise me with a delicious treat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you very much for an excellent review and for celebrating your special day with us. We are so glad to hear that you had a blast that night.

Looking forward to welcoming back on your next visit to Macau.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service and a waste of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We came to the Hard Rock Macau for lunch and waited for over an hour for our meals (salad and fried noodles). When we asked the staff to check on our food, all they said was they were busy... which is what any decent restaurant should be. It is an absolute waste of time and the service is just awful. No point coming here at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thefoodiekris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and letting us know of our shortcomings.

We sincerely apologize for the not so good experience you had with us. We can assure you that this definitely is not our standard.

Hope you could give us an opportunity to make it up to you. Once again, we are so sorry and we sincerely hope to see you again.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
351 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Exactly as expected...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The décor had interesting memorabilia dotted around the place, the food portions were large and tasty, the servers were happy and good fun, and the band playing later on were entertaining.

You couldn't reasonably expect more from a Hard Rock Café, and wouldn't be disappointed with what is offered!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks so much for a nice review. We are so glad you had a great time and met your expectations of Hard Rock Cafe.

Looking forward to rock your world again here in Macau or in any Hard Rock Cafe around the world.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing