We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of a day: Go for an overnight trip or not at all.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macao Government Tourism Office

Macao Government Tourism Office
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.64*
and up
Hong Kong and Macau Attractions Pass
Ranked #35 of 242 things to do in Macau
Attraction details
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Waste of a day: Go for an overnight trip or not at all.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were drawn in hook, line and sinker by the UNESCO World Heritage rating of Senado Square and surrounds in the original Portugese part of town. When we got there, after all the hassle, we found it's just a bunch of facades. Very beautiful facades, absolutely, but that's all there is. We found a humble & grubby hall with some info on each building, and the environment there reminded me very much of Havana in Cuba. The only recognisable cafe or restaurant type places we could identify that might have a bite to eat were McDonalds and Starbucks, which seemed an atrocity and so wrong for that environment. We did try some delicious local pressed beef at a street stall. That was in fact the only highlight of the whole, long, tiresome day. There's nothing to see, and there's precious few plaques or signage of any substance in English. There's the basic street signs, but you really need to read up thoroughly before coming, and plan exactly what you want to see and why.
It was such a pain getting there; waiting at ferry terminals, sitting on the bumpy ferry, losing internet access altogether once we were away from Hong Kong waters, taxi'ing to the Square, and back again. There's two different ferry ports, or maybe more. We were taken to the wrong one at the end of the day by our taxi driver. There were a lot of people on our return trip and coming back into Honk Kong through immigration took for ever. I would never, ever recommend this as a day trip to anyone, and I really have no idea why people have done so.
It annoys me, because there is so much more we could have done with that day in beautiful, clean, sophisticated Hong Kong. As soon as we got off the ferry and saw the weird, ugly place that is dowdy old Chinese Macau, I knew we'd made a mistake. The crass, glitzy, Las Vegas like structures you pass installed on this unattractive landscape are bizarre - really ludicrous, and we had no interest in inspecting them more closely. But then we're not gamblers!
Overall, I'm very glad UNESCO are protecting the Portugese part of town, but I do not think anyone with a genuine interest in heritage architecture should go to Macau for a just a day trip. Stay for at least one night and maybe two; do your homework, and explore on foot, if you have the time and inclination. We will never return. Just feel there are so many more engaging places to go in the world. It is a tourist haven for mainland Chinese, and not a place for me and my loved ones. Very shabby and simultaneously inappropriately glitzy... Weird combo. Just our own personal opinion obviously.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank MissDebonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    127
    43
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Historical Tour Macau!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Although I've seen beautiful churches before at least they've showcased the best of what they got.The preservation made with their landmarks are awesome. Their bus transport system is also easy and commuting isn't a problem ( specially with their free shuttle buses in Macau Terminal ) It's good a lot of foreigners are present because we didn't have a hard time asking for directions. The senado square is a must attraction (incl. the churches ,temples ) you can witness how most of the people there thrive in their day to day life.
The streetfoods around the area are good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John Alfred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth more than a day's trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been to Hong Kong quite a few times in the past. This year, I wanted to do something different and started out planning a day trip to Macau. Armed with research from Tripadvisor, we set out on our own and were pleased with the experience.

We took the TurboJet from the terminal across Kowloon Park. We did not buy a return ticket because we did not want to be pressured to go back at a specific hour. The TurboJet ride is actually available every hour until 3am or thereabouts. They resume operations by 6 or 7am. The ride was fast and not too bumpy. Very comfortable seating area and spacious legroom even if we just got the regular ticket.

Upon docking, immigration was fast. Then we proceeded to the hotel bus area where we boarded the Wynn Hotel bus. We were headed to the Wynn Hotel to view the fountain and meet with a cousin.

At the Wynn, we had late lunch then proceeded to view the fountain before crossing the street to head to the Senado Square. We just walked a few blocks and upon reaching Senado Square, we made our way to Ruins of St. Paul and the Fortress.

The streets leading to the Ruins were very nice, lined with lanterns. We bought our souvenir Macau shirts off a street vendor. Reasonable price but make sure you try to bargain for a lower price.

We walked back to Wynn Hotel and boarded the bus going to Galaxy Hotel on the other island. we had dinner at the Galaxy Hotel after watching the indoor lights show at their lobby near the drop off. We had dinner at Spaghetti House and walked around the hotel a bit. We were feeling a bit tired and it was already 11pm. Ask for directions when you are going to board the bus to return you to the other side. As it turned out, the bus area was different from the drop off when you arrived. It's at the opposite side of the hotel.

Upon returning to Wynn, we watched the fountain show again since it was already night time then proceeded to watch the Tree of Prosperity. We checked out the slot machines then went to a bar in MGM Hotel where there was a band playing. In between sets, there would be house music.

We went to a nightclub afterwards since we already missed the 3am last trip of TurboJet. We killed time then had very early morning breakfast after the club. Rode the hotel bus going back to the terminal. We got on the 7am boat ride and were back in Hong Kong after an hour. Took a cab from the terminal to the hotel because we were just too tired.

We were very happy with our decision to squeeze in a day trip to Macau. It was tiring but worth it. Next time, we will try to stay in Macau longer to explore it more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank SirisManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
917 reviews
338 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

A great day out.
Found a great local tour company in the ferry area.
Carlos the owners son only young but a great guide.
Saw all the main tourist sights in about 3 hours. About £15 each. Good value but haggle on prices.
Delivered us at the Venetian as requested to see this important milestone of Macau.
Don't bother !!!
A huge monstrosity where not even the staff can guide you around. We had an under 21 so had lots long walks as we couldn't short cut the routes via the Casino.
An experience tone forgotten. Thank god we can find McDonalds in it!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good for the experience although I don't feel the need to take the trip again. Very easy to do, although remember you'll need your passport! Take the high speed ferry over and spend a little extra to travel on the upper deck, its worth it. All the big hotels have a free bus service to take you to the centre so don't bother with a taxi, just hop on the MGM shuttle bus and you can explore from there. I'm not really into gambling but it was amazing to see the vast hotels and the huge floors offering every type of betting you might want. There are of course other sites to see of the old Portugese Macau with plenty of free tourist maps available at the ferry terminal, its good to see both the old and new Macau and its a nice day out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macao Government Tourism Office also viewed

 

Been to Macao Government Tourism Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing