We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service”
Review of ALBERGUE 1601

ALBERGUE 1601
Ranked #97 of 756 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Experience traditional Portuguese-Macanese cuisine in a Colonial Heritage complex which overlooks a calcada courtyard guarded by centuries-old Camphor trees. Located in the heart of the Historical Neighborhood of St. Lazarus Quarter, Restaurante ALBERGUE 1601 serves a menu specialized in local favorite Portuguese & Macanese recipes. Discover unique flavors of Macau that has been developed and refined through more than four hundred years of East meeting West.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Had an early dinner at Albergue 1601 last night. With only three people, we ordered quite a lot of food because everything on the menu seemed very attractive: stuffed squid, fried cod fish balls, stuffed crab, pig's ear salad, garlic bread, Portuguese sausages, garlic shrimps, white wine lemon clams, grilled cod fish, seafood rice soup sawdust pudding.... Everything was excellent. Both the owner and the chef were very friendly. The atmosphere was superb. Would definitely recommend friends to go there if they were to visit Macau. Just make sure you tell the cab driver the exact address of the place or else it's easy to get lost.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tysonholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    42
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food, exceptional service, stunning location”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The food was utterly delicious, very high quality Maccanese / Portuguese style cooking. The staff are very professional and incredibly friendly, they made us feel hugely welcome, especially as we arrived at an awkward time and they were fully booked, but they still managed to squeeze us in. The tables out in the courtyard ar lovely, surrounded by colonial buildings and with a beutiful tree in the middle. It really was perfect. I would recommend it to anyone going to Macau.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank KH_in_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Portuguese in Macau!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our hotel made the booking for us after we walked up the previous night and couldn't get a table. Glad we decided to try to come back! The clams in lemon sauce were delicious, the sangria just right, and the "sawdust pudding" a nice, light dessert.

With attentive service, a great view overlooking a little square, and a sweet Portuguese shop across the way, it was a lovely way to spend our last night in Macau.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EAWilson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A little restaurant located away from city center. The area around is quite beautiful. We ordered a special dish, clams in lemon sauce which was very delicious and the taste was special. I went to quite a few restaurants in Macau but have not tried any one cooked clams using this sauce. The seafood rice was also good. Of course the price was a bit more expensive than other restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank garfieldHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Portugal at the other end of the world”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We as Portugal aficionados strived around Macao to find the perfect Portuguese spot thousands of miles away from 'Rossio' and 'Marquese Pombal'. And indeed we found it - nice and remotely located in a vicinity close to the backstreet feeling of Lisbon or Porto. We were a bit late for lunch but convinced the charming waitress to have quick round of some entrees with local beer. The food was tasty and quite Portuguese style. We tried different seafood incl. Bacalhau dishes and liked what was served on our plates. Everything freshly prepared in this calm garden like setting. Many interesting entries on the wine list - especially from Portuguese estates. So do not leave Macao without a lunch or dinner break in the Albergue!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilike2travel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ALBERGUE 1601 also viewed

 

Been to ALBERGUE 1601? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing