We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really worth a visit.”

Hac Sa (Black Sand) Beach
Ranked #56 of 242 things to do in Macau
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not really worth a visit.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The black sand beach is where you go when you live in Macau and want to go to the beach. The water isn't very blue, nor does the sand look any clean. The beach is usually inundated with teenagers doing barbecues or Chinese people taking wedding photos. I would try to skip this beach. Cheoc Wan is nicer..

Helpful?
2 Thank OuterLimitTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    37
    37
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No more black sands”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The beach was rather quiet when we visited it on a weekend. The sands are no longer black, it seems that it has been filled with other sands due to erosion. Not really worth the visit unless you have the time. The beach was also quite a distance away from the other attraction.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank myonlywan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“so romantic atmosphere!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I don't really know why this beach is called "black sand beach", cause actually its sand is not that black, but i surely know my girlfriend and I simply love this place! We find the atmophere so romantic, especially when it gets dark, and if you are there don't forget to eat at Fernando's, it's a must! Close to this beach there is also a youth hostel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank safeyu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It's not a pretty beach, so only go if you're having dinner at Fernando's”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Chinese name is Hac Sa, meaning black sand and the sand is somewhat dark black and fine. There's not much there, so most only go down to the beach for a walk after a full meal at the famous Fernando's. Fernando is not proper Portuguese food. It's mainly roasted suckling pig, grilled sardines, grilled chicken, garlic shrimps and a few other dishes, but it's grill food, not proper Portuguese food. Another reason to only go to the beach is when they have the International Music Festival where it's free to listen to a night of music.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank whatsupmacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sand didn't seem that black”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I have visited a number of beaches, and this one wasn't bad but wasn't amazing either. It is quiet, or at least was when I went, which was a plus and the beach is kept quite clean. I had hoped the sand might be a little more noticeably black then a standard beach.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hac Sa (Black Sand) Beach also viewed

 

Been to Hac Sa (Black Sand) Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing