We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome”

Macau Giant Panda Pavilion
Ranked #20 of 243 things to do in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Simply awesome”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

For the equivalent of $1.50 US entry fee, you get to spend up to an hour watching two three-year old pandas feed themselves and play in their indoor pavillion. Really a nice set up for both visitors and pandas alike. There are other attractions, like an ostrich, some monkeys, two black swan and some flamingos, but the Pandas are the reason for going to this Zoo. Timing important though. They close mondays, and there is no viewing between 12 and 1 or 1 and 2, i can't quite remember, so the pandas can rest. And the zoo closes at 5 pm. Also, getting there is not easy. Just take a cab, from the cotai strip area, it is less than $4 US i think. Also, betting back can be a problem -- no cabs were readily available so we took the local bus back to the strip for less $1. Plan about two hours minimum, maybe three if you are taking the bus back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank notperfectalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    163
    73
    26
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“If you like Pandas ....”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It is a small park at the south of island. Entrance is free, but you must pay for visiting of panda.
Also you can see pink flamingos.
You can see pandas, panda's statues and you can learn all about pandas and you can buy panda's souvenirs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank yury98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived at the Panda Park at 9:50 not realising that it didn't open until 10:00. We took the local bus from old Macau. We had quite a tour of the city but just had to take the 1 bus so we didn't mind. We saw parts of the city we wouldn't have seen otherwise.
As we were early there were no other visitors at the park. At 10 o'clock we were escorted into see the Pandas with a security guard. Rules are clearly posted - eg: no flash photography or loud noises. Food had just been put out for the bears and they were busy eating. We really enjoyed the experience and felt the bears were well cared for. We spent about 15 minutes with them. We do recommend going first thing in the morning as the bears are quite active and their facial expressions while they were eating was quite entertaining at times.
It was depressing to see the condition the other animals were kept in. It looked like they were building new facilities while we were there but not sure what animals they were for.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RestlessKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Macau Pandas”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Closed on Mondays. I walked up the road to see the sea goddess statue instead and that is quite a walk. Doable but forewarned is forearmed. I'm 50 a little unfit and it was fine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Torn”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Like others that have visited the giant pandas in Macau I am torn about the conditions under which the pandas and monkey live, but I still paid the 10 MOP ($1.50AUD) to enter and look at the pandas, which I really enjoyed seeing. It really only takes about 45 minutes to see the panda's, monkeys and ostrich and was only about a 10 minute taxi ride from our hotel The Venetian. The pandas were chomping away on leaves and then sleeping in the short time we saw them. One of the monkeys was making the most horrendous noise when we were there, sounded like a siren! I did notice that they are building a new enclosure at the venue, I hope this is for the monkeys as the concrete cages where they are housed now is not acceptable. We saw the funniest thing, one of the ostrich was doing a 'no.2' and it's quite a unique thing to see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Millsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macau Giant Panda Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Macau Giant Panda Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing