We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macau Giant Panda Pavilion

Macau Giant Panda Pavilion
Ranked #22 of 242 things to do in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The location is far away with taxi's not available immediately. They have only 1 Panda who may or may not be awake. Instead look at the Pandas at Ocean World.

It is worth visiting this for other birds and animals rather than seeing Pandas.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank VAT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    149
    71
    25
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane QLD
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Check the opening times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We traveled all the way out by Taxi on a Monday to see the Pandas only to discover it is always closed on Mondays. This is not written in the official local tourist guide nor did the hotel know to inform us. We returned the following day. The enclosures look like they need some maintenance the bears looked forlorn with nothing to play with as equipment is missing or broken and the water play was not functioning. It was an oportunity to see Pandas but dissapointing to see the conditions they are held in.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank awayagainBrisbaneQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wish I could hug them!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We went to Macau's Giant Panda Pavilion on May 27,2012. We rode the Transmac bus26 from Ponte Cais N.14 Bus Stop in Central Macau. This bus travels to Coloane Island. One way trip costs MOP$5. You can ride the same bus back to Central Macau.

We got to Seac Pai Van Park (it houses the Giant Panda Pavilion) at 9:30am and the panda viewing ticket booth was still closed. First viewing schedule was 10-11am. They only allow a good number of guests per hour until their closing time. You can check out their schedule through http://www.macaupanda.org
Adults are charged MOP$10 each but children can view them for free.

Since we were very early, we were able to look around the park. We had fun taking pictures of the ostrich, monkeys, ape, and other animals. And was able to let my friends' little kids to run around the play area. Only the Pavilion had a viewing fee since it was in a fully airconditioned structure.

Souvenirs are also sold in the park.

We were told by the guards that the best time to view them was at 10-11am because it was their feeding time. That means they're always awake and out at that time. When we got in, true enough they were in separate feeding areas and were munching on big piles of bamboo stalks! They looked so big and huggable!!!

It was our first time to see pandas and it was really worth it! Never thought they could eat so much!

If you'll be going to Macau, make sure you visit the pandas! :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hotbabedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan, Caloocan, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good if you really love Pandas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I rated this place high even though when we went there, the Pandas were asleep. The sight of live Pandas is still a delight for me. Our friends went there the following day and they were able to catch them awake and playing. You can also check the mini zoo they have outside. The best time to visit them is in the afternoon when they're already awake.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gayle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Worth a visit to see the Panda exhibition. We arrived at 2.30p.m from The Venetian. It was a short 10 minute taxi ride and cost $30HKD. Entry was $10HKD.

The two pandas were amazing, luckily we saw them at feeding time. They were both walking around and very active. There is plenty to see other than the pandas. You could easily spend at least an hour here. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macau Giant Panda Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Macau Giant Panda Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing