We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staycation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Okura Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Okura Macau
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Macau, China
1 review
“Great Staycation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Okura is indeed a great place to stay. My wife surprised me for my birthday celebrations allowing us to embark into the perfect hotel experience. We were very impressed from start to finish, with the door team and Tam’s greeting us by name, with Arie and his team especially Amy and Doris pampering us at the Club which I can recommend, the personal touches in the elegant suite, the fine welcome amenities, spotless housekeeping services access to the Galaxy Resort Deck, an amazing Japanease Chef.... I could go on. I do want to single out Gloria who took very good care of us, she is a true star and the Okura is very lucky to have her. We will be back.

Room Tip: It's worth to pay a little extra to book the superior suite. On the corner of the building, ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Christoph D,

Thank you for the many praises to our hotel and our staffs. We are extremely honored that you and your wife were impressed with the room setup and the personalized service given. It is our goal to provide excellent service to all our guests while being friendly and attentive, so that their stay will be like home away from home. Our staffs pride themselves in being amicable and attentive—providing each of our guests the Okura Experience.

It has been a pleasure being able to help make your stay memorable for both you and your wife. We work hard to make sure everything is flawless from beginning to end and it is our dearest wish that we were able to make your stay comfortable and delightful. Your compliments to the specially recognized staffs (Gloria, Arie, Amy, Doris, Tom, Japanese Chef) have been extended accordingly.

We are very excited to know that you will visit Hotel Okura Macau again and eagerly look forward to welcoming you and yoru family back in the near future.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    284
    76
    28
    25
See reviews for
550
484
59
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Every staff I met with polite manner which is great.

However, there is lack of spa and pool information and in the room menu and even a enquiry hotline.

Pillow was so soft that I feel not comfortable at all.there should be some more choice.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Elaine C,

Thank you for sharing your comments from your last visit at Hotel Okura Macau. Your valuable assessments will help our hotel reevaluate what our guests' needs are and ensure satisfaction of future guests. Kindly note that our hotel offers eight types of pillows (with different levels of firmness) located conveniently inside the room--we hope that next time you will have a chance to sleep on one for a peaceful night's sleep.

It is our dearest wish that you will visit us again so that we may have another chance to show you how wonderful our hotel and its faciltiies are--providing you with an amazing stay.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Basically, hotel is nice, staff are polite, little problem in communication in English or Cantonese. I book a suite which had breakfast and afternoon in the 6th floor, the choice is less and the environment is not that good. They are mean if you bring your child, both to the pool on the top floor and the restaurant, you will be charged. I spent mire than$4000 per night for a suite and still being charged for the kid. People go for suite normally because they had a family and need more space. For this, Sheraton did much more thinking on this. They allow 2 people for a club room and 3 person on a suite. Also, they had hot meat on the evening serving. I hope the management can consider such arrangements again. I definitely will chose Sheraton if I went with my family.

Room Tip: The room are standard, no need to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank louisakflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear louisakflo,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Okura Macau. We appreciate the critic you have given, and we will pass all your comments to our Senior Management for further action and consideration. Kindly note that many hotels implement different policies; however, when there is a better policy that will allow our guests to have a memorable experience, it will considered.

Despite the minor setback you encountered, we truly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel to experience the many improvements--we eagerly await your return.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I loved my stay at okura! I had so much fun this past stay! I informed the hotel that it was my honeymoon this visit and they made special arrangements in the room! it was so romantic, they made an elephant towel with rose petal decorations in the room and also gave a gift of a bottle of champagne, macaroons, and a cake. it was heart-warming that the hotel did so much work for us to celebrate our honeymoon ^-^.
I like that the check-in and check-out was smooth and the staffs were so friendly and professional.
I felt that this hotel has trained their staff really well. i will definitely be back again during the summer with my partner, i can't wait to swim in the sky wave pool (i didn't get to use it this time because i think the weather is still cool).
Wait for us Okura!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roygu190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear roygu190,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Okura Macau to celebrate your honeymoon. We are extremely pleased that you found our hotel to be superbly satisfactory. Our hotel works hard day and night to implement improvements and new surprises for our guests' enjoyment. We hope that you found our newest elephant towel decoration to be a great surprise.

Our staffs try their best to allow our guests to feel relaxed and at ease--it is wonderful to know that you were happy with our staffs' performance and behavior. We await anxiously for your return to Hotel Okura Macau in the following months.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Outstanding CS , beyond our expectations! We would highly recommend to others who want to hv a memorable experience staying in Macau. We stayed at the royal suite ( upgraded thanks to Arie , v helpful, friendly staff). the only area could improve in is the afternoon tea set n evening drinks . Perhaps by adding finger bites sandwich in the tea set instead of only serving all sweets ( for those who may not be a big fan of sweet desserts) as well as having guests hv the choice of enjoying the afternoon tea sets n evening drinks in their guests room so that guests could enjoy the facility in their room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joice852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Joice852,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Okura Macau. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your room and our hotel's facilities. We hope that you had enough time during your stay to enjoy the room facilities to your heart's content.

Summer weather is arriving soon, and we hope that you will revisit Hotel Okura Macau to further enjoy our hotel and the Sky Wave pool again.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

To Hotel Okura Macau:
The purpose of this review is to compliment Ms. Gloria from the Guest Service Team. She has a strong passion for her work, and treats all guests (no matter if they are VIP guests or just a regular guest) with respect and caring—giving personalized service that this industry demands. All guests can often see her standing in the Executive Lounge to assist guests with their inquiries, or to simply point out where the rooms are located. In terms of our dining, entertainment, and staying accommodations, she caters to our every whim.
She is a person with integrity and virtue; unique in her own way, making her stand out from the rest of the managers I have ever met. Her fierce passion for her job influences her team, making them also passionate workers, and follows her steps in giving excellent service to guests like myself. Their sincerity and passion has touched me, making it impossible for me to choose any hotel other than Hotel Okura Macau to stay at. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Choose to stay at their Executive floor, as the rooms on those floor have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mei b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear mei b,

Thank you for holding our Guest Service Team Manager, Ms. Gloria, and her team to such high esteem. Kindly note that your message has been shared with Ms. Gloria and her team; in which they responded with smiles of happiness. We are truly honored that you appreciate the hard work and efforts of our Guest Service Team and other staffs that you may have encountered throughout your stay, and hope that our staffs' excellent servce continue to touch the hearts of all our guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us at Hotel Okura Macau; our staffs (especially our Guest Service Team) eagerly await your arrival.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Attentive and helpful staff, excellent rooms with the latest up-to-date amenities and fittings. Space is generous and comfort is of the highest standard. The lobby area is Spartan and cold, but then the purpose is to visit the huge Casino area and the myriad of restaurants and bars within the Galaxy complex. The Hotel boasts a huge wave pool and offers a wide variety of activities. Having explored neighbouring properties I would choose the Okura once again for my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkuraMacau, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Okura Macau, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Markalso,

Thank you for your review on your recent visit to Hotel Okura Macau. We appreciate the your compliments on the great room décor and facilities, as well as, the comment about the lobby area. We strive to make all the hotel's surroundings to be warm and homely; therefore, we have noted your comment and will be submitted for review.

It makes our staffs extremely happy to know that out of the three properties, you will choose Hotel Okura Macau again. We hope that you will enjoy the Sky Wave pool and other facilities again during your next stay with us.

Hotel Management
Hotel Okura Macau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
0.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#5 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#4 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Macau

Property: Hotel Okura Macau
Address: Avenida Marginal Flor de Lotus, Cotai, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Okura Hotels & Resorts brings its signature blend of modern comfort and tradition to the Galaxy Macau™, providing a distinctly Japanese interpretation of “World Class, Asian Heart” hospitality for guests at this spectacular resort. Leisure and business travelers at Hotel Okura Macau can choose from opulent suites or luxurious guest rooms that offer the highest-quality relaxation through Okura’s harmonious combination of function and comfort. Hotel Okura Macau was founded on the principle that its hotels must consistently offer the best accommodation, cuisine and service … a complete experience that visitors to Macau may now experience for the first time, only at Galaxy Macau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Okura Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing