We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great suite, great service”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Travelled May 2013. Booked a king room for 1 night. We arrived by ferry from Hong Kong and upon exiting the ferry terminal it took us a few minutes to find the free Galaxy shuttle bus among the long line of hotel shuttle buses. We waited approx 15 minutes aboard the bus before it was ready to depart and it took approx 15 minutes to reach the hotel.

Despite frequently visiting Las Vegas and researching Macau before our trip, we were still a little stunned to see the scale of the hotels. Many of the hotels are larger than their Vegas counterparts. Galaxy seemed to be the size of one the larger Vegas hotels. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly hotel staff and led to the reception area. The long line moved quickly and we were checked-in in under 10 minutes. The hotel clerk noticed that it was my birthday and upgraded us to a Royal Suite! It was a wonderful surprise.

Even though we only had 24 hours to explore Macau, I wanted to spend all our time in the room - our suite was that amazing. Very high ceilings, lovely decor, spacious, impeccably clean and a great view of the hotel grounds and multiple pools. The suite had a sitting area with a large tv, a half bath, a well stocked (free) mini bar and a walk-in closet. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was equipped with ambient lighting and convenient outlets near the nightstand. The bathroom was great - large soaking tub, huge shower stall and a small tv tucked into the vanity mirror. Wifi was free and fast. Air conditioning was silent and efficient.

We weren't sure where to stay in Macau and were a little worried that Cotai might be too far from points of interest on the other side of Macau but Galaxy has a fleet of free shuttle buses ready to transport you to almost anywhere in Macau. They depart frequently - I think the longest we waited for a shuttle was 10 minutes. Thanks to the great transportation system, we were easily able to see most of the other casinos as well as downtown Macau, Senate Square, and the ruins of St Paul's during our short trip. The staff was great - friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. We didn't have a chance to try any of the restaurants at Galaxy so I cannot comment on the food.

I highly recommend the suites at Galaxy Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 32165. Great suite, nice view of the pool and hotel grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear tsam3,
I was happy that you enjoyed our service, the convenience of our hotel shuttle bus and the suite we provided for your special occasion. Please do come and visit us again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back to us.

Warmest regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 2,672 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Room is not bad ,cozy bed, free wifi, commercial centers hotels, restaurants and shops is very convenient, but very noisy in hotel, even in my room outside also noise, I clearly to hear peoples to talking.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mimi_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hello mimi_smile,
May I start out by expressing the hotels sincerest apologies for the fact that your quiet enjoyment of the property was interrupted by the noise from the other guests. It was so very unfortunate that some of the guests were not being considerate when they were in the corridor and specially near the lift landing area. We would have loved to have found an alternative room for you had we known your privacy was being affected at the time. Please feel free to reach to us for assistance on your future visit.
Warmest regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Relations Manager
Email: nathan.yu@galaxyentertainment.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The moment you enter the hotel gate it is riot of colors right in the centre of lobby where Psychedelic fountain lights are playing continuously.A diamond show is held every 30 mins in which a huge diamond emerges right from the centre of fountain with accompanying music.The theme of the lobby decoration is peacock feathers.Rooms are very well and tastefully done and glass wall separating the room from bathroom adds volume to the room.Views of swimming pool and peacock garden from the room window are wonderful.The wavepool is unique and must experience .Warm open air jaccuzi is romantic too.The checkin and checkout procedure were very smooth.The triple hotel complex of Galaxy,Bantyan tree and Ocura gives a lot of choice for restaurants in the same complex and there is a food court too.Overall very nice experience.Free bus service to everywhere in town is worth appreciation and saves you lot of money too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundoll2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello Sundoll2013,
I understand that there are many travel options when visiting this city and we sincerely appreciate and thank you for choosing Galaxy Hotel to host you during your most recent visit. I was absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Galaxy Hotel and that we met your expectations. I was happy that you had a great experience at our Wave Pool and also got time to try out some of the restaurants we have. I do hope that we can look after you once again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This would arguably be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in - worldwide. This was aided by the fact that they upgraded us to the Royal Suite for our anniversary. Everything was absolutely divine.
The personal butlers on the floor were very attentive and each and every time you would come and go they would greet you personally which was a nice touch. The suite itself was beautiful - and huge! They had laid out no less than 200 (battery operated) candles and rose petals on the floor wishing us a happy anniversary which was a lovely notion. That and the bath had been run with rose petals was nice. The suite had a lounge room, oversized bedroom and bathroom with separate shower and bath, dual vanity and separate powder room in addition! Full complimentary mini-bar was an unexpected but very welcome perk!
I can't help but notice that Asian countries have such a supreme level of service and this was duly noted in our visit to Macau - everyone was such a pleasure to deal with. The modern hotel (built only three years previously) has retained its splendour and I would stay there again with absolutely no hesitation.
A special note to thank everyone at Galaxy Macau who made our experience so special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Steve,
I was absolutely thrilled to read your feedback following your stay with us and also thank you for taking the time to do this. We are pleased to hear our staff was able to offer the upgrade service at check in and you've enjoyed the special arrangement in your guestroom. I have passed on your kind words to the related teams and we all hope to be welcoming you back soon!
Best regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

a super luxary hotel and the staff is very helpful. very convenient as it providing shuttle bus to everywhere in macau also to the pier. minibar is free and you could consume all drinks and snacks. nice waving pool but raining and unable to try. warm water is also very nice. ordered food at mid-night but still tasty!!!super!!! breakfast is just fair, mainly chinese food. very small proportion for western style food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacky724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Jacky,
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to learn that your overall experience was a positive one and thank you for pointing out the breakfast experience with limited Western style foods. I will be sure to share this very important information with our F&B Team so they may utilize it to improve their products. Please come back to visit us again to enjoy our Wave Pool.

My best regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I must commend on the staff of Galaxy, anyone I asked for information about Macau or the hotel was able to give a reliable respond. The shuttle bus service was efficient except for the one going downtown, the wait was a little long and very crowded. Perhaps, the waiting time can be shortened by deploying more buses. Lastly, I believe that the luggage at the left luggage counter could be kept quite far from the area... as it took a while for my luggage to be brought out which made me miss the airport bus. I had to take a cab! But overall, the hotel is very well-maintained and clean despite it largeness and the excellent service made my stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hello Luna H,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to hear compliments of our service. I will be sure to share your notes with the team who always welcome suggestions in order to help us create better service. We look forward to be welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Walk to shuttle bus is far. Not convenient and long walk, especially if you are carrying heavy bags.
Check in/out counters are not separated.
The rude mainlanders jumped the queue while we were queuing to check out.

Room Tip: If you have kids staying, Venetian would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovejeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hello Lovejeep,
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at Galaxy Hotel. Only through the honest feedback from guest like your good self, we will be able to reflect and keep continuous improvement on our property. I will be sure to discuss your comments with related teams so we can seek ways to improve our service. We hope to see you again!
Warm regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.6 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.1 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#10 of 94 in Macau
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
0.7 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#23 of 94 in Macau
895 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: Avenida de Cotai, Cotai | Estrada da Baia de Nossa Senhora da Esperanca, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $147 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the three hotels in Galaxy Macau, the Galaxy Hotel’s 1,500 rooms and suites represent an evolution of resort accommodations. Luxurious and beautiful, these contemporary rooms offer five-star amenities throughout and stunning views that stretch to the city or water landscape. Guests staying at Galaxy Hotel also enjoy free access to the world's largest skytop wave pool and many other recreational facilities and over 50 dining outlets at Galaxy Macau. All rooms at Galaxy Hotel afford guests a level of deep comfort that conveys a kind of respect that only a host with true Asian Heart can present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing