We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - way better than Venetian!”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel - way better than Venetian!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Dear Galaxy team,

I am very impressed with your hotel and staff throughout. I was going to book The Venetian as that is where I stay when in Las Vegas. But saw your website and reviews so I decided to give your hotel a try. Very glad I did!

Wendy your Concierge Manager was very nice to arrange a birthday cake and some staff to gather for my father who is turning 81. It was a great start to our trip. Your bus shuttle system had been an excellent plus as we were able to go to San Ma Lo and Old Taipa Village without using taxis. Very orderly operation. In between, we watched a movie in the cinema in-house. My father couldn't rate the breakfast buffet any higher. It was very clean, upmarket and lots of selection. The food court at Galaxy is great too.

We went to the Venetian just to check it out and it was looking tired, old and disorderly. If you had more shops like the mainstream brands that they have there such as Zara, G2000, Levis, Hugo Boss, etc your hotel will really make it the only destination in Cotai. The wave pool was under renovation so we did not get the chance to try it.

But other than that, I think Galaxy beats it in every respect. I travel a lot for work and usually stay in 4-5 star hotels. Your hotel will rank as one of my favourites from hereon and will recommend to my friends.

I am a Filipino/Australian and very proud of your many Filipino service staff. When asking for directions or other info, they can be relied on to understand and speak English. Very friendly too. Even in the hotel restaurants, it was so hard to order when Chinese staff are serving as they could not understand the language.

We checked out at 1pm (thanks for the late checkout) and we will remember Galaxy Macau fondly.

Room Tip: We were on the 28th floor Rm 28169 facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jing2le_bells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest,
It is always great to hear our staffs provide excellent customer service and left a lasting impression. Your review have been shared with the entire team and they will be very happy to read all of your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    610
    126
    33
    41
See reviews for
753
644
112
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is my first time to stay with Galaxy and everything is just right...Nice lobby; great variety shopping; good food!

But one thing I do want to share in here! The trip actually should be belonged to me and my wife for our anniversary, but too bad my wife can't make it up at the last minute, then I finally bring along with my 13-years old daughter to this trip. I thought it should be alright to swap king size bed to a twin bed but it just fed me up when I was told that there would be a charge to changing to twin bed room!! In addition, I was quite disappointed with the room size because I remember the room I booked should be 44sqm with City View, the one(28179) I had though is on high floor, it was a pool view and wasn't like a spacious room with 44sqm!!

Anyway the overall impression to me is good and I probably will choose Galaxy again for my next trip to Macao

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Daniel W,
Thank you for a great review following your stay at Galaxy Macau. I apologize for the check-in experience was not up to your expectation. We do try to accommodate, where we can on room types and preferences. Unfortunately, during the peak holiday season, the hotel has experienced extremely high demand which has affected the flexibility we like to offer. I sincerely hope that we get the chance to meet your expectations on a future occasion.
Warmest regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is my second trip to macau, my friends and I decided to try out Galaxy Hotel.
I was overwhelmed with interior design and the diamond fountain. Outstanding !!

Loved the pool with the artificial waves...I'm surprised to see it quite empty thou, looks like everyone is at the casino enjoying their winnings.

The front desk staff was helpful but I found the check in and check out waiting period to be quite long. Other than that, my friends and I had a great time !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalvir N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Dalvir N
Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I was absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Galaxy Hotel and that we met your expectations. I was happy that you liked our resort deck and also got time to try out the facilities we have. I have passed on you kind words to my great team here at the hotel and I do hope that we can look after you once again in the near future.

Best regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have a very good expereince for this trip and we enjoy this trip so much that we will visit again shortly! Hope we can receive the same good service in coming visit. People there is nice and helpful and we get what we asked for, good value for visit!

Room Tip: Ask before you choose one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarvis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Jarvis S,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I was absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Galaxy Hotel and that we met your expectations. It is always great to hear compliments of our service. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Check-in time so long!
No value upgrade to sky level floor, this floor just a private casino. But I'm not a gambler!!!
Can you tell me why upgrade to this floor?
The clock beside the bed is no power!!! So fun!
Refrigerator no milk for coffee! sugar is wet! Suprise!
No evening turn-down service! Happy!
Just one word: Disappointed!!!
But I appreciate one guy: Roy Yang
Thank you for your birthday cake, it's delicious!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Old O,
Thank you for posting your review. I am so sorry for the less than desirable experience. We thrive to make our guests feel welcomed at all times and obviously we have failed this time with you. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience during your stay with us and do reach out to me should you wish to discuss this further. I have share your notes with my team here so the same experience will not be repeated. We hope there will be an opportunity to gain your confidence back in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Email: nathan.yu@galaxyentertainment.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just returned from Macau. Stayed at the Galaxy. Compared to the Venetian, Galaxy is fresher and cleaner. Venetian is more run down. More importantly, Galaxy allows one to truly sit back and enjoy with less of the rush midst hordes of humanity associated with the Venetian. The swimming pool with its wave pool is really something. Truly enjoyable. The shops there are nothing to shout about. Definitely can't compare with the Venetian. But the hotel staff are extremely polite and obviously trained to be service oriented, and they take pains to make you feel that you are indeed a valued guest. The casino is big enough, but like all Macau casinos, seems to be just inundated with Baccarat tables and very few of other table games. The table limits are high (though still lower than the Venetian). My only beef with the Galaxy (just like all other Macau casino hotels) is that they are really stingy with the drinks service. For a 5 star establishment, serving lukewarm coffee and tea just don't cut it. Beer is not expensive and serving it free to hotel guests certainly isn't asking for too much? The Galaxy at least made up for it with free complimentary drinks and food in the hotel mini bar and free wifi, something which I can't understand why Venetian can't provide despite their sky high prices! All in all, kudos to the Galaxy. If they introduced greater variety of table games and improved on their drink services in the casinos, I would gladly rate it as worth 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limbbatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,
We are humbled to have received your insightful comments, for there really is no greater way to better our services than by receiving truly vital feedback from a valued guest. Your compliment on our staffs is very much appreciated! I have also passed on your constructive feedback with the related teams and we hope to earn that 5 star from you on your next visit to Galaxy!

Best regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

One of the top hotels in Macau. Everything is grand, from the lobby to the room to the swimimg pool to the bar. The diamond display in the main lobby has to been seen to be belived.

I would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Michaelia C,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Sounds like you & your friends had enjoyed your stay at Galaxy Hotel and that we met your expectations. I do hope that we can look after you once again in the near future.

Regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
0.1 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#9 of 95 in Macau
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#29 of 95 in Macau
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Property: Galaxy Hotel
Address: Avenida de Cotai, Cotai, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the three hotels in Galaxy Macau, the Galaxy Hotel’s 1,500 rooms and suites represent an evolution of resort accommodations. Luxurious and beautiful, these contemporary rooms offer five-star amenities throughout and stunning views that stretch to the city or water landscape. Guests staying at Galaxy Hotel also enjoy free access to the world's largest skytop wave pool and many other recreational facilities and over 50 dining outlets at Galaxy Macau. All rooms at Galaxy Hotel afford guests a level of deep comfort that conveys a kind of respect that only a host with true Asian Heart can present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing