We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice in Macau!”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Having been there several times and still find it the best choice!
For their rooms, since they are newly established, so all the rooms looks both comfortable and modern. The most important things is even their standard roon is spacious too. With the view over the wave pool from their room, it will be amazing.
For their location, it's very convenient as it is locating in the heart of Taipai. To travellers, their have different shuttle bus route to fit our needs. Transportation cost can be saved.

Inside the hotel, there is a unique wave pool which my family already addicted to. Also, they have cinema, shops, nice restaurants, spa and casino inside. Your holiday can be filled up with this wonderful things even you don't leave the hotel.

About their service, they have very efficient check-in and out services. No need queue up for a long time for check-in and they also have express check out service too. Their staffs a very nice and their Front Desk Manager will also greet their guest if he is around, so warm!!

Their room rate is reasonable as it only cost around HKD19xx for a nite. Sometime they will have promotions which only cost around HKD13xx. Nice price.

To conclude, this is the best choice of hotel in Macau, especially for a family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,692 - 1,698 of 2,647 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

Great new Hotel in Macau.
Great shopping area, and a wonderful pool.
Luxury dining, or fast food all on one site.
Not quite as good as the Venetian, but cheaper, and well worth viviting.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel is one of the swankiest in the city... its brand new that's why.

Staff - the staff at the reception was very polite. We reached much before check in time and they very politely told us that we cold not get the rooms before 3. At 3 however we got the room keys.

Now there were a few issues i had with the room:

I entered and found a soiled towel (was cleared instantly)
The water pressure in the bath tub was very low - took 30 mins to fill it up
Getting help was a little hard - especially room service / house keeping etc.
The Wash basin was getting clogged every now and then
Extremely difficult to find an English speaking staff (Unlike at other hotels)

It seemed like they were ironing out their services. If that was the case they should have done it earlier.

Having said that the room was clean and the hotel was great - the bus service was fine too.

I would rate this hotel highly (if the above flaws have been fixed)

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the elevators - the passages are very long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VidyutLokur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

There is online early bird promotion for this new hotel and I could make a cheaper rate than the travel agent quoted. Though my room was located in the low floor (7/F), it is comfortably sized including a balcony where you could step out to grasp the beautiful view, especially the lightings of the gold leaf cupolas towered above the opposite Okura and Banyan Tree Hotels at night.

I like to the fresh aroma when you enter to the hotel, but that would not be so inside the lifts and also the casino. The casino has not promulgated smoke-free policy. There is also ongoing renovation in part of the hotel building and the noise even came from the other end on the 7/F during the day time. I did not try resort heated swimming pool but I would definitely go for it when the wavetop is reopen after maintenance.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are all located on the low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank augustbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

One could not help but marvelled the façade of this imposing building as the vehicle approached the front garden of this newest 5 star hotel in Macau. But the impressive journey started at the ferry terminal where every hotel/casino worthy of its salt has its own shuttle bus service and decorated bus stop. Staff in beautiful uniform were there to greet guests and make sure they got on the right shuttle, which of course is complimentary. The key word here is “casino”. When you can have guests spending untold amount of money on the gaming tables and machines at all times of the day, and night, who wouldn’t welcome them with open arms? Indeed the two wing buildings leading to the grand entrance of this hotel-casino compound were like huge open arms. Passing the grand entrance and going inside the compound proper was entering a fantasy world. Hitting you right in the face was a huge diamond shape object that rose slowly and dazzled above a fountain bathed in mood-lifting light and music. The foyer, the size of a football pitch, with an army of people streaming around was daunting to the poor souls who wanted just to find the check-in desk, if not for a team of tall and beautiful hotel ambassadors with eternal smiles there to guide you. These tall, immaculately dressed girls with taller side splits to their uniforms were also trained to take the must-have tourist snapshots for you.

Apparently, the check-in area was at the end of foyer and one had to trek over a bridge (the Milky Way?) to get to. Everything there seemed to challenge your sense of size and even the 4th dimension - the foyer was unusually bigger; the ceiling higher; the queue longer and so was the waiting time to check in. Then it was another trek over the Milky Way to get to the lifts. Inside the hotel room, things started to return to normal. The room was large, but not huge; the décor was modern, but not out of this world. It was not the last word in hotel opulence, but it was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Our room had an interesting aerial view over the village across the road. We could almost plan our route round the narrow historic streets while standing in our room.

No breakfast was included in the package, but this was a blessing in disguise. With the multitude of eateries within the compound, and at reasonable prices, we could sample what culinary delights Macau had to offer. The hotel was billed as a holiday resort for the family with luxurious accommodation, gaming, entertainment, catering and shopping facilities under one roof. It certainly felt like these claims were met based on the limited time we spent inside the building. We probably regret a bit for not spending more time and making the best use of all the facilities on offer, but the lure of the sceneries and the beautiful weather outside was too much to resist. Well, we could always return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OverTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I went to the Galaxy on a business trip with 5 staff in Dec 2011. it's another nice Casino hotel that offer exception value and specials. The rooms are spacious and clean. Expect a lot of local Chinese guests (gamblers). It's in a good location to the Venetian and City of Dreams. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevelizhangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

When we stayed there the hotel had just opened and so, as expected there were teething problems

We were initially told there were no no smoking rooms available and had to fight hard to get one

Also, our room has some problems with underfloor leaking such that the carpet was sodden in places

Rooms were OK - kind of what you would expect for a fairly pricey casino hotel

The big draw was the the surreal huge swimming pool on the roof with fake beach and wave machine - really nice

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turista42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Turista42,
Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that the experience was not up to your expectations, we value our guests’ comments highly and will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned as we constantly strive to improve our guests’ experience. I do hope you would return in Galaxy Macau so we can create a better experience.

Sincerely yours,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.6 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.1 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#11 of 94 in Macau
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
0.7 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#23 of 94 in Macau
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: Avenida de Cotai, Cotai | Estrada da Baia de Nossa Senhora da Esperanca, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $145 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the three hotels in Galaxy Macau, the Galaxy Hotel’s 1,500 rooms and suites represent an evolution of resort accommodations. Luxurious and beautiful, these contemporary rooms offer five-star amenities throughout and stunning views that stretch to the city or water landscape. Guests staying at Galaxy Hotel also enjoy free access to the world's largest skytop wave pool and many other recreational facilities and over 50 dining outlets at Galaxy Macau. All rooms at Galaxy Hotel afford guests a level of deep comfort that conveys a kind of respect that only a host with true Asian Heart can present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing