We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very large room with great facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banyan Tree Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Macau
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very large room with great facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The rooms are very spacious with great spa facilities .
The fact that there is a long bassin in the room makes the room very humid and difficult to find comfort for sensitive people to humidity . We had to empty the bassin before sleeping because of the moist smell .

The food in the Thai restaurant was realy nice and the breakfast was good .

However a few drwabacks : The wooden bathtub was leaking and the toilet is noisy since it is right next to the bed without any separation wall. We tried the hotel massage & spa service , it was really expensive and the masseuses not very professional . A major disappointment since this hotel is supposed to the on top for this kind of service .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fab68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJJohn, General Manager at Banyan Tree Macau, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear fab68,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the different elements of our service and facilities.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced a high level of humidity in your suite as a result of our relaxation pool, which may be possible if the temperature of the water was too hot.
As we did not have your suite number, we have initiated a check of the thermostat in all relaxation pools as well as inspections of the bathtubs for leaks, so we can ensure that both these defects are addressed in a prompt manner.

I was however surprised to read that your treatment in our Spa fell short of your expectations, as we are constantly receiving great comments about the quality of our various treatments and have also received many awards since we’ve been open. We have shared your comments with our management team to try and ascertain what may have caused this shortfall in our standard, so we can initiate re-training to address it.

I trust that you will return in the near future and should you choose to do so, I would appreciate if you could let me know, so I can give your next stay my personal attention.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    225
    54
    25
    17
See reviews for
366
449
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at Banyan Tree Grand Cotai (entry level) suite in April 14. It was a short sinful 2 days sojourn and I didn't have time to try the meals or amenities offered. Banyan is a decent hotel and there's nothing to complain about. In comparison however, Conrad Cotai nearby is definitively a better hotel. The below are perhaps touches Banyan Tree can improve on:
1) Coffee machine in Conrad's room was already filled with water at checkin. How impressive! At Banyan, it's a DIY shall you wish to utilize the kettle.
2) Conrad in-room Expresso coffee is much better than Banyan standard issued instant coffee.
3) Welcome staff at Conrad introduced all amenities at Conrad. The Conrad concierge which accompanied the bellboy to my room at checkin introduced the suite's features before leaving. Not so at Banyan. With no explanation, I remain puzzled whether the balcony door to the Grand Cotai suite can be opened
4) Conrad is located above a shopping centre. Arguably, there are more restaurants be it fine dining to street food and boutiques to select from at Conrad than at Banyan Tree. A cinema is also within walking distance to the former.
5) Cleanliness is in doubt at Banyan Tree at least in the suite I stayed. When I checked in, the cleaner had left behind a wet rug next beside the plunge tub and surroundings of the tub was not thoroughly cleaned. Room was stuffy and hot, not at a great first impression. At Conrad, ambient temperature has already been set at arrival to the room.

All the all, hotel styles and services comes down to personal preference For myself, Banyan Macau is not enough to sway from giving up my HH Diamond status.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymondteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJJohn, General Manager at Banyan Tree Macau, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Raymond,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay as well as your suggestions for improvement. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to constantly review and improve the services we provide.

It is also a pleasure to receive feedback in such a constructive manner, especially from a well-travelled guest, and I wanted to take the time to respond to some of them.

We do provide an Illy Espresso machine in our higher category suites and villas, as well as on request for regular guests (or coffee-lovers) staying in other categories. As coffee is not the preferred beverage for a majority of our guests, we do provide filter coffee urns in our lead-in categories as a standard.

Our current service standards do include a thorough in-room and hotel orientation and I am disappointed this was not done properly on your arrival. We have initiated an immediate re-training of our standards to avoid a recurrence of your experience, and look forward to sharing the improvements with you on a future visit. As for the balcony door, this is available only on suites on lower floors and the doors can be unlocked on request. It is however locked on arrival for safety reasons.

Banyan Tree Macau is part of the greater Galaxy integrated resort and boasts three hotels, more than 30 individual restaurants and bars, a variety of retail outlets as well as, arguably, the largest cinema complex in Macau including the exclusive Director’s club for private viewings. In addition the resort also has two spas and the largest resort deck located on the 2nd floor. All of these facilities are accessible to our guests. I am sorry that once again this information was not provided to you on you arrival.

Your comments in regards to the cleanliness however were disappointing to hear as it is one of the areas on which we like to pride ourselves, and which you may note as a highlight in other comments on this site. We are looking into the reasons for the shortfall and putting in place a more thorough quality control process to ensure such experiences are not repeated.

In closing I want to thank you for trying the Banyan Tree Macau, despite your status with Hilton Hotels worldwide. As with all frequent hotel guests like yourself, personal preferences are recorded over numerous stays and the hotel experience is tailor-made to suit you, in addition to VIP courtesies accorded in line with your membership status. Here at Banyan Tree, we pride ourselves on doing the same but without the need for a loyalty card. In line with that standard, we have recorded all your comments on our system so that we are able to deliver an experience that is able to surpass your expectations on your next visit.

Should you choose to spoil yourself on another occasion in the future, please let me know so that I could assist in your reservation and ensure your stay is more in keeping with our promise of delivering a “Sanctuary for the Senses”.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Suites are absolutely fantastic and give you enough room to feel truly at home. The internal pool is a neat gimmick that allows you to relax and watch Macau throughout the day or night. Beautiful views by night.

Although it is very expensive you get what you pay for with great service throughout all aspects.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strayanadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJJohn, General Manager at Banyan Tree Macau, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Strayanadvisor,

Thank you for your brief review of your recent stay with us at Banyan Tree Macau. Our in-suite relaxation pools are indeed a signature of all our suites, for which we continue to receive many favorable comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and to extending to you the Banyan Tree service that continues to win us fans from around the world.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business. I was in complete shock when I walked in the room, seeing the beautiful plunge bath/pool overlooking the city. The rooms are nothing but luxurious, with very comfortable beds, automated toilets, and large showers. The bathroom products were all very nice and available to buy in their gift shop - I bought one of the bath robes I loved them that much. They light an oil burner at night which provides such a beautiful ambience. The staff were great at check in & out, the restaurant (they remembered my name after the guest morning!), and housekeeping.

I travel extensively for business and I would say this would have to be one of my favorite so far!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michele Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJJohn, General Manager at Banyan Tree Macau, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Michele,

Thank you for your review.

Whether traveling on business or leisure, the Banyan Tree Macau aims to provide all our guests a “Sanctuary for the Senses”, and I am glad to read that you were able to enjoy the many elements of our services and product that has made us the resort of choice for travelers from around the world.

I do wish to let you know that all our signature amenities as well as Banyan Tree Spa items are also available online at banyantreegallery.com, so you never have to miss out, even after your check out.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

One of my best stay experience in hotel around the Asia region. All staffs was pleasant and the amenities offered is just top class.
Room is spacious will nicely decoration and all the features is just outstanding.
Will defenitely be back again and highly recommended to others. The signature aromatic smells is everywhere within the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden view suites and towards the end of both side on any floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcello2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJJohn, General Manager at Banyan Tree Macau, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Marcello,

We are glad to read of your recent stay at Banyan Tree Macau and especially pleased to read that our staff were able to contribute significantly to your overall experience, as they are the cornerstone of all our hotels worldwide.

Thank you for highlighting our spacious suites, and for your recommendation to request those facing the tropical gardens on our resort deck. We have also taken the opportunity to include this as your own preference for your future stay.

The aromatic fragrance you highlighted, is a significant element of our brand, and permeates all our public areas and guest suites, and helps enhance our resort as a “Sanctuary for the Senses”.

We look forward to your return and to sharing even more of the Banyan Tree Experience.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Oh my god!!! Such a wonderful hotel and nice service!!!! I really appreciated the luxury design, the king size bed, washroom, audio equipment, especially the massage pool!!! Before the service is also very great!! Banyan tree is gave me a enjoyable holiday to me!! Must go!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank New C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJJohn, General Manager at Banyan Tree Macau, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear New C,

Thank you for your very enthusiastic review of the Banyan Tree Macau.

We do agree that once you have experienced our luxurious suites, which are unique in Macau, and our warm and personalised service, you will want to return for more.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

One word to describe this hotel is amazing

One word to describe the staff is incredible

There are so many positives things to say about this hotel from the minute you set foot into the foyer to the minute you leave this hotel. . Nothing is ever to hard and everything is done with such great ease and always with a smile.


I have travelled the world and the Banyan Tree by far exceeds your expectations. The staff is really what makes Banyan Tree come to life. It’s the littlest things they remember it’s there smiles on there faces, it’s there attentiveness towards you consistently, it’s there warmth and generosity they all give to every individual that sets foot in this hotel.

A definite must stay hotel in Macau, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilmanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJJohn, General Manager at Banyan Tree Macau, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear kilmanoi,

You are absolutely right in saying that it is our people who are the essence of the Banyan Tree experience, and together with every element of our unique suites, award winning spa, great recreational facilities and wonderful restaurants, help deliver the complete Banyan Tree experience that has won us so many fans around the world.

Your comments, as with all other comments on this site, are shared with our associates to inspire them in their continuing goal of creating unforgetable experiences for all our guests.

The team and I look forward to having you return and to making your next visit equally special.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Macau
0.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#8 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Macau

Property: Banyan Tree Macau
Address: Galaxy Macau, Avenida Marginal Flor de Lotus, Cotai, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Macau
#3 Casino Hotel in Macau
#3 Family Hotel in Macau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#6 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#8 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in breathtaking views of Macau's skyline in your own private sanctuary where peace and tranquillity awaits you. The first high-rise urban resort in Macau features private indoor Relaxation Pools in all suites and resort villas complete with their own gardens and personal swimming pools, Banyan Tree will change the way you imagined high-rise living. In this instance, seeing is truly believing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Macau Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing