We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Macau's better choices but little bang for buck” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Macau
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
runningwiththepugs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of Macau's better choices but little bang for buck”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

True to Banyan Tree's brand image, the property is refreshingly quiet and serene, compared to the chaos that can be Macau. I stayed in one of the Grand Cotai suites with a plunge pool for a weekend trip. Honestly, I was not a fan of the plunge pool: a tub of icy cold (undrained!?) water in an air-conditioned room.

PROS:
- convenient location in Cotai
-suite bathrooms are roomy and luxurious

CONS:
- breakfast buffet was quite bad. Lack of selection and the quality of the food was poor

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningwiththepugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Macau, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear runningwithhthepugs,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is important to us and lets us know what we are doing well and where we need to improve. I was pleased to learn that our Sanctuary of the Senses came through and that you were able to relax in the comfort of your suite. I regret to hear that the breakfast buffet did not meet with your expectations, we are going through a process of review for this meal period, and will look at refreshing the buffet offering and selection.

The plunge pool receives mixed reviews, some guests love it, and others don’t. The temperature is set at 27C, which is in-line with other indoor pools. Within the suite we have three distinct water experiences, the double shower with rain mist, the wooden hot tub and the relaxation pool, each with differing temperatures. The relaxation pool is designed to be harmonizing and balancing, whereas the wooden hot tub and double shower are with hot water, offering alternative bathing.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences, we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Macau soon.

Yours sincerely

Joseph

Joseph Beck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    224
    54
    25
    17
See reviews for
362
445
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed there for my wedding anniversary. Due to busy work, we can only stay there for one night. Despite the rush, the service of the hotel was great and it was so kind that the restaurant did special arrangement for me as me and my wife are vegetarian.

Overall grading is great for this hotel and I will recommend people who enjoy quiet place, excellent service and looking for a place for relax.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love their pool and spa that are fablous ! its brandnew hotel that so clean and wide, have suite room only however it worse it to stay with this value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LatinaNikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good fun if you like a spa or spa, be sure many of the spa and spa style fly in the ointment is that there is no physiotherapy scrub bath Introductory Guide, hotel in recent years to be completed, the hotel itself new facilities and neat and clean, quiet environment, staff services and friendly attitude, the general standard of the hotel's restaurant, I like to go to the San Mo Lo (Avenida de Almeida Ribeiro)select multiple and lively.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank KaGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and the staff Very polite and patient special health club peter .One of the best rooms i saw in all my life in all respects. Huge space including ceilings, perfect amenities, exra-big bed, excellent bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Asonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Banyan Tree with my wife for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is not cheap but you got what you paid for. We loved and enjoyed the relaxation pool and the outdoor pool.

The hotel is a little far (about 10 min walk) from the Cotai strip where other big casinos are. That's precisely what we like about it because that makes the hotel really quiet and relaxing, while we could go shopping and watching a show just by taking the free shuttle bus.

Hotel staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. But I wish they can lead me up to the room and show us different features of the room because there are couple gadgets and features that took us some time to figure out.

The room is spacious but I hope the TV system is more easy to use as it is slow to respond to the remote and frequently turned on with its green home-screen, which is a little annoying at times.

Their breakfast was excellent with large variety of food.

Would definitely recommend friends to stay here if they are visiting Macau.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notavailableee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We're very satisfied to the hotel, even is in room, service, foods & beverages, facilities, etc. All of the staff are very friendly, and always wear a cheerful smile. By the way, fast check-in & check-out too.

It's easy to get there from airport or ferry terminal, because Galaxy Hotel have many free shuttle bus in Macau. The Banyan Tree Macau Hotel just beside The Venetian Hotel. You may take the free shuttle bus from Banyan Tree to Galaxy bus station (actually it's take about 5 minute by walking only), then take the shuttle bus from Galaxy to the Venetian. By the way, it's also near the street of : Rua do Cunha, Rua Direita Carlos Eugénio, Rua Correia da Silva, etc. There are many famous local cuisine at the streets. It's only take about 5 minutes by walking from Galaxy to the streets.

The room type we're stay is Grand Cotai Suites. The room is very clean, and also the pool water in room. The light and the toilet is automation, there also have DVD Player, free wifi, bass speaker in room. For the hotel facilities, such as : swimming pool and gym, all is free to use for hotel guest.

By the way, the most thoughtful things is: the hotel will give a different free gift to the guest every night.

We'll come again with our family and friends in the futures.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Macau
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#7 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Macau

Property: Banyan Tree Macau
Address: Galaxy Macau, Avenida Marginal Flor de Lotus, Cotai, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Macau
#3 Spa Hotel in Macau
#3 Casino Hotel in Macau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#6 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#8 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in breathtaking views of Macau's skyline in your own private sanctuary where peace and tranquillity awaits you. The first high-rise urban resort in Macau features private indoor Relaxation Pools in all suites and resort villas complete with their own gardens and personal swimming pools, Banyan Tree will change the way you imagined high-rise living. In this instance, seeing is truly believing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Macau Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing