We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For kids...”

Macao Science Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$3.29*
and up
Macao Science Center Admission Ticket
Ranked #29 of 242 things to do in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Macao Science Center (MSC) aims to promote science popularization and education among local adolescents, compliment tourism development in Macao and provide a regional platform for science education, convention and exhibition. With a gross floor area of 20,000 square metres, MSC consists of the Exhibition Center, the Planetarium and the Convention Center. The Exhibition Center, in the shape of an inclined cone, is the tallest building that contains 14 galleries arranged in an upward spiral. The dome-shaped Planetarium is flanked by the fan-shaped Convention Center and office building. Supporting facilities include a gift shop, restaurants and a nursery room, providing visitors with a full range of services. The 5,800-square metres Exhibition Center consists of 14 galleries and an atrium. The 12 permanent galleries cover topics in Space Science, Fun Science, Children Science, Science Express, Robotic, Sound, Earth, Genetics (DNA), Eco Conservation, Sport Health, Sport Challenge and Food Science. There are 2 galleries reserved for special exhibitions. The exhibitions seek to provide knowledge-oriented, scientific and interesting interactive exhibits, and allow visitors to explore science in a hands-on way. Awarded the highest resolution 3D planetarium by the Guinness World Records since 2011, the Planetarium has a dome-shaped tilted screen of 15.24 metres in diameter. It is installed with a set of 12 digital projectors of 4,096 x 2,048 pixels each for showing dome films with ultra high-definition up to 8,000 x 8,000 pixels. The Planetarium having 127 seats and 4 wheelchair spaces are all equipped with interactive controls. Wearing specially made glasses, the audience can see 3D images projected onto the screen. Its powerful database, coupled with an amazing array of projection effects, can take audiences onto a journey travelling freely in space and time. The system can also show digital dome films, making the Planetarium a multi-functional dome theatre. The Convention Center consists of a multi-functional Convention Hall and 4 Meeting Rooms. Two of the Meeting Rooms may be combined into one if needed. The Convention Hall can accommodate 400 people for meetings and about 200 for ballroom events. The Center is equipped with professional audio-visual facilities, simultaneous interpretation system, and video conferencing equipment, making it ideal for different kinds of meetings, lectures, seminars and award presentations.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For kids...”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you have kids, do not hesitate a second, go there...They will love it and you too :)
This Science Center reminds us one thing...Time goes fast...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    91
    29
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Loads of fun for our kids”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great place to spend 3-5 hours for a family with kids. We went on a weekend but it was not too crowded. The entrance fee is very reasonable. We only had 2.5 hours before the museum's 6pm closing so we did not see a movie. Our kids (4 and 7) especially enjoyed the lower floor exhibits. The construction site on the 2nd? floor is very well designed. The kids put on little vests and helmets and lift (foam) bricks etc. Unfortunately our 7 year old was just over the 1.2m height limit so he couldn't enter the area.

Generally we would highly recommend it to travelers with kids. We have been to a number of science centers in different countries and this one was great value for the money.

It is a good 15 to 20 min walk to Sands with young kids. Grab a taxi if you can find one.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
215 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

When locals said its near your hotel don't believe them unless you're in for hiking. We stayed in holiday inn macau and they said we can walk from there but whoa what i got is tired feet and legs. Taxi is hard to find in the area since we are a group of six and we need to get two taxis at the same time. The museum itself is okay can be enjoyed by kids as well as adults. There's a lot of simulator rides which we enjoyed a lot. 3D movies has scheduled showing time so be there earlier if you want to see movies and go inside the museum. A very welcome addition is a mc donalds cafe inside with a very relaxing view of the macau bridge.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rossManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic science centre - hours of entertainment”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Excellent science centre with a huge range of displays for all ages and most largely interactive: some very simple and others more technical. Some original activities which children found great fun such as filming your own weather segment and driving cars through the simulated city if Macau.
The facility was set up for tourists and most displays were written in 3 languages - spanish, chinese and english. It was excpetionally clean and well maintained and hand steriliser everywhere which is great when using so many interactive displays. We only had 3 hrs at the centre but could have easily had 5 hours.
Mc Donalds and coffee shop on the ground floor, great toilet facilities and well serviced by public transport.
We went on a weekday so obviously missed the crowds which was good as we didnt have to wait to use any activities.
The young childrens science section was very good and a great way of introducing toddlers to science.
An exceptional facility - well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Starfish2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a family outing”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed ourselves very much at the Science center. There are lots of interactive games and we spent more than 3 hours playing most of them and got way back of our schedule. You can get a great panoramic view of Macau at the top floor. I would certainly come here again with my family as it is a good chance to play and learn.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debby9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macao Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Macao Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing