We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go if you are in Taipa”

Museum of Taipa and Coloane History
Ranked #99 of 243 things to do in Macau
Attraction details
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Go if you are in Taipa”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The museum is small and somewhat interesting but seems like a scaled-down version of Macau Museum which is more superior. It's best to combine this visit with a visit to Taipa village. I think it is free on Sundays.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pianocello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    20
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited the Taipa Museum while visiting Macau. It situated in a very quiet area in Taipa, very easy to find. The museum is very interesting with lots of history of old Macau. The people worked there are very friendly, since my family was the only visitors there, the attendant (a very cute old lady) volunteer to give us a full guide tour. It was very educational for my daughters which are still in school.

Helpful?
2 Thank Fcgc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Small interesting museum”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Museum of Taipa and Coloane History is located in a wonderfully preserved Neo-Classical pastel building from the 1920's, once housing the Islands Municipal Council. The museum tells the story of the Archeology, Religion, Firecracker Factories and Shipbuilding, Agriculture and Fishery on Coloane and Taipa.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank anthonyholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,579 reviews
3,607 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,981 helpful votes
“Decent small museum in Taipa Village”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We visited the Museum of Taipa and Coloane History recently and found it to be an ok place to visit if you plan to spend time in the Taipa Village area. This museum is not as interesting as the nearby Taipa Houses Museum but is still good value for money at just MOP5 per person. Entrance is free on Sunday and the Museum is closed on Mondays (as of August 2011)

There are some interesting architectural remains in the basement and reference to the local culture and history in this two storey museum with just 6 or 7 rooms. We enjoyed looking at the old Taipa maps in the downstairs exhibit rooms and the fireworks factory process model upstairs the most.

We recommend combining this museum with the Taipa Houses Museum, about 10 minutes away by foot, during a your visit to the Taipa village area.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Taipa and Coloane History also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Taipa and Coloane History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing