We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Simple the best”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Central, near the Casinos and not very far from the downtown.
The service is five stars, They have a great panoramic restaurant and bar service, with many activities, quiet and also if you want to dance or if you like a karaoke you can have it.

Room Tip: The view is great from the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    124
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
152
260
68
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pristina, Kosovo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Service is exceptional. Food over priced for what it was. It is a great place to stay especially the corner suites with multiple views. If you have to go to Macau, which I don't recommend because its really not that nice of a place to visit this is a good place to stay. You have a little distance from the casinos and you're on the peninsula where all the sites to see are. Anywhere on the Cotai is horrible to stay. The casinos are nothing like Vegas if thats what you expect you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is so nice and quiet, and the concierge is very helpful and the rooms are so clean.
Also their service is a 7 star service.
I definitely recommend this hotel for families and business trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAlMudhaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Among all the casino hotels packed with Chinese mainlanders in Macau, Mandarin Oriental is a breathe of fresh air.

Despite as a big fan of Westin for the same reason (far away from noisy environment) but as my first visit, their overall quality did impress me a lot.

Manager greeted from the restaurant entrance and knew exactly your details when the name came up, provided the best seat and personally recommended the signature dishes & drinks after a casual chat of what preference we liked.

It is tough to locate this sort of service out there!
Looking forward to next visit for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfong929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Hotel is located in a strategic and beautiful position: just by a waterfront promenade, really at walking distance from historical town centre and downtown animation but away enough from the casino's crowd. The ferry port (boats to HK and HK International Airport) is at something like a less then 10 min taxi ride (Hotel transfer service of excellent quality at request). Room views are quite spectacular. Hotel staff is overwhelmingly regardful and efficient.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide (even) better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Had a wonderful stay here for 3 nights - I didn't think much could beat The Mandarin in Hong Kong, but wow, these guys really did. Lovely rooms, everything done down the the most perfect detail, great dinning ( wow what a breakfast, and the dim sum lady is charming !) and concierge support great, staff so well trained and attentive - really loved the Vida Rica Bar and the staff there brilliant, so proficient with cocktails, ideas on wine and all drinks - John was great. Thanks to all there. Gym and pool great, staff very helpful there too ; A great stay, will certainly be back. The Mandarin is the best thing about Macau !

Room Tip: Ask for Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie28Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas 2013. The Mandarin Oriental was one of four 5* hotels we stayed in during our recent vacation and I can honestly say that the hotel was head and shoulders above any of the others.

I have absolutely nothing but good things to say about our stay and cannot think of even a small negative point.

Meeting us at the ferry port was a nice easy process as was check-in which was quickly handed and we were escorted to our room.

We were fortunately upgraded to a deluxe suite from a panoramic view suite and must say that it was a wonderful room. We were show the rooms layout and shown how things worked and our luggage quickly delivered. Friends with us could not get over how fantastic the room was and neither could we.

The suite itself had a large living area which was well equipped with a large flat screen TV with multiple possible interconnection options for additional devices via the room’s hi-tech interconnection panel, allowing laptops, tablets and similar devices to be connected. It also contained a sofa, comfortable chairs, tables and a work station. The bottle of wine, macaroons and cake were a welcome and appreciated gesture.

The bedroom was again large with TV, well-appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom again was well appointed with thoughtful additions such as hairbrush alongside the usual cosmetics, toothpaste etc. Oh did I mention that it also had a TV along with a bath with great views and a fantastic shower probably the best of any hotel I have stayed at.

All really nice but what really made this a stand out hotel was its staff. Everyone we came into contact with and I mean everyone was polite, charming and engaging with smiling happy faces and eye contact. From the doorman who were great to the reception staff and the concierge. Everyone seemed genuinely to want to provide a great experience.

However special mention must go to the breakfast team who were a world class unit, from the initial welcome as the lift doors opened to the departure they were a joy. Ever helpful, polite and attentive service without being intrusive, after day one they knew our names, preferences and set the breakfast table appropriately. We don’t drink tea or coffee and having said that we don’t we were never asked again. More impressively our table had these cups removed at future visits. The choice of food was very good catering to both Asian and western palates with din sum cooked to order and homemade preserves.

On arrival we were advised that a table had been booked in the restaurant that evening (Christmas Eve) for us which I initially thought was a bit pushy and as we were dinning with friends was declined. However seeing how busy all the restaurants in Macau were that evening and that most were full it was a gesture that I should probably have been more appreciative off, arriving and then not being able to find anywhere to dine would have been a disappointment and just another example of the way that the hotel goes above and beyond in an attempt to satisfy and pre-empt their customers’ needs.

We had a late departure to Hong Kong and therefore left our luggage and continued to enjoy Macau on our return as I walked up to the concierge I was greeted by name advised that our car was waiting and that they would load the luggage now that we had arrived. I didn’t say a thing other than thank you.

Would I stay again, yes in a heartbeat, would I recommend the hotel certainly, in fact I would say that overall it’s the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
2.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#6 of 96 in Macau
988 reviews
2.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#5 of 96 in Macau
1,194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Macau

Property: Mandarin Oriental Macau
Address: Avenida Dr Sun Yat Sen, Nape, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Macau is ideally situated in the heart of Macau's business, entertainment and high-end retail districts, offering easy access to all major tourist sites and transport hubs. Both Macau International Airport and the Macau-China border are only 10 minutes by car, while the Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal is just a short five-minute drive away. From here, Hong Kong's airport can be directly accessed by ferry in 45 minutes and Central Hong Kong in just one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing